We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed...you won't get romantic long hot shower for two and wood that burns in the fire”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Dahlonega
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
12
Reviewed 23 January 2011

My husband and I just returned from an overnight stay for our anniversary, and we were not impressed with cabin #4. This cabin is stuck in the 80's and needs repairs. We informed the front desk of the issues when we checked out, and we were only comped the firewood which wouldn't burn. The gas heater didn't work either, so no romantic cuddle by the fire place. The hot tub had a film on the sides we felt when we first got in, the toilet was broken & swayed side to side, the shower leaked, and there was paper towels stuffed in one of the windows to plug cracks. This cabin is not as private as you think and not in the woods...as I thought the picture looked. Maybe the
luxury cabins are better, but the
rustic cabins are stuck in the 80's. I don't think we will be going back for a romantic get away...didn't put me in the mood. Please remodel these cabins and take more photos that rightly represent what you're getting. The staff was nice, but they could have comped us some off the price for our trouble. Not impressed

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 January 2011

It always breaks my heart to hear that someone is disappointed with their stay. It is much easier to correct a problem when told about it right away, instead of at check out, as it gives us the opportunity to fix errors and make you happy while you are here. That is always our goal.

We have been making a concentrated effort to update all of our cabins. Most of them have been done, but I must admit that cabin #4 has not been updated as yet. While those cabins are still near and dear to many of our return guests, they are not for everyone. Some cabins have gas heaters as a back up, but all of them have central heat and air. All maintenance issues will be inspected and repaired immediately.

Our front desk has authorization to do more to make things right while you are here. If this guest would contact the resort office I would be happy to speak with them and work out a way for them to have the experience they had hoped for.

For anyone reading this, no matter where you might be staying, please make sure issues are known as soon as they happen. You could be amazed at the results you receive. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2011

We saw a magazine article that recommended the Forrest Hills Mountain Resort, so we made a reservation. To say that we were disappointed is a gross understatement. The cabins were tinderboxes. Light fixtures were horrible, exposed wiring, etc. The decor was ancient - looked as if it was bought in the 1970's. Just horrible! Romantic getaway? I think not! Their prices are extremely high for such poor conditions. Don't be fooled by the pictures on their website. Those pics must have been taken of their very best cabin. The only thing this place has going for it is the friendliness of the staff. Everyone was very nice, but we will never go back there, nor recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LJJAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 January 2011

What's considered quaint by some is considered outdated by others. Either way, we are improving our cabins each and every week. Our single night rates are higher than all of our other rates due to the expense of preparing a cabin for rental.

Whenever making reservations, whether it's by phone or online, please request a luxury cabin for best results or a newly decorated, countryside cabin. We are confident, however, by spring...or summer time 2011 at the latest, that all of our counrtyside cabins will be updated. Stay 3 nights or longer for the best discounted rates in whichever cabin style you choose.

Should you ever not be happy with your accommodations at Forrest Hills, let us know right away and don't wait until you check out. If you're not happy...we're not happy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2011

Our stay at Forrest Hills was intended to be a relaxing getaway in the mountains, snuggled up by a fire in a cabin. For the price of a cabin for 3 nights and 2 meals a day, we were suprised how little effort seemed to put into ensuring our stay was memorable. It seems $1000 for a weekend trip to Forrest Hills DOES NOT warrant top notch service or good food! The cabin and dining restaurant are dilapitated and in serious need of TLC and updating. The food each night reminded us of cafeteria food and was not kept warm enough in the buffet warmers. The host who received us, Virgina, checked us in and confirmed our in cabin massages for the following night. When our massage therapists still hadn't arrived 20 min after our scheduled appointment, we left our cozy cabin with a roaring fire in our pajamas to walk out in the cold to the Office only to learn they thought we would be arriving at the Spa. An hour later, the massage therapists showed up, but seemed rushed and thrown off by having to move to our cabin vs doing it in the spa. We discovered once we returned home that we had been charged extra even after they had messed up the entire massage appointment! After calling to clear up that the mixup was clearly not on our end, Michele at the front desk made a point of arguing to ensure we were still charged the extra $60, not even 10% of what we had spent to stay there that weekend! Needless to say, we will NOT be coming back, nor would we recommend this place for a vacation getaway.... not worth the money for the aggravation!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank uofmrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 January 2011

I do not understand the comments made by this guest. This guest was very happy throughout their stay. Being family built and owned for over 30 years, we pride ourselves on a high level of customer service and integrity. We simply billed him for the services he received and for what he agreed to pay prior to the service being rendered.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2011

So close to being the best place ever. The people at the front desk were great and the service was excellent. I wanted to rent a cabin but they were booked up so instead I got the “Bi-level luxury king suite". This was out 6th anniversary and I was looking for a nice quit place to relax with no kids (6 boys). We went on December 31st and stayed for the weekend. The food was included (Dinner and breakfast) and the room was nice enough and clean. I told my wife it reminded me of my grandma’s house. I booked a massage for my wife and she loved it. I had 2 main issues with the room: 1) the web site did say that the TV reception was not good however I thought they would surely get the basic channels...... Oh was I wrong nothing, zero, no channels at all. It did say that it was just a nice place to relax but the wife and I wanted just to lie in the bed and watch some bowl games in peace. Very disappointing. The website also said they had high speed wireless internet.... well in the common area you could get a faint signal and it was so slow it was not worth it. We did like the TV in the common area but it also had limited channels. We did meet several nice couples while we were sitting in the common room watching "rocky" on TV. They also had the same complaint about the TV'S and internet. However even taking in the 2 disappointment it still was a very nice weekend getaway but I don’t know if we would stay again unless they at least get some channels.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 January 2011

Thank you for your review; we take all reviews to heart!
We are glad that you enjoyed your overall stay, and regret that you had any problems as a guest at Forrest Hills. We are in the process of developing an informational or “trouble-shooting” handbook to go inside all rooms so that guests will be more aware of how to solve some of these issues. For example, when our Internet service is running slowly, it usually means that it needs rebooting and will run fine after that; the TVs, since they went digital, have to work off of the digital converter box with the DVD player “off” in order to pick up all the basic channels. Upon check in, we ask our customers not to hesitate to call us for information or assistance so that we may minimize any issues or frustrations such as these. Again we apologize that you had some complaints, and we look forward to making your next visit with us “perfect”.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2010

My husband and I spent 5 days at Forrest Hills to celebrate our anniversary. We just got home today and I'm writing a review because it was so fabulous! We spent our honeymoon in the north GA mountains 8 years ago, and we go back every year and have stayed at a different place each time. We've already decided that Forrest Hills is going to be our permanent anniversary location! We chose Forrest Hills because there was a special deal going on at the time, but we were blown away by how wonderful it was. The cabins look very rustic on the outside, but we were pleasantly surprised by how beautiful and modern it was on the inside. The view from the porch was wonderful. We watched the sunrise and sunset from our hot tub. We had our buffet breakfast in the couples only dining room which was fantastic. We'll definitely be back in the fall for our anniversary, and we will probably find some excuse to go back before then!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reesipeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2010

Booked our honeymoon site unseen on the great recommendation of a co-worker. Wow! They thought of everything we could have wanted to make it perfect! The staff was so kind and helpful. The bed was awesome and even more comfortable than ours at home. The hottub was romatically off the master via french doors with a beautiful view of the changing of the leaves. We had a warm and relaxing fire going in the livingroom fireplace, so relaxing. We highly recommend for just a get away or for the perfect romantic honeymoon.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnySkies101010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

I want to start by saying a big Thank You to Forrest Hills for the military special that gave my husband and I a place to reunite after his deployment. It was peaceful and beautiful. The cabin was cozy and the hot tub was heaven. We enjoyed our time there and is looking forward to returning. Thanks Forrest Hills

Thank dwilliams31075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dahlonega
3.6 mi away
Amicalola Falls Lodge
Amicalola Falls Lodge
#1 of 4 in Dawsonville
368 reviews
10.9 mi away
Quality Inn Dahlonega
Quality Inn Dahlonega
#7 of 8 in Dahlonega
168 reviews
11.3 mi away
Park Place Hotel
Park Place Hotel
#5 of 8 in Dahlonega
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Reid Ridge Lodge
Reid Ridge Lodge
#1 of 5 in Blue Ridge
317 reviews
11.9 mi away
Days Inn Dahlonega
Days Inn Dahlonega
#3 of 8 in Dahlonega
504 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Dahlonega Square Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center

Address: 135 Forrest Hills Rd, Dahlonega, GA 30533-3664
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Dahlonega
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Dahlonega
Price Range: £77 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit our 140 acre cabin resort featuring on site dining, outdoor pool, horseback riding, massage spa and more. Choose from romantic, 1-bedroom cabins, 2 bedroom family cabins, individual rooms or 8 to 16 room group lodges. FREE WIFI and parking throughout. Located between Dahlonega and Amicalola Falls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forrest Hills Mountain Hotel Dahlonega
Forrest Hills Mountain Dahlonega

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing