We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ABSOLUTELY horrific!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dahlonega
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Etowah River Campground
Reviewed 17 May 2012

This campground has been run down. If it was ever a nice place to stay it is NOT now. We rode through and kept going. There are many people who are obviously living here permanently. It is like a camper trailer-park. PLEASE don't waste your time.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank funwithkids89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2012

Worst camp trip ever. Thank goodness is was an exploring trip and only 1 night. Stayed awake until after 2 am with loud college kids and radios. We were in camp sites 23 and 24, but had to move to another site b/c someone was on our site when we arrived. They must have taken the pictures on the website 5 minutes after installing that swing set. It is a dump now. Muddy and high grass. Won't be going back...ever! And yes, the previous writer was correct about dogs running all over the place. Not sure who they belonged to. The only thing it was missing was the wheels to most of the trailers.

Room Tip: Wish i had read the real reviews before going here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taco221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Pros: Clean campground, family-friendly (a large playground set and LOTS of little kids - the owners have the cutest little girl), hot showers, dog-friendly (we brought our large breed dog and nobody cared how much he barked or that he ran around all over), mostly quiet, $5 innertubing rentals, free gold panning, beautiful scenery (rolling hills, excellent spot on the Etowah River, not far from state parks and national forests, other campers are friendly. Owners remembered us despite limited communication leading up to our arrival and held our spot even though we showed up several hours later than we'd anticipated. Entrance has a gate for added security and privacy.

Cons: Owners only accept check and cash as payment and there is no way to reserve your site online, so that was a little nerve wracking, but they had our spot waiting when we arrived. Other campers did not respect privacy (walking through our campsites to access the river; we were at a river's edge primitive site), owner did not know how to get to Amicalola Falls (it was less than 30 minutes from them), bath house was too far from the campsite so be prepared to walk or drive if you get a primitve site. Although the grounds are in a remote location they are close to a neighborhood so sometimes you'll hear cars and early mornings the neighboring farm's hunting dogs get to baying. Some of the equipment on the playground set was broken but the day before they left the owners came and fixed it.

Despite the cons listed we all had a wonderful time. We are seasoned campers (both car camping and back country) and we brought our friends along who had never been camping at all. All the kids and dogs had a fun time, the adults enjoyed themselves and their experience there made them into newfound campers. If we ever find ourselves in GA again we will be coming back!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sassley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

This is not a nice campground and regardless what people but on the website it was awful. When we stayed it felt more like a trailer park because everyone livers there. The grass was to our ankles, the bathrooms were nasty, there are stray dogs running around and trash by the playground including beer botles that was there for three days. One of the guys that lives there said they only mow the grass once a month. The pictures on the website are only to reel you in. If you wanted to hide from the law then this is the place for you. Cash only and no paper work required.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
4  Thank Burns86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Call ahead if you just want peace and quiet. This inexpensive ($20.00 a night) campground is home to small local music festivals. If you want to go here and not participate in the festival, be prepared to stay up til midnight with the music. The river is cold and refreshing when the heat gets oppressive. Most RV sites are unshaded but many tent sites are very cool and on the river. There are limited water and electric tent sites, but we found that most folks share willingly. The showers and restrooms are clean and well stocked and the management patrols reqularly. There are no formal paths to the river , I'd like to see one built, but you can get down there from the tent site areas. There is a small sandy "beach area" The management rent tubes for $5.00 a day and will take you up river so you can float down. We had a great time. Dogs were running freely and one peed on our tent, but all in all we enjoyed the lack of rules. We want to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snellvillegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Campground is a joke. There are no good spots for rvs. The only shady spots they have are taken up by the multiple permanent residents. The showers are hot...plus. We went in july so it was soooo hot with no relief. The only way to get to the river is to walk thru other peoples campsites. Took the kids down to the river to cool off and found loads of dog crap right on the edge. Campers all around the water had big dogs who pooped everywhere. Went the next day after tent campers left..they left all their trash and poop for others to enjoy! Never will return. This place is not good for families. Worst ive ever seen.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nttlthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

we recently spent the weekend at the campgrounds,, very accommodating owners helped me to pick the perfect site. nice clean hot showers, convenient store on site so you don't have to leave and go into town. didn't catch any big ones but enjoyed lounging in the river while we fished. only down side was trying to find where to toss trash, our camping neighbors and I couldn't seem to find trash bins. we will certainly be back again!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2happycampersga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dahlonega
6.7 mi away
Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center
4.2 mi away
Quality Inn Dahlonega
Quality Inn Dahlonega
#7 of 8 in Dahlonega
165 reviews
4.6 mi away
Park Place Hotel
Park Place Hotel
#5 of 8 in Dahlonega
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Amicalola Falls Lodge
Amicalola Falls Lodge
#1 of 4 in Dawsonville
357 reviews
5.2 mi away
Days Inn Dahlonega
Days Inn Dahlonega
#3 of 8 in Dahlonega
491 reviews
13.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Dawsonville
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Etowah River Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Etowah River Campground

Address: 437 Rider Mill Rd, Dahlonega, GA 30533-4315
Region: United States > Georgia > Dahlonega
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Dahlonega
Price Range: £11 - £19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 62
Also Known As:
Etowah River Campground Hotel Dahlonega

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing