We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Double check the address in your GPS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Dahlonega
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed here on a trip to tour University of North Georgia. It is located minutes from the college and is very convenient. This hotel is not as modern as typical HI express hotels. But it was clean. Also the desk clerk doubles as the breakfast attendant and therefore he could not keep up with the demand of either job.

My biggest concern is that there are at least seven roads named Chestatee in the area. Our GPS took us to a dark empty lot 20 minutes away from the hotel and the attendant had a hard time helping us. The correct road is Chestatee St. This should have been clearly stated on the hotel's website.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SouthernGirlFromAla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug P, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear SouthernGirlFromAla,

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review about our hotel. We do appreciate your kind words about our cleanliness. There are quite a few streets named Chestatee in our area. Our hotel is located at 835 South Chestatee Street. It easy sometimes to miss the S for south as we mostly list our address as 835 S Chestatee Street. We do hope that in the future you will consider staying with us again. We promise an even better stay!

Doug Pittman
Holiday Inn Express
Dahlonega, GA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

This property must have been another low budget hotel before taking on the HI Express name. The rooms and common areas do not represent the fresh, bright feel of most HI Express properties that I have stayed at. The room furnishings looked like leftovers from the 80's. Dark wood in a queen Anne style. Uncomfortable chairs, small TV with limited channels.

In their defense there was a sign posted in the lobby that renovations were underway.

Breakfast was good. I love the Cinnamon buns, Thank goodness they didn't mess that up.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Jay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug P, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Jay W.,

First of all thank you for taking the time to leave this review about our hotel. We do apologize that we were not able to provide you with the "modern appearance" of newer Holiday Inn Expresses. I would like to assure you, however, that we will have all of the new modern amenities at the completion of our remodel. We do appreciate your kind words about our breakfast bar. We invite you to stay with us again in the future. We look forward to treating you to an even better experience than before.

Sincerely,

Doug Pittman
Holiday Inn Express
Dahlonega, GA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

My family just got back from Dahlonega Ga. The hotel was nice and the room was clean. The pool is in the back of the hotel which gave some privacy. The only complaint I have is breakfast in the morning. They did not have any yogurt and it seemed the food had run out before I got there.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunshine0024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug P, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear sunshine0024,

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review about our hotel. We thank you for the kind words about our rooms and or commitment to cleanliness. We do apologize that you found the breakfast to be sub par. As I'm sure you know, our breakfast hours are between 6:30 AM and 9:30 AM. Perhaps the mornings you visited were busy, or near the end of breakfast time. At any rate, we want to assure that we have taken your comment to heart, and have increased our efforts at our breakfast bar to ensure that all guest receive a great quality meal each morning.

Again, thank you for taking time to leave us this vital feedback!

Sincerely,

Doug Pittman
Holiday Inn Express
Dahlonega, GA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Nice hotel for the price. Clean rooms but overall needs some updating. I didn't get the "warm & friendly" greeting I'm used to - but if you make an effort, they are nice folks! The challenge for the business traveler is the lack of a desk and no easily accessible outlets! In 2014 we need LOTS of plug ins for the electronics! I give Kudos on a really nice FREE breakfast. They offer more hot options than other 'continental-only' places! Nice view of the mountains.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view on the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottOnRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug P, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear ScottOnRiver,

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review of our hotel. We are thankful that you found your stay with us worthy of four stars. You'll be happy to hear that we have modern furiture (including desk and lamps with multiple plugs for media devices) on the way. We will be updating to the new "modern" style seen in the newest of Holiday Inns. We are glad that you found the breakfast to be great. We do apologize that your initial greeting was not "warm and friendly". We do strive to create and warm and inviting atmosphere for all of our guest. We appreciate you choosing the stay with us!

Doug Pittman
Social Media Champion
Holiday Inn Express
Dahlonega, GA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The Holiday Inn Express in Dahlonega is close to downtown as well as the college. The price is average and the customer service is great. However do not expect modern accomodations. The furniture in the rooms, eventhough clean, are definately from the 80's.

I will stay there again, simply because of location, price and of course the free morning breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy A E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug P, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Amy A E,

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review of our hotel. We are glad the you found our customer service to be great and the property to be clean. I do apologize that the furniture in the rooms has not been upgraded to the new "modern" style of the newest Holiday Inn Express's, but you will be happy to hear that our furniture will be upgraded soon. I hope that you plan to stay with us again in the future so you can see the changes we are making.

Doug Pittman
Social Media Champion
Holiday Inn Express
Dahlonega, GA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This Holiday Inn Express is consistent with other of the chain's properties, clean, comfortable and a helpful staff. Breakfast included in the price has hot options as well as cereal etc. Location is close to town and the main highways and to the Cool Breeze - Oar House where we were having a USMC reunion. Also close to the Georgia wine trail and other outdoor activities. Great option for the price.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D_Coop_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug P, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear D_Coop_NC,

Thank you for the kind words about our hotel. We are glad that you found the hotel to be both clean and comfortable and the staff to be helpful. Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We hope that you choose to stay with us again.

Doug Pittman
Social Media Champion
Holiday Inn Express
Dahlonega, GA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We recently stayed at this site for 2 nights. We arrived and found that this was the first week where the pool was to be opened, but was informed it was being worked on. Why could not this maintenance be done in the off season. Being a Priority Club member allows certain perks, i.e. Newspaper in the AM. Not here. They also had a very nice continental breakfast, but did not have a TV in the lobby or breakfast area. Not sure if I would stay here in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug P, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Jeff S.

We appreciate you taking the time to leave us this vital feedback. We do apologize that pool as well as the fireplace, where the tv is located, was being worked on during your stay. We do usually have newspapers, and apologize that we may have run out during your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed our newly updated breakfast bar.

Even though there were a few things missing during your stay, we invite you to visit us again after our renovations. We are truly excited about what we will be able to offer guest when we are finished.

Doug Pittman
Social Media Champion
Holiday Inn Express
Dahlonega, GA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dahlonega
11.9 mi away
Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Dahlonega
Days Inn Dahlonega
#3 of 8 in Dahlonega
492 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn Dahlonega
Quality Inn Dahlonega
#7 of 8 in Dahlonega
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Park Place Hotel
Park Place Hotel
#6 of 8 in Dahlonega
163 reviews
15.6 mi away
Amicalola Falls Lodge
Amicalola Falls Lodge
#1 of 4 in Dawsonville
359 reviews
12.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Dawsonville
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega

Address: 835 S Chestatee St, Dahlonega, GA 30533-1610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Dahlonega
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Dahlonega
Price Range: £94 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Dahlonega, home to the first major gold rush in the US. The Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega hotel is a luxurious three-story hotel only one mile from downtown Dahlonega and located in the heart of the Southern Appalachian Mountains with excellent mountain views and rapid access to mountain attractions. Hotel features include complimentary hot breakfast and free local phone calls. Please note that no roll-away beds are allowed in any of our rooms. Visit Dahlonega, GA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega Hotel Dahlonega
Holiday Inn Dahlonega

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing