We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and wonderful lodging!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hiker Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dahlonega
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hiker Hostel
Ranked #4 of 8 Dahlonega B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Middletown, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and wonderful lodging!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

It's really and hostel and B&B under one roof. Delicious and hearty food. Very comfortable bunk rooms with shared bath, as well as, private rooms with private bath. Great hiking in the area and Leigh and Josh are happy to shuttle you. Dahlonega is a wonderful small town worthy of a couple hours of exploring.

Hands down the place to stay when in the area!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
15
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maplewood, NJ
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed at the Hiker Hostel for a workshop and had the whole place to ourselves for our group of 18. Leigh is a terrific host and the breakfasts are hearty and delicious. And i even slept well in my bunk bed! The setting on the hilltop is beautiful, looking out through the trees at the Georgia mountains. A great spot and no doubt I will be back.

Room Tip: Because I was with a group, I was in a room for 4 - with two bunk beds, and they were just fine. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mvpnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

This is the best place to stay when slackpacking the Appalacian Trail in Georgia. We stayed here for a week and it was like home away from home. It felt like a bed and breakfast but you share a room and bathroom with three other people. Leigh, Josh, and Willie were fantastic. The breakfast was hearty and delicious and the hostel was extremely clean and homey. It is well priced and the shuttle service was a fantastic feature. I will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebo, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

I have been using the Hiker Hostel as my launching point for several Appalachian Trail treks over the years now. Can’t say enough good things about Josh and his wife. They are the best. Shuttle service, laundry, will hold mail drops/resupply packages. It doesn’t get any better than this. Highly recommended for anyone hiking the AT, weather your are just starting, slack packing or a SOBO (south bounder) ending your adventure at Springer Mountain. Mega thumbs up all around!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SlingshotGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Eight of my friends and members of the Virginia Old Dominion Appalachian Trail Club (ODATC) were hosted by this combination hostel / B&B for a week while we hiked most of the Georgia section of the Appalachian Trail. The hostel offers a very reasonably-priced package of "slackpacking" the AT that members of our club have taken advantage of twice this year. Our hosts carried us out to sections of the AT each day and then picked us up each evening to return to the hostel. Their hostel was very cozy and relaxing and included a wonderful large breakfast each morning before we left for the trail. The hosts were extremely accommodating and the bunk-rooms were sparse but comfortable with unlimited hot water. Each bunk-room held four people and had its own bathroom. The nearby town of Delonega included numerous excellent restaurants that we took advantage of each evening. However, tired hikers can bring their own groceries and use the guest kitchen to make their own dinner. I hardily recommend this package and hostel for the discriminating yet avid hiker!

Room Tip: For maximum savings, choose a bunk in the bunk-room. For maximum luxury, choose a double guest room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the hostel prior to and after a 3day hike trip. Everything said is true. They were very accommodating with information, transportation to and from the area and with our rooms. Being a bit older I was a little concerned too that we would feel out of place, as hostels from my younger years definitely had a different "experience". This was like staying at a great B&B with a bunch of new friends. Highly recommend to hikers or cyclists coming to the area. We will see them next year for sure!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Geriwkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

After a bunch of scary movies in the 90's the idea of staying in a hostel was not on the top of my list. What a wonderful surprise when i got there. It was like having your own log cabin that you share with some extended family members. This place was very comfortable to sleep at and breakfast was included. As long as you are not an introvert you will love the homestyle breakfast. Their is a guest kitchen down stairs and plenty of movies to watch if you have had enough hiking. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank batmaninsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dahlonega
13.0 mi away
Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center
6.1 mi away
Days Inn Dahlonega
Days Inn Dahlonega
#3 of 8 in Dahlonega
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
5.7 mi away
Park Place Hotel
Park Place Hotel
#6 of 8 in Dahlonega
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Quality Inn Dahlonega
Quality Inn Dahlonega
#7 of 8 in Dahlonega
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hall House Hotel
Hall House Hotel
#6 of 8 in Dahlonega
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
14.6 mi away
Riverbend Motel & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hiker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hiker Hostel

Property: Hiker Hostel
Address: 7693 Highway 19 N, Dahlonega, GA 30533-1968
Region: United States > Georgia > Dahlonega
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Dahlonega
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing