We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat little place”
Review of The Oar House - CLOSED

The Oar House
Price range: US$10 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are an Event Venue on the River. Groups, Weddings, Corporate events or any event
Pensacola, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Neat little place”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I recently visited the Oar House with my family and had an overall pleasant experience.

The service was good. Our waitress was observant and very attentive to whatever we needed. Our order consisted of different things on the menu as well as the drink menu, and she did an excellent job delivering both and meeting our expectations during the whole visit.
The ambiance was very inviting and full of photo opportunities (we're from Florida and not used to North Georgia landscape). We had a rather large party yet they were more than equipped to handle us all and not make us feel like a burden.
The menu was easy. I highly recommend the cucumber salad side that they offer. It was refreshing and even though I'm not much of a mayo fan, I still enjoyed it thoroughly. The chicken salad (ordered by multiple people in my party) was okay. The homemade chips though, were incredible. The hummus appetizer also had us wanting more, more, more.

I would highly suggest visiting this restaurant. It offers great views, great service, and great food. What more could you ask for?

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JC5BNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    32
    19
    12
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pleasant Evening”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We ate at the Oar House on a Friday night recently, enjoyed our food, and the atmosphere since there was live guitar music. I ordered a steak and would rate it a "B" at best, as it arrived at the table warm (not hot), like it had been sitting on a counter for a while. My husband ordered penne pasta with shrimp & broccoli and said it was very good. There was a small crowd for a Friday night so it was nice to be able to have a leisurely dinner and not have to talk over a loud crowd. It was a very relaxing and pleasant evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catnip234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, GA
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Everything was yummy!”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Great food and love the outside dining with the music and the river flowing nearby. Food took a while but we were with friends and enjoyed the company so not a biggie.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank PokerCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dahlonega, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Really good food with class”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We went to the Oar House two weeks running. The food is closer to fine dining than the average American restaurant, and none the worse for that (though the prices do reflect it), Lots of imaginative offerings on the menu.
Service can be a little slow, especially as the waiting staff have a lengthy staircase to climb from the kitchen to the outside dining area.
The wine list is strongly oriented to California (reflecting the owners' origion), but there some international selections. But why no Georgia wines?
We will be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rodhake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Very very slow poor service. The prime rib was dry and tasteless.”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The restaurant was not busy but it took over an hour for our order to be taken and for the food to arrive. We always tip 20%. Tonight we tipped 0%.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronsldvj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing