We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointing”
Review of Open Gates B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Open Gates B&B
Ranked #1 of 3 Darien B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We looked forward to our stay at Open Gates, but very disappointed in the condition of the room (Garden Room in the Carriage House) and lack of cleanliness. When trying to find an outlet for the laptop, I was shocked to see the filth behind the bedside table and headboard - very thick dust/dirt, even covering the wires - clearly had not been cleaned in a long time. The bathroom was in need of updating to the point that it felt dirty, rather than historic. We were charged extra for a toddler even though he slept with us and did not have breakfast. Although the website states they have free WiFi, it did not work in the Garden Room, nor did our cell phones (Verizon usually access everywhere). I was told to go outside - where one would get eaten alive by mosquitoes (not the fault of the Inn, but have never encountered so many mosquitoes..just trying to get into the car, it was filled with the things).
The one positive is that the bed was very comfortable.
I am sorry to leave a bad review - we do not usually review an Inn or Hotel unless we can give it 4 or 5 stars and I considered it carefully before writing this one, but this was so disappointing that potential guests should be warned.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RetiredNana08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpenGates, Owner at Open Gates B&B, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
We appreciate your review and your honesty. We have worked hard to address these issues and hope that you will give us another chance in the future. Again, thank you for your critique and feedback. Best wishes on your future travels. Kelly Spratt, owner, Open Gates B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    20
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
27
104
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We drove up in front of this adorable house with welcoming lights in all the windows & Jeff was inside waiting for us. When we were ready he helped us unload our luggage from the car. As it was around 3PM, we were looking for an afternoon snack. Jeff informed us about the "cookie lady" across the street, So we went out seeking cookies. There was no sign. We just knocked on the door & inquired, "Is this were we get the cookies?" I felt like a neighborhood child, how fun! Then we headed back across the street & had our cookies on the front porch, yet more fun. Then we had some time in the pool, the fun never stops! Jeff helped us with directions for dinner. We slept very well in the comfy beds & in the morning we were served delicious waffles with fresh fruit & bacon on the side. Before we left in the morning Jeff gave us some advice for our travels which turned out to be most valuable. We can't recommend The Open Gates B&B enough!

Room Tip: We poked around upstairs & our room downstairs, "The Island Room", was the biggest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gee2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

My wife and I stay in a B and B at least 12 times a year. Open Gates is one of the best we have stayed in. The host, Kelly, was a pleasure to deal with. Our room was clean, the mattress very good. Kelly prepared an excellent FULL breakfast. We stayed in the Blue Room. We both have nothing to suggest to make this a better B and B. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Two of the rooms share a bath. The Islander Room looks like the best room in the B and B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Alabama
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We stayed in the downstairs Garden room. Large and very nice. The hosts are very accommodating. There were two other couples there but when we reserved a week before they were empty so we had our choice of rooms. We stayed based on a Southern Living article recommendation.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkyGrandpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

The house is charming. We were there for two days. It was very quiet. We had the bluebird room. It had a private bathroom which had a small shower but was adequate. There was a larger shower in the hallway which we could share. The hosts do not live on site they live down the block which is different than other bed and breakfasts. They open the house up and you are free to roam it as you please. They booked us a tour of sapelo island and it was wonderful You should definitely do that if you can. We went to fort king george site very close by. Jekyll Island is near by and Savannah is about an hour away. We walked around Darien and everyone was so nice and kind. This is a great place to just chill out and relax.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iowaloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Open Gates is a lovely historical home that sits next to the largest square in Darien. It's a wonderful victorian home with large rooms. There are a few updates that are needed such as paint-normal wear. You can't be shy or impatient if you are sharing a bathroom upstairs with another room. Take a robe for sure if you are sharing! The owners are super nice and very flexible with large groups. Breakfast is wonderful!!! The pool could use a few chaise lounges and a trash can. Overall, the property is a great location for access to all the attractions in and around Darien.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiverDwn27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOCA RATON
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

The room was large and inviting. There was no one else staying there while we were visiting so we virtually had the house to ourselves. The area was loverly and quaint.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJPCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darien
2.4 mi away
Days Inn Darien
Days Inn Darien
#2 of 5 in Darien
3.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Darien-I-95
16.4 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#6 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#4 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
11.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Brunswick
2.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#1 of 5 in Darien
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Open Gates B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Open Gates B&B

Property: Open Gates B&B
Address: 301 Franklin St, Historic Vernon Square, Darien, GA 31305-9068
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Darien
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Darien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open Gates Bed and Breakfast, built in 1876 by a wealthy timber baron, is uniquely situated for nature-lovers, history buffs, birders, boaters, and outdoor enthusiasts wanting to experience one of the richest natural ecosystems in the world. We are a family run, nature-based business located in the small coastal village of Darien, Georgia. Located on historic Vernon Square, just one block from the shrimp boats on the Darien waterfront, Open Gates is surrounded by giant live oak and magnolia trees providing a private, relaxed atmosphere for your vacation getaway retreat, business trip or special event ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Open Gates B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing