We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Dahlonega
Reviewed 25 July 2013

What a great view from our room. The North GA mountains were outside our window, dusk on the mountain was great to see. Downtown has many restaurants to choose from, drive was less than a mile away, downhill. Being on motorcycles, rolling hills and the start of the mountains we expected downtown be to hilly, everything is flat, central parking near all restraurants. Hotel parking was available for cars, trucks will trailers park at the end of the parking lot. Hotel staff told us to park the motorcycles under the entry near the entrance. That was nice and ease of going in the morning. Breakfast was a challenge, seemed like everyone came down at the same time, 0800, food was in limited supply, grabbed a banana, some juice and moved on down the road, as we were not going to wait for the other folks to make way to sit and get breakfast, as we checked out, other came rolling in looking for breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing north or on the side that entrance is on, the mountain views morning and eveni...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LDubie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

There were four in our party and we got two rooms. We all agreed that the rooms were very clean. The view from our rooms was great. We are priority customers and didn't receive our little welcome gifts. They were great about letting us check in early. I do think that it was over priced.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spencer1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Quick, last minute trip to the area with my kids. Needed a hotel at the last minute and chose this one instead of the less expensive Days Inn or Quality Inn hoping for a a decent room. Outside of building and public areas are well kept. Room is of the standard of a Quality Inn- no fridge, no microwave, thin sheets/towels,very small with open closet. Outside pool, no hot tub.

At this moment the manager is in my room debating with me if the room smells like urine or not-it does. As soon as the air goes off the rm 320 smells like pee. When I called down this am she told me that all the ac's had gotten a sour smell because of the rain collecting in them so they had been cleaning them hoping to get rid of the smell. So I asked her if it was mold- she says it's not but what else could it be? So she decided to come up. Knocks on door, no greeting walks in and asks why I turned the ac off. Told her it had been off for a few minutes. Tells me she doesn't smell anything and she has a sensitive nose. I explain that I do too and the room smells like pee and she might want to clean the carpet for the next guest. She basically tells me it doesn't and says she will be back in a few minutes..... I decided to write this while I am waiting.

I used to manage hotels and never in my life could I imagine treating guests like this. Stay somewhere else. The room and service are no better than a very low end chain hotel.

Room Tip: Do not stay in rm 320 unless they finally replace carpet.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear MIKEEMIKEE10,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the room smell and the air conditioning which was unacceptable. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Traveling by motorcycle through the area and stayed the night.
The prices were reasonable, the hotel was very clean. The free hot breakfast is a nice plus. My room was a king, second floor, first door to the right after exiting the elevator. It was small, since I was traveling alone it was adequate but amazingly small than the hotel rooms I had in Asia.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiloBravo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stay here each time we visit our relatives. The rooms are nice and clean. Bed was comfortable and had a variety of pillows. There were plenty of outlets which is a challenge at many hotels. Didn't get a chance to check out the exercise room this trip.

Room Tip: It appears that this hotel hosts many wedding parties so book early if you are staying over a weeken...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glen55Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Worse time ever at a hotel property. Wedding Party ruined entire stay, loud drunks, stealing food from breakfast bar and all management would say was she never heard any complaints. The only funny part was that the worse hell raisers were what appeared to be the grandparents with the coolers of booze so much left over it filled their van and they had to put clothes in another van. Ice machines out of service because some one filled large coolers and left none on 1 or 3 floors, and 2 floor was melting. Stealing yogurt and putting in a purse, biscuits and jelly guess it was for their father's day luncheon. So ask ahead if they are having A WEDDING PARTY, remember this is a College town! Oh, the Pool Furniture was placed around the parking lot and had our van damaged by something being slammed on the roof. Otherwise it was your regular run of the mill Holiday Inn Express.

Room Tip: Odd number rooms have great view of town and mountains. Third floor was great.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LewieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2013

Dear LewieD,

Thank you for taking the time out our your busy day to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the wedding party that happened during your stay. I have taken note of your comments regarding the shortcomings you encountered and these will be shared with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvement to this identified weakness.

Despite your disappointment, I do hope you will return to stay with us again at some future date when you can be assured of our very best attention.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Having stayed at other hotels in this chain, we were looking forward to this one, but it fell way short of any of our other previous experiences with this hotel chain. The evening we arrived, we noticed our TV had poor quality picture. The front desk employee (a young man) came to try to fix it, but he said that the cable connection was damaged due to the dresser being pushed too close to the wall. The TV never worked properly the entire stay. The breakfast was also a disappointment. The pancake machine wasn't working, and when I asked at the front desk if there was any yogurt available, I was taken aback by the rude reply I received. The older lady working told me that she didn't have any and that she was short-staffed that morning due to employees not coming to work. Our room was acceptable, other than the TV, but it was on the main floor close to the front desk which made it a very noisy location. This did not live up to the quality expectations we have experienced at previous Holiday Inn Express locations and it cost more than other locations we have stayed at previously.

Room Tip: If you end up staying here (which I honestly cannot recommend), ask for a room above the first floor...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mama23Es
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Dear Mama23Es,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests and for that please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you have experienced and if our hotel fell below your expectations in many aspects. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future and show you just how much we care about delivering an above average experience.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dahlonega
11.9 mi away
Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Dahlonega
Days Inn Dahlonega
#3 of 9 in Dahlonega
487 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn Dahlonega
Quality Inn Dahlonega
#7 of 9 in Dahlonega
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Park Place Hotel
Park Place Hotel
#6 of 9 in Dahlonega
161 reviews
15.6 mi away
Amicalola Falls Lodge
Amicalola Falls Lodge
#1 of 4 in Dawsonville
349 reviews
12.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Dawsonville
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega

Address: 835 S Chestatee St, Dahlonega, GA 30533-1610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Dahlonega
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Dahlonega
Price Range: £99 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Dahlonega, home to the first major gold rush in the US. The Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega hotel is a luxurious three-story hotel only one mile from downtown Dahlonega and located in the heart of the Southern Appalachian Mountains with excellent mountain views and rapid access to mountain attractions. Hotel features include complimentary hot breakfast and free local phone calls. Please note that no roll-away beds are allowed in any of our rooms. Visit Dahlonega, GA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega Hotel Dahlonega
Holiday Inn Dahlonega

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing