We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Convenient”
Review of Hall House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hall House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 8 Dahlonega B&B and Inns
Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“So Convenient”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The Hall House Hotel is located right on the historic square in Dahlonega. It shares a building with The Bourbon Street Grill, a wine tasting room and several art galleries, but amazingly the rooms on the second and third floor are very quiet. We stayed in Sara's Room on the third floor and were disappointed that Wifi did not work there. This hotel is not a bed and breakfast in that breakfast is no longer included in the price. Our room was thoughtfully furnished with antiques. Mike was very welcoming. This was our second stay at the Hall House Hotel, formerly known as Top of the Square.

Room Tip: This is an old building and there is no elevator. The old wooden stairs are pretty steep so the bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgiaTravelers51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
35
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I recently spent three nights in Sara's Room at the Hall House on a mountain getaway and winery tour. This was an absolute treat as the Hall House is in a perfect location right on the square. Mike is a wonderful host and seems to accommodate everyone's request. Make sure to eat at the restaurant in the same building, Bourbon Street Grill... Small but very good! Thanks Again Mike!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank joep140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Cloud, Florida, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We visited over Labor Day weekend and had a great time. Mike was super nice and accommodating, gave us some suggestions about how we could spend our time in Dahlonega. The location is directly across from the Gold Museum and convenient to everywhere on the square. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki0765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hammond, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Mike was super helpful and nice. We stayed in the Captain's Quarters on the third floor. It was beautiful and the perfect place to relax for a night. Situated on the square, the hotel is within walking distance of several quaint shops, restaurants, confectioners, and a wine tasting room. It is the perfect place to spend a romantic vacation.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellysianfields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaFayette, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stay at Hall House Hotel on July 24th for our anniversary and love the place. Our room was the Trumpet Monkey room and it was perfect. The hot tub was great but the walk in shower was fantastic. We enjoy everything about the place. We been to Dahlonega many time as the wife went to school at the University there but never stay over night. Mike is the owner and is one great host. He will answer any question and help in any way possible. We ate at the Bourbon Street Grille which is also in the same building. The food and service there was very good. The whole town has a very friendly atmosphere to it and all the shop owners seem to work together as a team. We may be making this our yearly stay. and If you have four legged friends they are also welcomed with open arms for many of the shops keep fresh water out for them.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank umfan1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire,
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Stayed here 13-17 June.

A re-visit to what was called 'Top of the Square'.

Mike has made a fantastic job of extending the number of letting rooms. Each room is individual with tasteful features. The Big Room has a lovely balcony area which compliments a room which lives up to its name. We had an extended stay and felt ready to become residents.

The whole feel of the building is one of relaxed friendliness. We were embraced by the whole 'Bleu' family and greeted with friendly smiles and a huge welcome each time we returned to the building.

You are really made to feel very special during your visit. Mike is an excellent host and Innkeeper, taking time to ensure you are happy and settled in the premises and ensuring you have everything you need for a relaxing stay.

With the Bourbon Street Grille being located in the same building, along with a wine tasting room, three artists studios and a whole art gallery, you really don't need to leave the building!

Lumpkin County laws mean that though the grille is busy, the customer flow does not intrude on your experience, but actually enhances your stay.

I can't recommend this place highly enough. We will be making another extended stay on our next visit to the USA.

Room Tip: All rooms are individual with unique features all are good quality: take your pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ianandju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This was a fun experience. It is an informal, family-run operation, and Mike is very accommodating. The demand for the four rooms is very high, so make your plans in advance. The food at the restaurant across the hall is first-rate. We stayed in the Trumpet Monkey room and enjoyed it. It has an amazingly large walk-in shower. Remember, this is a renovated, 1850's building, with the guest rooms on the second floor, up the time-worn stairs. If you like quaint and unique and comfortable, you will like the Hall House Hotel.

Room Tip: I'm sure the other rooms are as nice. Each is different. Mike will gladly give details.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dfrousseau373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dahlonega
11.2 mi away
Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Park Place Hotel
Park Place Hotel
#6 of 8 in Dahlonega
156 reviews
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Dahlonega
Days Inn Dahlonega
#3 of 8 in Dahlonega
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Amicalola Falls Lodge
Amicalola Falls Lodge
#1 of 4 in Dawsonville
337 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Dahlonega
Quality Inn Dahlonega
#7 of 8 in Dahlonega
157 reviews
12.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Dawsonville
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hall House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hall House Hotel

Property: Hall House Hotel
Address: 90 Public Sq N, Dahlonega, GA 30533-1233
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Dahlonega
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Dahlonega
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hall House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hall House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing