We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Dahlonega
Douglas, Georgia, United States
1 review
“A Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed there 10/11/2013 to 10/13/2013. The stay was WONDERFUL. From check-in to
check-out, we could have not been treated any better. All staff were friendly and accommodating. The room was very nice and clean. We are already planning another trip to the North Georgia mountains and will be staying at the HI Express-Dahlonega. This is the best place to stay in Dahlonega. Thanks to the staff for a super time!

Room Tip: Book early. A lot of wedding families stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FAdams31513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    57
    40
    20
    17
See reviews for
59
47
13
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newborn, Georgia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Diane, the Manager is a fixer. I didn’t realize I had messed up my reservation way back in May. When I went to check in Friday I had two guys in a room with one bed and the hotel was completely booked. Diana Moore calmly went the extra mile, even calling other people coming in for the weekend and found one that a single king would fit and would swap rooms. It is obvious she has done this before; she cares for her customers and knows many repeat patrons by their first name. Diane is a great person to mange the HIE and really cares for her customers and she is fixer that will get a problem solved. Thanks Diane

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GolfHacker70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckley, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

I have stayed here for 2 years in a row for a 5 day period. They offer nice clean rooms and the manager Diane has been very accommodating with my requests. I would recommend any of my friends or family members to stay here. Love this place!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

The room was clean, and there ends the positive attributes of Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega. The lady on the front desk was crabby and unfriendly from the moment we entered the lobby with a reservation. That demeanor and lack of warmth continued through our stay. We were in town to visit the college, and this dismal property was not a comfortable walking distance with children. The best thing about its location was its proximity to the 24-hour gas station minimart next door. The room had an iron, but no ironing board, and when the hot iron brushed against the cheap third world blanket while ironing on the bed, the blanket instantly melted with such rapidity that it was clearly a fire hazard (...and almost damaged the clothing I was ironing). We informed the front desk, and the lady grunted some acknowledgement. Several days after our return, the Holiday Inn Express charged us $70 for the destruction of the plastic fire hazard it passed off as a blanket. Phone calls to the hotel management about the unauthorized charge were never answered. I had ignored reviews about similar instances when I made my reservation (...but it was convenient). Be warned--don't make the same mistake!

Room Tip: Find a room somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jetlag78dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear jetlag78dc,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay with us. As for the charge in your card, all hotels charge for damage items in the hotel and/or incidentals. Please understand that it is the hotels policy to charge guest that had damage a property of the hotel. Nevertheless, thank you for bringing this into our attention as the feedback we receive from our guests like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to improve our guest services.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dahlonega hotels

Thomasville, Georgia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

The property was clean and well maintained. The staff was very helpful and seem to genuinely care about their customers. My room was clean and well stocked. I would definitely recommend this location to other travelers. I stayed here for 5 nights and I was very pleased.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherri N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Have stayed at numerous hotels recently and this hotel is very outdated and overpriced for a HI.
Needs serious updating. I found staff unfriendly and somewhat rude. Furniture is VERY old.
Would never stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phyllis769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear Phyllis769,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay with us. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Rest assured, your comments will be used for review and actions will be taken accordingly to ensure similar incidents could be avoided.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

So, what a gem the owners of this property have in Diane Moore. Beyond hard working, understands the business-handles large volumes of challenges alone and solves them all. However, I have some concerns with the property upkeep-I highly suggest the owners take a good look at their location which is amazing and their flag which has pretty high expectations and reevaluate. Investment is mandatory prior to degradation of the property. As a tourism professional I understand the challenges that occur in the overnight business. However other than wanting to see Diane again, I will make another selection in my future stays in Dahlonega.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank realflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear realflorida,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincere apologies if your stay was negatively affected by the service you received from our hotel. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dahlonega
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Dahlonega
Days Inn Dahlonega
#3 of 8 in Dahlonega
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
11.9 mi away
Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn Dahlonega
Quality Inn Dahlonega
#7 of 8 in Dahlonega
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Park Place Hotel
Park Place Hotel
#6 of 8 in Dahlonega
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
15.6 mi away
Amicalola Falls Lodge
Amicalola Falls Lodge
#1 of 4 in Dawsonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
12.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Dawsonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega

Property: Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega
Address: 835 South Chestatee Street, Dahlonega, GA 30533
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Dahlonega
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Dahlonega
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Dahlonega, home to the first major gold rush in the US. The Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega hotel is a luxurious three-story hotel only one mile from downtown Dahlonega and located in the heart of the Southern Appalachian Mountains with excellent mountain views and rapid access to mountain attractions. Hotel features include complimentary hot breakfast and free local phone calls. Please note that no roll-away beds are allowed in any of our rooms. Visit Dahlonega, GA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, IHG, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega Hotel Dahlonega
Holiday Inn Dahlonega

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing