We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Memorable Find!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dahlonega
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cedar House Inn & Yurts
Ranked #2 of 8 Dahlonega B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 5 July 2014

After a conference in Atlanta, my husband and I wanted to head north to do a little exploring in the area. We love hiking and camping and were very excited to find a B& B that had yurts! We immediately booked a yurt and are only disappointment was that we had to leave after two nights. Mary Beth and Fred were the most gracious hosts from the moment we stepped on the property, greeting us with delicious homemade lemonade and cookies! We enjoyed hearing the history of the house and share their enthusiasm for green living. Once we settled into the yurt there was a lovely thunderstorm.....with all the benefits of being in a tent but not getting wet! We have stayed at B & B inns all over the country and this by far is one of our favorites! The breakfasts were legendary and MaryBeth's homemade stuffed French toast and fresh fruit with basil syrup were out of this world. A heavy downpour during breakfast gave us lots of extra time to talk with MaryBeth and Fred, and we found them to be so interesting and knowledgeable about living an environmentally conscious life.
The town of Dahlogena was a short ride from the B&B and certainly worth exploring; quaint and charming shops offered an array of interesting things and we found several good restaurants ( we liked the Oyster House.) If If you are looking for a relaxing getaway, and are somewhat adventurous about staying in a yurt, and enjoy great food and conversation with terrific hosts
then this is the place to stay! We will certainly be back again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank campergirl53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed at Cedar House for a week while our son was in a camp nearby. Our room and bed was comfortable, clean and convenient. We had a private outdoor sitting area just outside our room. Mary Beth and Fred were wonderful hosts offering all kinds of helpful information. The garden areas are impressive done in permaculture principles. We loved the town, hikes, waterfalls, restaurants and more. Mary Beth prepared delicious bountiful homemade breakfasts each morning. This is a really special place. I'd jump at the chance to stay here again!

Room Tip: We were in the Chickadee room and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cindymick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Cedar House Inn & Yurts is a great getaway. We stayed in one of their two yurts in late May 2014. Clean, comfortable, & very, very hospitable. Enjoy the relaxing volume of silence. Mary Beth and Fred were wonderful!

Room Tip: Yurt #2 was very quiet & peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PureMiPuraVidaATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay with Mary Beth & Fred in their quaint B & B in the GA mountains. Our room had doors leading out to a sitting area with two chairs while the inside was rustic wood, clean & cozy. The grounds were immaculate, the breakfast delicious (cooked to order) and the one other guest was interesting to talk to. Both Mary Beth & Fred had many sight seeing tips plus also knew a lot about the town of Dahlonega itself. It has so many fascinating stores, good restaurants and everyone was very friendly. We were curious about the two Yurts on property and Mary Beth went out of her way to show us one. We would recommend Cedar House to others.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunshine5001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had a great time at Cedar House Inn & Yurts. The place is cozy, clean, and comfortable. The hots are friendly and helpful. I recommend this place to anybody who is looking for an intimate, home like, type of environment.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adriana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Cedar House B & B is a charming, restful, eclectic retreat. Definitely out of the ordinary but that makes it a place one wants to return to often. Add to this hosts Mary Beth and Fred and one finds the perfect place to stay in the beautiful North Georgia mountains. I've been to Cedar House on 2 occasions, once to stay inside and once in a yurt. Can't decide which I like better but I will definitely return to stay again and again. Mary Beth is a wonderful cook and so willing to share her delicious recipes. I've made several of these at home although my versions did not come close to what was served at Mary Beth's table! Yum, yum!! The yurt experience was incredible fun and so comfortable! Even though the weather was rainy and cold on that trip, it did not diminish the great time spent staying in these unique structures.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DJSGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Mary Beth and Fred are accommodating, friendly and truly make you feel at ease in their home. They have an innovative approach to running their B&B and have found such interesting uses for what others would label "trash." Their back porch is constructed from old pallets and they use glass bottles in their garden as decorative borders. They provide you with southern hospitality in an environmentally-conscious package. The food is excellent and delicious, if I'm ever back in North Georgia I will for sure be checking in at Cedar House Inn & Yurts for some great conversation and restful sleep.

Room Tip: The yurts are great but not for those scared of using a compost toilet or sleeping outside. Otherwi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dahlonega
12.3 mi away
Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center
4.7 mi away
The Dahlonega Square Hotel & Villas
5.3 mi away
Days Inn Dahlonega
Days Inn Dahlonega
#3 of 8 in Dahlonega
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Quality Inn Dahlonega
Quality Inn Dahlonega
#7 of 8 in Dahlonega
169 reviews
16.3 mi away
Valhalla Resort Hotel
Valhalla Resort Hotel
#4 of 18 in Helen
57 reviews
4.8 mi away
Park Place Hotel
Park Place Hotel
#5 of 8 in Dahlonega
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar House Inn & Yurts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar House Inn & Yurts

Address: 6463 Highway 19 N, Dahlonega, GA 30533-1938
Region: United States > Georgia > Dahlonega
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Dahlonega
Price Range: £83 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique eco friendly/green inn popular among nature lovers/tree huggers, artists, college students, young professionals and the young at heart. Located in the heart of the North Georgia mountains and wine country. Vegetarian breakfast served with organic eggs, organic ingredients and seasonal veggies from permaculture garden. Choose from charming rooms starting at $135.00 to unique yurts at $155.00 excluding taxes depending on time of year. Adults only. No Smoking. No Pets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cedar House Inn And Yurts
Cedar House Inn & Yurts Hotel Dahlonega

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing