We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise”
Review of The Smith House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Smith House
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dahlonega
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Stay on 7-30-14. After planning a visit with friends that live in the area, we decided to stay nearby instead of spending 3 hours for more driving. We had eaten at The Smith House a while back (yum) but had never stayed overnight there. I reserved a room for the night by calling and speaking with Michael. It was an easy, efficient and pleasant interaction. Upon our arrival, we found we had been upgraded due to an issue with our original room. We were given the "best room" on the property. It was a beautiful suite with separate sitting / dressing area and a huge bath. Didn't get to enjoy the tub. Did use the large walk in shower that was wonderful with controls for one shower head on a cord to be hand held if desired and also a fixed rain shower head above that I really enjoyed. The room was quiet and very comfortable. Hate we only had one night to enjoy it. Our friends made our dinner plans elsewhere, but the location of The Smith House allowed us to walk around the great Dahlonega Square, visit the shops and do some wine tastings and be just an easy walk back to our room. We made sure our friends came by to see our accommodations so they could recommend it to visitors in the future. Michael and others at The Smith House were very nice to us and we certainly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SheBGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed in one of the Smith House's two bedroom villas on the square. Room was in need of some upgrading, but the bedding and pillows were amazing, providing one of the most restful sleeping experiences I've enjoyed outside of my home. Great porch with rockers off the living room overlooking the square made the evening enjoyable. Just a good atmosphere to spend time with a glass of wine visiting with friends or a loved one.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed at The Smith House for a family wedding and were blown away. The lovely hotel is nestled in a beautiful mountain community with lots to do. Our room was comfortable, as well as roomy and beautiful. We were walking distance to boutique shopping and lovely outdoor venues. If we are ever in the area again, The Smith House will be at the top of our list to return to!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I stayed at The Smith House the evening of my rehearsal dinner, the night before my wedding day. I would definitely stay again. The room was very clean and pleasant - nice furniture, decor and linens. The feel is very quaint and homey, totally unlike the sterile feel that is common in chain hotels. It is located in the heart of Downtown Dahlonega, near many restaurants and shops.

I also highly recommend the restaurant. It's where my rehearsal dinner was held. Excellent service and delicious food - Southern food at it's finest!

Thank you The Smith House for being such wonderful, hospitable hosts!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights to celebrate my birthday. I had read about the inn in a book called Historic Hotels in America, which I recommend to travelers looking for classic high-quality lodging across the U.S. Our room was in the carriage house, which was lovely. The bed was so comfortable, and the toiletries first-rate.

The Smith House offers a continental breakfast, which we ate outside on the charming front porch that wraps around the front of the inn. We decided to eat dinner there the first nigh, knowing it was served family-style, which is a rarity these days. The price was $17.95 and included a couple of meats, a nice selection of vegetables, dessert, and a drink. No alcohol is served here, but "adult" beverages are offered in many restaurants around the town square.

The food was good, and the wait staff were attentive. However, the dining room could use some updating as it reminded me of a camp dining hall. I think the meal was overpriced by $3 or $4, but it was convenient and quick.

Dahlonega is a fabulous little town with lots of shops (great antiques at reasonable prices), bars, and restaurants and TWO candy stores!

Room Tip: Rooms in the carriage house are more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Powellpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Me and my husband celebrated our 1-year wedding anniversary at the Smith House, we stayed overnight in room 14. It was WONDERFUL. The bathtub, the shower, the bed. I was not expecting it to be as nice. I was thinking old historic. I admit I was wrong. They even have Blvgari soaps and lotions. We will go back every year.

Room Tip: Rooms 14 is awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KATE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My wife carried me to Dahlonega for my birthday to relax. It was perfect. The room we stayed in had a wonderful bed and great bathroom and shower. The staff was very pleasant. I would recommend for couples wanting a bit of relaxation by browsing shops and enjoying sitting on the porch. We really hated going back home to the busy life in the city.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zjrc31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dahlonega
11.2 mi away
Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Park Place Hotel
Park Place Hotel
#5 of 8 in Dahlonega
163 reviews
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Dahlonega
Days Inn Dahlonega
#3 of 8 in Dahlonega
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Dahlonega
Quality Inn Dahlonega
#7 of 8 in Dahlonega
165 reviews
14.9 mi away
Amicalola Falls Lodge
Amicalola Falls Lodge
#1 of 4 in Dawsonville
357 reviews
18.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Smith House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Smith House

Address: 84 South Chestatee Street, Dahlonega, GA 30533-1235
Region: United States > Georgia > Dahlonega
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dahlonega
Price Range: £95 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Smith House 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from the historic public square of Dahlonega, The Smith House sits as one of Georgia's lanmark Inns; Known for serving true Southern family style meals and elegantly appointed hotel rooms. The city of Dahlonega claims to have the first major U.S. Gold Rush. The Smith House actually sits on one of the richest veins of gold discovered in the city. Today, you can view the original mine shaft discovered on the property in 1898. The property is within walking distance to all of the shopping, dining and theater venues offered in Dahlonega. The campus of North Georgia College & State University is also a short walk from the property. Come for a weekend or a week, you'll be glad you "Rediscovered The Tradition" at The Smith House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Smith House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Smith House Hotel Dahlonega

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing