We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Gate was actually open”
Review of Open Gates B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Open Gates B&B
Ranked #1 of 3 Darien B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We drove up in front of this adorable house with welcoming lights in all the windows & Jeff was inside waiting for us. When we were ready he helped us unload our luggage from the car. As it was around 3PM, we were looking for an afternoon snack. Jeff informed us about the "cookie lady" across the street, So we went out seeking cookies. There was no sign. We just knocked on the door & inquired, "Is this were we get the cookies?" I felt like a neighborhood child, how fun! Then we headed back across the street & had our cookies on the front porch, yet more fun. Then we had some time in the pool, the fun never stops! Jeff helped us with directions for dinner. We slept very well in the comfy beds & in the morning we were served delicious waffles with fresh fruit & bacon on the side. Before we left in the morning Jeff gave us some advice for our travels which turned out to be most valuable. We can't recommend The Open Gates B&B enough!

Room Tip: We poked around upstairs & our room downstairs, "The Island Room", was the biggest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gee2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2012

My wife and I stay in a B and B at least 12 times a year. Open Gates is one of the best we have stayed in. The host, Kelly, was a pleasure to deal with. Our room was clean, the mattress very good. Kelly prepared an excellent FULL breakfast. We stayed in the Blue Room. We both have nothing to suggest to make this a better B and B. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Two of the rooms share a bath. The Islander Room looks like the best room in the B and B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We stayed in the downstairs Garden room. Large and very nice. The hosts are very accommodating. There were two other couples there but when we reserved a week before they were empty so we had our choice of rooms. We stayed based on a Southern Living article recommendation.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkyGrandpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

The house is charming. We were there for two days. It was very quiet. We had the bluebird room. It had a private bathroom which had a small shower but was adequate. There was a larger shower in the hallway which we could share. The hosts do not live on site they live down the block which is different than other bed and breakfasts. They open the house up and you are free to roam it as you please. They booked us a tour of sapelo island and it was wonderful You should definitely do that if you can. We went to fort king george site very close by. Jekyll Island is near by and Savannah is about an hour away. We walked around Darien and everyone was so nice and kind. This is a great place to just chill out and relax.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iowaloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Open Gates is a lovely historical home that sits next to the largest square in Darien. It's a wonderful victorian home with large rooms. There are a few updates that are needed such as paint-normal wear. You can't be shy or impatient if you are sharing a bathroom upstairs with another room. Take a robe for sure if you are sharing! The owners are super nice and very flexible with large groups. Breakfast is wonderful!!! The pool could use a few chaise lounges and a trash can. Overall, the property is a great location for access to all the attractions in and around Darien.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiverDwn27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

The room was large and inviting. There was no one else staying there while we were visiting so we virtually had the house to ourselves. The area was loverly and quaint.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJPCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My husband and I went to Darien for a quite weekend away and chose Open Gates B&B for our place to stay. We've stayed in a lot of B&Bs and this one rates as one of the top on the list. Jeff and Kelly have created a wonderful haven in the historic area of Darien. We had the downstairs room right next to the dining room and library. The room was beautifully decorated and very large with a big high bed, a single bed and a sofa for relaxing. The library had books and games and best of all a carafe of wine available at all times for guests. There was pound cake in the dining room at all times and although I usually don't indulge once I tasted that one it was all I could do not to eat a large portion. The parlor was a great place to relax with the comfy antique sofas and chairs and there were rocking chairs and a swing on the front porch.
Breakfast was fantastic although it would have been nice to have a choice instead of a set menu. That being said my favorite breakfast was the local fresh eggs that had the best flavor of any I've had in years. My husband's favorite was the home made waffles we had on the second morning.
Jeff and Kelly were perfect hosts. They were very friendly, made sure we had everything we wanted and were available by phone any time we needed them which was not at all! There was not one thing we wanted for.
If you want a nice quite time away I'd definitely suggest staying at Open Gates

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LuckyPenny8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darien hotels
2.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#1 of 5 in Darien
156 reviews
2.4 mi away
Days Inn Darien
Days Inn Darien
#5 of 5 in Darien
648 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Darien-I-95
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 5 in Darien
171 reviews
2.6 mi away
Super 8 Darien
Super 8 Darien
#3 of 5 in Darien
196 reviews
7.8 mi away
Blue Heron Inn
Blue Heron Inn
#2 of 3 in Darien
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Open Gates B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Open Gates B&B

Address: 301 Franklin St, Historic Vernon Square, Darien, GA 31305-9068
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Darien
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Darien
Price Range: £105 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Open Gates B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open Gates Bed and Breakfast, built in 1876 by a wealthy timber baron, is uniquely situated for nature-lovers, history buffs, birders, boaters, and outdoor enthusiasts wanting to experience one of the richest natural ecosystems in the world. We are a family run, nature-based business located in the small coastal village of Darien, Georgia. Located on historic Vernon Square, just one block from the shrimp boats on the Darien waterfront, Open Gates is surrounded by giant live oak and magnolia trees providing a private, relaxed atmosphere for your vacation getaway retreat, business trip or special event ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Open Gates B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing