We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dahlonega
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cedar House Inn & Yurts
Ranked #2 of 8 Dahlonega B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Cedar House Inn & Yurts is a great getaway. We stayed in one of their two yurts in late May 2014. Clean, comfortable, & very, very hospitable. Enjoy the relaxing volume of silence. Mary Beth and Fred were wonderful!

Room Tip: Yurt #2 was very quiet & peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PureMiPuraVidaATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay with Mary Beth & Fred in their quaint B & B in the GA mountains. Our room had doors leading out to a sitting area with two chairs while the inside was rustic wood, clean & cozy. The grounds were immaculate, the breakfast delicious (cooked to order) and the one other guest was interesting to talk to. Both Mary Beth & Fred had many sight seeing tips plus also knew a lot about the town of Dahlonega itself. It has so many fascinating stores, good restaurants and everyone was very friendly. We were curious about the two Yurts on property and Mary Beth went out of her way to show us one. We would recommend Cedar House to others.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunshine5001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had a great time at Cedar House Inn & Yurts. The place is cozy, clean, and comfortable. The hots are friendly and helpful. I recommend this place to anybody who is looking for an intimate, home like, type of environment.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adriana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Cedar House B & B is a charming, restful, eclectic retreat. Definitely out of the ordinary but that makes it a place one wants to return to often. Add to this hosts Mary Beth and Fred and one finds the perfect place to stay in the beautiful North Georgia mountains. I've been to Cedar House on 2 occasions, once to stay inside and once in a yurt. Can't decide which I like better but I will definitely return to stay again and again. Mary Beth is a wonderful cook and so willing to share her delicious recipes. I've made several of these at home although my versions did not come close to what was served at Mary Beth's table! Yum, yum!! The yurt experience was incredible fun and so comfortable! Even though the weather was rainy and cold on that trip, it did not diminish the great time spent staying in these unique structures.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DJSGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Mary Beth and Fred are accommodating, friendly and truly make you feel at ease in their home. They have an innovative approach to running their B&B and have found such interesting uses for what others would label "trash." Their back porch is constructed from old pallets and they use glass bottles in their garden as decorative borders. They provide you with southern hospitality in an environmentally-conscious package. The food is excellent and delicious, if I'm ever back in North Georgia I will for sure be checking in at Cedar House Inn & Yurts for some great conversation and restful sleep.

Room Tip: The yurts are great but not for those scared of using a compost toilet or sleeping outside. Otherwi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Mary Beth and Fred provided excellent customer service from the moment we arrived with fresh baked chocolate cookies and banana bread to give us. The Cedar House Inn is a place for relaxation and Mary Beth provides a nice large breakfast with plenty of fruit and vegetables. Enjoy the enclosed back porch with checkers and other card games provided by the owners.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Branch-Mix F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Mary Beth and Fred are just about the nicest folks I've come across, and great hosts are what make a great bed and breakfast.

My girlfriend and I rented a yurt for one night. We're in our early twenties, which means there's a slight fear of atmospheres that might seem too "old-fashioned" or unaccommodating to younger generations.

Cedar House is neither old-fashioned nor modern. If I had to describe it in a single word, I would use "progressive" or "alternative". And while those descriptors might scare off certain customers, Mary Beth and Fred pursue a lifestyle of tolerance rather than dogmatism. Their web site says: "We value other religions, lifestyles and points of view that do not discriminate towards people of different colors, spiritual beliefs or sexual persuasion."

I am a vegetarian, but I didn't need to request any special accommodations for food because all of the food they serve is vegetarian. For any die-hard meat eaters out there: don't let this deter you. Mary Beth is a first-rate cook. Breakfast was scrumptious, and anyone who can make vegan cookies taste good is a culinary hero in my book.

This is an "eco-inn" committed to the preservation of our environment. This doesn't mean that the amenities are any less than your standard bed & breakfast -- just that Cedar House takes steps to reduce waste wherever possible. They have two pages on their web site devoted to their commitment to the environment and to permaculture.

Our yurt was wonderful and the decor was fantastic. I would recommend Cedar House for anyone looking for a great B&B or yurt experience with an atmosphere that stays close to nature. It's been a year since our first (and only) stay, but I definitely plan to visit again soon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dahlonega
4.9 mi away
The Smith House
The Smith House
#2 of 8 in Dahlonega
318 reviews
12.3 mi away
Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center
4.7 mi away
The Dahlonega Square Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Days Inn Dahlonega
Days Inn Dahlonega
#3 of 8 in Dahlonega
507 reviews
4.8 mi away
Park Place Hotel
Park Place Hotel
#5 of 8 in Dahlonega
175 reviews
15.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Helen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar House Inn & Yurts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar House Inn & Yurts

Address: 6463 Highway 19 N, Dahlonega, GA 30533-1938
Region: United States > Georgia > Dahlonega
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Dahlonega
Price Range: £82 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique eco friendly/green inn popular among nature lovers/tree huggers, artists, college students, young professionals and the young at heart. Located in the heart of the North Georgia mountains and wine country. Vegetarian breakfast served with organic eggs, organic ingredients and seasonal veggies from permaculture garden. Choose from charming rooms starting at $135.00 to unique yurts at $155.00 excluding taxes depending on time of year. Adults only. No Smoking. No Pets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cedar House Inn & Yurts Hotel Dahlonega
Cedar House Inn And Yurts

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing