We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private container rooms are the best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Barefoot Hills Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Dahlonega B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 April 2014

My husband and I started our AT adventure here and returned for a night during the week. I wasn't sure what to think when I saw storage containers on the property, but what they have done with these is awesome. They are so uniquely decorated, comfortable, and the best accommodations ever! I'm so thankful to have had this opportunity. The owners are very organized - everything done on a time schedule that works for getting all their customers to the trails etc. Great breakfast!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

First time hiking the AT Trail and I was looking for a cheap, nice place to stay the night before I headed out. This place is absolutely fantastic! Between the very friendly staff and cleanliness of this hostel, I will stay here anytime I come to Dahlonega. Shout out to all the individuals who we met at the Hostel and are well on their way to completing the AT Trail, I am rooting for you!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Docchad09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We were not thru hikers and had never stepped foot on the AT. We were nervous about staying the night at a hostel but there was no reason to be. Very clean, very nice people and for an amazing price. This place is WELL worth the stay. Also, a great breakfast is included :) I wouldn't stay anywhere else if I was near Dahlonega, Hiker Hostel was just perfect. Hey, even if I'm not hiking, I might swing by just because of how comfortable it was.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freefaller718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Stayed here while hiking the Appalachian Trail in September 2013. We stayed one night, were transported by Leigh to the trail in the morning, and then stayed a second night two days later. The bunk rooms are very comfortable and homey. The breakfast was really great. All in all this is an excellent value, we will return again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Have stayed here many times! Bike racks down stairs, great food, just really an awesome place to hang out and tackle the surrounding mountains on bike or foot. Super clean, private bunks. There's a short hiking trail on property to stretch your legs and this is the heart of road and mountain biking country in Georgia.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GAmtnbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

It's really and hostel and B&B under one roof. Delicious and hearty food. Very comfortable bunk rooms with shared bath, as well as, private rooms with private bath. Great hiking in the area and Leigh and Josh are happy to shuttle you. Dahlonega is a wonderful small town worthy of a couple hours of exploring.

Hands down the place to stay when in the area!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed at the Hiker Hostel for a workshop and had the whole place to ourselves for our group of 18. Leigh is a terrific host and the breakfasts are hearty and delicious. And i even slept well in my bunk bed! The setting on the hilltop is beautiful, looking out through the trees at the Georgia mountains. A great spot and no doubt I will be back.

Room Tip: Because I was with a group, I was in a room for 4 - with two bunk beds, and they were just fine. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mvpnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dahlonega
12.8 mi away
Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center
6.1 mi away
Days Inn Dahlonega
Days Inn Dahlonega
#3 of 8 in Dahlonega
507 reviews
5.2 mi away
Quality Inn Dahlonega
Quality Inn Dahlonega
#7 of 8 in Dahlonega
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Amicalola Falls Lodge
Amicalola Falls Lodge
#1 of 4 in Dawsonville
376 reviews
15 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Helen, GA
8.7 mi away
Lily Creek Lodge
Lily Creek Lodge
#8 of 8 in Dahlonega
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barefoot Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Hills Hotel

Address: 7693 US Highway 19 North, Dahlonega, GA 30533-1968 (Formerly Hiker Hostel)
Region: United States > Georgia > Dahlonega
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Dahlonega
Price Range: £94 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Barefoot Hills Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barefoot Hills Hotel is nestled in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains, near the historic gold-rush town of Dahlonega, Georgia and dozens of award winning wineries found throughout Georgia Wine Country. Our eclectic Southern Living theme gives guests a wide range of accommodation options, including standard hotel rooms, 2bd & 3bd Suites, and private cabins. Our bunk rooms will accommodate up to 4 individuals each and have a private bath. Barefoot Hills provides shuttle services to several gaps along the Appalachian Trial, and can provide guided hikes if you prefer to go with a pro. We also can arrange fly fishing expeditions, kayaking tours, and golf reservations for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Barefoot Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing