We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Little Getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dahlonega
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cedar House Inn & Yurts
Ranked #2 of 8 Dahlonega B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Alpharetta, Georgia
1 review
“Awesome Little Getaway”
Reviewed 1 April 2008

We stayed for one night, and although it was a quick trip, it was totally worth it! Mary Beth and Fred were great hosts, very friendly and fun to talk to, and the breakfast was delicious. It was the perfect little get away in the mountains, and we can't wait to go back when we have more time to stay and try out one of the yurts.

  • Liked — The Yurts
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JessicaLynn89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    11
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
18
316
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, SC
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2008

Cedar House Inn is an excellent B&B expercience for a visit to the N. Georgia Mountains. Stayed there with friends on the basis that they wanted to return to the Inn and hospitality of Mary Beth and Fred. Breakfasts are varied and outstanding - and their knowledge of the area helped to enjoy the area better. Staying at Cedar House Inn was like staying with good friends. Highly recommend it.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank granhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2008

Cedar Inn was a great place to stay for Valentine's day! It was very accessible to the quaint southern town of Dahlonega- a real treat for whoever wants to escape the hectic lifestyle in the Atlanta area. The room was a very romantic and charming way to spend V-day with your significant other. The vegan options for breakfast were delicious! Mary-Beth was a great cook! We highly recommend this place to everyone that wants to stay at an environmentally friendly B&B just one-hour outside of Atlanta. The only thing that would have made this stay more pleasant would have been a more private breakfast situation. But the people that stay here were friendly so it was a treat!

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank etnavibea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecopreneur, owner at Cedar House Inn & Yurts, responded to this review, 5 March 2008
During the warmer months guests have the option of having breakfast on the patio if they prefer a more private setting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianna, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2008

Simply put this place was amazing, the rooms, the views, the food, Fred and Mary Beth were wonderful. Our first morning there the breakfast was one of the best I've eaten, and the atmosphere was so peaceful and romantic that we stayed another night. The area offered lots of things to do and visiting a winery that is close by is a must! This was our first experience staying at a Bed and Breakfast and we've been spoiled to the point that the next one we stay at will have to be pretty special to compare. Mary Beth was a great cook and they really made us feel special. You'll lose track of time just relaxing or sitting at the table talking to two wonderful hosts. We plan a return trip soon!!

  • Liked — The food, the rooms, the hosts, the view, did I mention the food?
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank asapp1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S. Fulton Co., GA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2008

My husband and I went up to Dahlonega from S. Fulton Co., GA for a Valentine weekend getaway and boy was it a getaway!!!
We truly enjoyed staying with Mary Beth and Fred. We loved the food and the room was very comfortable. We didn't want to leave to go sightseeing!!! The winerys were great and the morning breakfast conversations with the other guest and The Tanners was very stimulating.

I enjoyed how Mary Beth got everyone to open up and share their thoughts on a variety of topics. The Tanners also shared lots of good stories.

We were impressed with the inn and we will definately go back.

  • Liked — The earth friendly accomodations-Everything!!!
  • Disliked — There was not one thing we disliked.
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Masseys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, SC
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2008

When we arrived in Dahlonega there was a lovely snow falling and everything looked so beautiful! This was our first experience in a yurt so we were of course afraid we would freeze to death, but our little "fire" heater really warmed the place up and we were more than comfortable in our flannel sheets. We stayed in the Hillside Yurt; it was so cozy and clean with a lot of character. We loved the earth-friendly lifestyle and spent a lot of time sitting on the floor flipping through magazines we didn't even know existed. Breakfast was out of this world!!! The food was delicious and healthy and we spent hours talking to Fred and Mary Beth and our fellow guests. They were by far the most accommodating and sociable hosts we have ever had and were very easy to talk to. They always had fresh baked treats and coffee and tea available, and even made us some great home-made popcorn and shared some wine. We had fun hiking and road biking in the area and visited a few wineries, leaving Dahlonega with more wine to our name than financial assets. We also liked the Crimson Moon Cafe. Live music and great food. If you are looking for the full bed and breakfast experience, you will certainly find it here. We were more than pleased.

  • Liked — Our hosts!
  • Disliked — Not much room for modesty with the composting toilet... hope you're comfortable with your travel partner! It worked for us but I'm sure not everyone would be thrilled.
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KaleyMeetsWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2008

Mary Beth and Fred were wonderful hosts. Stu, their dog, is a sweetheart. The house was warm and inviting, and very clean. We stayed for 5 nights, our longest stay at a B and B, and we were not disappointed. We were lucky enough to stay there for New Year's Eve, and we celebrated it with the other guests and Fred and Mary Beth, sitting outside around a fire.

The house was homey and very clean; the breakfasts were absolutely delicious and filling. And Mary Beth bakes some awesome cookies!

  • Liked — Hosts/Location
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dahlonega
12.3 mi away
Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center
15.7 mi away
Amicalola Falls Lodge
Amicalola Falls Lodge
#1 of 4 in Dawsonville
345 reviews
5.3 mi away
Days Inn Dahlonega
Days Inn Dahlonega
#3 of 9 in Dahlonega
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Park Place Hotel
Park Place Hotel
#6 of 9 in Dahlonega
157 reviews
4.3 mi away
Quality Inn Dahlonega
Quality Inn Dahlonega
#7 of 9 in Dahlonega
161 reviews
15.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar House Inn & Yurts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar House Inn & Yurts

Property: Cedar House Inn & Yurts
Address: 6463 Highway 19 N, Dahlonega, GA 30533-1938
Region: United States > Georgia > Dahlonega
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Dahlonega
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique eco friendly/green inn popular among nature lovers/tree huggers, artists, college students, young professionals and the young at heart. Located in the heart of the North Georgia mountains and wine country. Vegetarian breakfast served with organic eggs, organic ingredients and seasonal veggies from permaculture garden. Choose from charming rooms starting at $125.00 to unique yurts at $145.00 excluding taxes depending on time of year. Adults only. No Smoking. No Pets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cedar House Inn And Yurts
Cedar House Inn & Yurts Hotel Dahlonega

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing