We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A big slice of heaven in the mountains”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Dahlonega
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2010

We had to finally comment on For-rest Hills Mountain Resort, after our 5th stay there since 2006. If you are looking for a cozy, romantic, and quiet place-this is it! The staff treats you like family, and the home cooked meals are to die for!! We've only had great, memorable times together there for a B-day celebration, two Valentine's Day, and this last trip was just a great escape from our crazy, hectic life. And, it delivered!
Joanne, Dee and ALL the staff should be proud of their establishment.
We plan to visit the resort every year and make new memories with our adopted family!!
The girls from Tampa-Sharon & Sissy!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dreamtravelergirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 461 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2009

I enjoyed this resort three different times; the first being in Feb. 09 and stayed in one of the luxury suites which was awesome. The next time was the end of summer and the horseback ride through the forrest was a real treat. Thirdly, I stayed with a large group of women on a church retreat. The lodges we stayed at this time were rustic and cozy with all the ammenities we needed; loved the fire-places and even took a dip in the outdoor hot tub in the month of November. The food was good Southern cooking and much to choose from for the picky eater. The conference center was elegant and just right for our needs. The resort has a homey (away from home feel) with the barn cats and dog; they were very friendly but minded their own business when you wanted them to. This is a place I will bring my husband and children; I even took home with me some beautiful fall leaves for my young daughter. The staff at Forrest Hills was very friendly and were prompt about taking care of any of our needs. If you are looking for the Hilton Head then you'd probably better go there and leave this little treasure to those of us who enjoy the fresh mountain air and the simpler enjoyment of life. If you are in to photography, you'll enjoy the panorama of picturesque sites. There was plenty of close shopping with the quaint little town of Dahlonega and in Dawsonville, the GA-400 Outlet. We also visited the small church of Christ while we were there and filled the pews. The preaching was sound biblical teaching and the people were sincere and delightful. Hope you enjoy this resort as much as I did; what are you waiting for?

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinkerbel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2009

I know that some have written some rather harsh comments on this resort, but I would like to say that I enjoyed my stay. We came with a church group and the lodges we stayed in were very rustic. They are not top of the line hotel rooms, but that's not what we came for. We needed a place to sleep and have our retreat. The conference center was wonderful and very clean. The rooms were clean, but in the woods you do encounter some of nature that will at times come into your rooms. Any time we had to call on the maintenance crew, they were very pleasant and fixed any problems with expedience. I was fortunate to stay in one of the other lodges before this stay and it was like an up scale hotel. It just depends on what you are looking for. If you want luxury, let them know but you will pay a little bit more. If you are looking for a "camping" / "lodge" style or an inexpensive place, they have that too. The food was fine. There aren't a lot of choices, but the dinning area doesn't have a whole lot of room to set up a big buffet. You had enough choices that everyone could find something that they would eat. When you have a buffet style you don't always get an upscale menu, but the food was fine and was hot and ready when we got there. I would have liked a larger selection, but the area wouldn't have held us all if the buffet was bigger. I thought that everyone who we contacted for help was always willing to make thing right. I would give this resort a 5 or 6 on this experience. I wasn't disappointed because I wasn't looking for a hotel to spend a lot of time in. The conference center was where we spent most of our time during the day and in the evening we all were able to sit around the fires (which the wood was set out for us) and enjoy conversation and games. I thank Forrest Hils for making this retreat relaxing and would go back again.

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgiaHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2009

Forrest Hills was a beautiful place tucked in the mountains. The surroundings were very calm and serene. I went with a group of ladies for a retreat. We staying in 2 large lodges. The lodges were not 5 star but they were not expected to be. They were a little old, however the maintainence staff was very attentive. They constantly helped and were at our beckoned call. There were a couple of issues with bugs, but...hello...we were in the mountains!!! The conference center was great! It was praivate, quite, and very nice. The hot tub was wonderful too! I had a great weekend and would take the group back next year in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triptaker200992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2009

I went with a group of ladies for a church retreat. The rooms were damp, smelly, and bug-ridden. This place is one step up from a 4H camp. The dining room pretty much serves its dishes straight from a can. I'm sorry to be so blunt, but I hope to save others from such a poor experience. I would NOT recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lms326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2009

We had our wedding in Dahlonega and most of our guests booked rooms at Forrest Hills since the price was fair and the other hotels in the area were completely booked for a bike race that same weekend. The day before our guests arrived, my husband and I wanted to drop off welcome bags in each room. Forrest Hills was very accomodating and allowed us to go into the empty rooms and even went out of their way to help us plan our drop off route. The Bear's Den was clean and tidy just like the website's pictures. The countryside cottages with hot tubs were a completely different story. They were very outdated, dusty, and felt like there was no AC running. One of the cottages smelled so bad that we asked if our guests could switch to a different cabin but were told that the resort was completely booked. We opened all of the curtains and windows in the cabins hoping it would help with the smell and dampness before they arrived.
Our guests arrived the next day and it all went downhill from there. Some of our guests had to switch to the extra room in the Bear's Den because their cabin smelled like "someone died in there." Another one of our guests had a scorpion in his clothes and never used the porch because the furniture was in very bad shape and dirty. Their reservations included dinner in the restaurant where the food was okay but the service was terrible. The server was very rude and made us feel very rushed even though we were the only ones in the restaurant. We asked the server to bring out a surprise birthday cake with candles for one of the family members and the server rushed out of the kitchen with the cake and no candles, and threw it down on the table and walked back out. We were all stunned at how fast it all happened and didin't even have time to sing Happy Birthday before the server made us feel very unwelcome again.
The Bear's Den ran out of hot water for the showers and we heard many more stories of spiders and scorpions in the rooms. One of our guests did not have a cell phone so we left a message with the front desk for them and they never received it. The front desk told us they would personally go to their cabin and leave a note on their door but this never happened.
Forrest Hills is also pretty far from Downtown Dahlonega especially for out of town guests that are unfamiliar with the roads. If you stay here, expect a very rustic experience. We had actually stopped by there during the off season and the resort looked deserted and very unkept.
Our experience with Forrest Hills started out great but ended with very unhappy guests. We were very pleased with how friendly the front desk staff was but the rooms and restaurant staff will make us never recommend this place to anyone again.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SLRDMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2009

This was a wedding event with lots of friends and family which was the only satisfying part of the trip. The accommodations were far from "resort" quality. Most of the plumbing was very loose and rickety. We had plugged up sinks and toilets. One of our sink handles actually fell off but we could easily place it back on. The kitchen was very rustic. They did seem to have sufficient dinner ware but no dish washer so bring your own dish soap. Lighting in the kitchen was literally non existing. We had unusually cool weather for this time of year in Georgia so the space heater and wood stove came in handy but were difficult to control.
The food in the dinning hall had good southern choices but no fresh fruit (all canned). Dinning decor and atmosphere was cohesive with the rest of the "resort's" , very dark and rustic, more like a camping/ hunting eatery. Food was not as big an issue as the accommodation but could be for others expecting a more "resort" choices.
Please don't be fooled by the word RESORT used to describe this lodge. If you are looking for a rustic, dark antiquated decor, with all the benefits of a camping inside then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank vermontmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dahlonega
3.6 mi away
Amicalola Falls Lodge
Amicalola Falls Lodge
#1 of 4 in Dawsonville
364 reviews
23.4 mi away
Reid Ridge Lodge
Reid Ridge Lodge
#1 of 5 in Blue Ridge
314 reviews
11.9 mi away
Days Inn Dahlonega
Days Inn Dahlonega
#3 of 8 in Dahlonega
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Park Place Hotel
Park Place Hotel
#5 of 8 in Dahlonega
166 reviews
10.9 mi away
Quality Inn Dahlonega
Quality Inn Dahlonega
#7 of 8 in Dahlonega
167 reviews
23.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Blue Ridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center

Address: 135 Forrest Hills Rd, Dahlonega, GA 30533-3664
Region: United States > Georgia > Dahlonega
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Dahlonega
Price Range: £77 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit our 140 acre cabin resort featuring on site dining, outdoor pool, horseback riding, massage spa and more. Choose from romantic, 1-bedroom cabins, 2 bedroom family cabins, individual rooms or 8 to 16 room group lodges. FREE WIFI and parking throughout. Located between Dahlonega and Amicalola Falls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forrest Hills Mountain Hotel Dahlonega
Forrest Hills Mountain Dahlonega

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing