We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Without a doubt, the "BEST"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Long Mountain Lodge
Ranked #4 of 8 Dahlonega B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We wish there was another ranking better than "Excellent", as that would be more appropriate for our experience. Everything (EVERYTHING) about Long Mountain Lodge was terrific. The lodge itself is spotlessly clean and carefully designed. Unlike many B&B's, this one was designed and built for this purpose approximately 7 or 8 years ago. However, due to the design and decor, you get the best of both worlds . . . the charm of that you would expect from a B&B and the benefits of a well thought out lodge. Our room had it's own patio and gave us a great view of the mountains. There are plenty of common areas to sit and relax and meet others or to read one of the many vintage books they have in the library (remember "Dick and Jane" -- I even found a copy of the Boy Scout manual I used ___ years ago - LOL). However, privacy is not an issue . . . plenty of room to have some "alone time", if you want. There's even a pond or two on the property that you can take a short hike to and it will be just you and the (large) trout that have been stocked.
My wife and I were looking for someplace different to celebrate our 24th anniversary. As recently as 30 days ago, we didn't know that Dahlonega even existed. An offhand comment by someone in my wife's office caused us to do some research and, fortunately, we not only made the trip, but also were lucky enough to find this B&B. As we knew literally nothing about the area, we put ourselves in the hands of Dianne and Don. It must be mentioned that they were not the "pull a flyer off of the wall and hand it to the guest" type of people. Not only did they give us "insider" info, they made every effor to make sure we felt like their friends. While many B&B reviews may use the "friends" word, we mean it in it's most sincerest sense. We truly feel that we've left the Lodge with both memories and true friends. We've already made plans to return during different seasons so we can experience the waterfalls and the mountains again. We live in south Florida and this is the perfect get-away for us.
There's so much more (Diannes's fantastic breakfasts, outdoor concerts in the town square; the Holly and, great retaurants to name a few) but just writing about it makes me want to go back . . .now.
Truthfully, for us, it really doesn't get much better than this (and we are seasoned travellers who have been to many, many B&B's).

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any of the rooms. We'd tell you which one we stayed in; however, we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CODYKODA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
longmountain, Owner at Long Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

To all of our guests: We've been remiss in our responses to all of our guests reviews, and apologize if you didn't get a response to a review that you took time to post in the past. Our goal is to try to respond to more of our reviews
Now, as a response to this review, we want to say that so many very, very special people have come into our lives over the last 7 years of operating our B & B. You are a very special couple and we sure hope that you are able to visit us again....thank you for coming into our lives with your humor and compassion! "Enter as Guests, Leave as Friends"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

I don't think I have ever been treated so well in my life!

My boyfriend and I are both native Floridians, so we lean toward mountainous areas that are out of our "ordinary" when vacationing. We were both so pleased to find that the charming town of Dahlonega is about an 8 hour drive from where we live. There were a few options for lodging, but this one truly stood out to us. As avid hikers and proud nature geeks, it was important to us that we visit a place with lots of trail options. Don really took care of us in that respect. He personally drew maps and pointed out trails with the best hikes and waterfalls, and we were not at all disappointed! He made sure to mention all of his favorites, give us advice about what to see and where to go, and he even helped us create a day-long hiking itinerary! The owners of Long Mountain really know and love the area, and they can help you find anything you're looking for.

We stayed in the Little Sal room, which was the perfect size for two with a stunning view of the Appalachian Mountains. Other rooms in the Lodge feature balconies, which I am sure are spectacular. The room was clean and beautifully furnished, with a daily supply of fresh water and chocolate (yay!). The bed was extremely comfortable, the room spacious, and the price (weekends are more expensive than weekdays) affordable. A+!

I won't spend too much time on the food - suffice it to say that you probably won't ever have a better breakfast than what they feed you here. We didn't even eat lunch because breakfast was so delicious and filling. It's truly a treat.

A few other things: There is a catch and release trout pond on site, a lovely little lake where you can feed the fish, and this Lodge's proximity to excellent hiking trails is very convenient. You're also pretty close to Helen, which is an interesting Bavarian-style town where you can find great pizza and delicious sandwiches (ask Don!).

Room Tip: The Little Sal is great for two. No balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GennaDac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We spent only one night at this great B & B, but really enjoyed this get-away just an hour's drive from Atlanta. It is a perfect distance to the quaint town of Dahlonega. Once at the lodge, we felt ourselves relax and breathe in the fresh mountain air. Our room was very private, beautifully furnished in the county-style, very clean and completely comfortable. We enjoyed the beautiful large bathroom with jacuzzi tub. Our room had a nice private area to sit outside our patio door and view the sunset. Evening appetizers were perfect and the three-course breakfast was the best we've ever had. The owner was very gracious and made us feel like we were visiting a friend. We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed one night at Long Mountain Lodge for during a wine tour of three wineries in Dahlonega. The staff was extremely helpful and knowledgeable in assisting in the planning of the tour and insured that we had a seamless transition. The bed was and accommodations were top notch. I would recommend LML to anybody wanting to experience the best service North Georgia has to offer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

A wonderful getaway for a day from the rush rush of Atlanta... the scenery was beautiful, the personal touches were evident... and the breakfast was soooo good! Liked the library/rare book room downstairs too! A wonderful way to slow down and reconnect to God and to each other. We hope to come back again to recharge our batteries!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeroShelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My husband & I spent an absolutely delightful 4 days at this beautiful lodge nestled in the mountains surrounding Dahlonega, Ga. We had read many wonderful reviews about the place and were so pleasantly surprised that ALL of them were very much deserved! IT TRULY IS WONDERFUL!

Our room, "The Wissenhunt Room", was spacious, tastefully decorated and had super comfortable beds & pillows with fabulously soft linens & towels & super comfy pillows. The jacuzzi tub was a great asset after a day spent hiking the beautiful mountains of this area.

Diane's (the proprietor) breakfasts were scrumptious and so creative. Try not to miss the day they serve waffles. As a waffle "expert" they were some of the best waffles I have ever eaten. Literally melt in your mouth. Every morning brought a new & delicious breakfast experience which did away with my resolve to stay on a diet.

The evening "cocktail hour" with sherry, delicious cheeses & crackers and home made cookies were welcome after a long day of hiking.

Don was great with advise on the best hikes to see waterfalls and what made it really great is a few of them were not officially on the map which allowed us to have the waterfall completely to ourselves. Shay (? spelling on her name) was super friendly when she checked us in and made sure we knew about all the amenities they offered at the lodge.

I know I have used a lot of superlatives in this review but I didn't use them lightly. This truly is a unique mountain hideaway to come and relax and forget about everything. You will enjoy the hospitality, the beautiful decorations throughout the house, the many amenities they offer for a small establishment and of course the gourmet breakfasts.

Thank you Diane, Don & Shea for a superb & relaxing long weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

From the moment we drove up the driveway you get a feeling of 'home away from home' and that feeling was the same for our entire stay. The owners of the lodge, whom we heard were great, were on vacation but had left the lodge in the wonderful hands of Ms. Carol and Mr. Hal. We arrived late afternoon and were greeted with wine, cheese and homemade cookies. They were very helpful with which falls to see and directions to them. Ms. Carol also gave us ice each morning for our small ice cooler for our drinks. The breakfast was so good and the waffles were wonderful. We had the best time and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S_Vaughan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dahlonega
7.8 mi away
Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center
5.8 mi away
Quality Inn Dahlonega
Quality Inn Dahlonega
#7 of 8 in Dahlonega
169 reviews
11 mi away
Amicalola Falls Lodge
Amicalola Falls Lodge
#1 of 4 in Dawsonville
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Park Place Hotel
Park Place Hotel
#5 of 8 in Dahlonega
173 reviews
7.2 mi away
Days Inn Dahlonega
Days Inn Dahlonega
#3 of 8 in Dahlonega
507 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Dahlonega Square Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Mountain Lodge

Address: 144 Bull Creek Road, Dahlonega, GA 30533
Region: United States > Georgia > Dahlonega
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Dahlonega
Price Range: £78 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Long Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CHECK OUR WEB SITE FOR AVAILABILITY. The bed & breakfast lodge has luxury guest rooms and suites on Long Mountain. Each room with breathtaking mountain views. 7 miles from historic downtown Dahlonega, Georgia. Most rooms have wood-burning fireplaces and jetted garden tubs. Many have mini fridge and Keurig coffee makers. No children or pets at the B&B. A 2BR/2BA Waterfall Cottage in sight and sound of Cane Creek Falls. One king BR and 1 queen BR and 2 full baths, large screened porch overlooking the stream and falls. Full kitchen, wood-burning fireplace, smart TV, WiFi, BBQ, phone. Air conditioned. A 3BR (all queen beds)/2BA Cabin on Long Mountain: 1700 sq ft log-sided home on a private 6 acres in the national forest. Direct TV in all bedrooms plus in the LR. Full kitchen, dining room, wood-burning fireplace, WiFi, phone, air conditioned, ping pong table in the semi-finished garage, fire pit, BBQ. Our Tree Top Suite - a very private wing off the owner's lodge: queen bed, continental breakfast, maid service, mini fridge, microwave, coffee, phone, separate heat and air conditioning, lots of deck space overlooking our trout ponds, and a private screen porch that is glassed in Nov - March with a heater to use as a sun room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Long Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing