We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Open Gates B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Darien
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Open Gates B&B
Ranked #1 of 3 Darien B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nicholls, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

My wife and I are staying here as I type. We have stayed in both the Garden Room and the Island Room. This place is amazing! The staff and other guests have been top notch and the rooms are amazing. You are walking disance from some quality eats and some great photo opps such as waterfowl managment areas, shrimp boats galore and several old churches and other buildings. A short drive to Ft, King George and Howfyl Plantation to boot! One of the best stays I have experienced, we will be coming back!

Room Tip: From what I can tell, the island room seems to be the largest, 2 beds and a full bath. Garden room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garanger1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    20
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
27
103
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

We have been staying in the Garden Room in October and enjoyed our first stay during our US vacation very much. Open Gates is very weel located between Savannah and the Golden Isles and that was why we have chosen this location as our base for some days. It is walking distance to a number of restaurants, so one can leave the car behind and walk along the river for a stroll.

Kelly seems to be a jack-of-all trades; always on the "go". But she and Jeff are present with advice and directions without watching every step you take. Actually, they do not live themselves at the property, so everything from kitchen to the livingrooms is left to the guests.

The good soul of the house is a lady from down the road (Stevie?), who also helps out in the Waterfront restaurant down the road. Always a different breakfast selection each day and lots of helpful advice.

The Garden Room itself (a former poker room!) was clean, quite spacious alsthough the high bed is taking for us Europeans some getting used to. Becaause of the distance from the main house, the Wifi signal was pretty weak, much better at the outside from the veranda.

The church next door was having some serious evening services while we where there. And with "Praise the Lord" the jet-lagged Europeans were put to sleep...

We would certainly return if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cityeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

My wife and I stayed here on a trip for our 29th anniversary in September 2012, where we visited both Cumberland and Sapelo Islands during our 3 night stay. We stayed in the Blue Bird room, which was very nice and comfortable. Jeff and Kelly were great hosts. It was like staying with friends, but you didn't feel like you were imposing at all. Joy was most accommodating with our breakfasts, and went well above the "call of duty" to make sure we had a delicious breakfast even on the morning we had to leave very early for Cumberland. Darien is a beautiful, quiet town, and a great place to visit. We would highly recommend Open Gate for a stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buckhead83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

We looked forward to our stay at Open Gates, but very disappointed in the condition of the room (Garden Room in the Carriage House) and lack of cleanliness. When trying to find an outlet for the laptop, I was shocked to see the filth behind the bedside table and headboard - very thick dust/dirt, even covering the wires - clearly had not been cleaned in a long time. The bathroom was in need of updating to the point that it felt dirty, rather than historic. We were charged extra for a toddler even though he slept with us and did not have breakfast. Although the website states they have free WiFi, it did not work in the Garden Room, nor did our cell phones (Verizon usually access everywhere). I was told to go outside - where one would get eaten alive by mosquitoes (not the fault of the Inn, but have never encountered so many mosquitoes..just trying to get into the car, it was filled with the things).
The one positive is that the bed was very comfortable.
I am sorry to leave a bad review - we do not usually review an Inn or Hotel unless we can give it 4 or 5 stars and I considered it carefully before writing this one, but this was so disappointing that potential guests should be warned.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RetiredNana08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpenGates, Owner at Open Gates B&B, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
We appreciate your review and your honesty. We have worked hard to address these issues and hope that you will give us another chance in the future. Again, thank you for your critique and feedback. Best wishes on your future travels. Kelly Spratt, owner, Open Gates B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

We drove up in front of this adorable house with welcoming lights in all the windows & Jeff was inside waiting for us. When we were ready he helped us unload our luggage from the car. As it was around 3PM, we were looking for an afternoon snack. Jeff informed us about the "cookie lady" across the street, So we went out seeking cookies. There was no sign. We just knocked on the door & inquired, "Is this were we get the cookies?" I felt like a neighborhood child, how fun! Then we headed back across the street & had our cookies on the front porch, yet more fun. Then we had some time in the pool, the fun never stops! Jeff helped us with directions for dinner. We slept very well in the comfy beds & in the morning we were served delicious waffles with fresh fruit & bacon on the side. Before we left in the morning Jeff gave us some advice for our travels which turned out to be most valuable. We can't recommend The Open Gates B&B enough!

Room Tip: We poked around upstairs & our room downstairs, "The Island Room", was the biggest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gee2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

My wife and I stay in a B and B at least 12 times a year. Open Gates is one of the best we have stayed in. The host, Kelly, was a pleasure to deal with. Our room was clean, the mattress very good. Kelly prepared an excellent FULL breakfast. We stayed in the Blue Room. We both have nothing to suggest to make this a better B and B. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Two of the rooms share a bath. The Islander Room looks like the best room in the B and B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Alabama
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

We stayed in the downstairs Garden room. Large and very nice. The hosts are very accommodating. There were two other couples there but when we reserved a week before they were empty so we had our choice of rooms. We stayed based on a Southern Living article recommendation.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkyGrandpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darien
2.4 mi away
Days Inn Darien
Days Inn Darien
#3 of 5 in Darien
3.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Darien-I-95
16.4 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#6 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#4 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
11.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Brunswick
2.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#1 of 5 in Darien
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Open Gates B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Open Gates B&B

Property: Open Gates B&B
Address: 301 Franklin St, Historic Vernon Square, Darien, GA 31305-9068
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Darien
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Darien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open Gates Bed and Breakfast, built in 1876 by a wealthy timber baron, is uniquely situated for nature-lovers, history buffs, birders, boaters, and outdoor enthusiasts wanting to experience one of the richest natural ecosystems in the world. We are a family run, nature-based business located in the small coastal village of Darien, Georgia. Located on historic Vernon Square, just one block from the shrimp boats on the Darien waterfront, Open Gates is surrounded by giant live oak and magnolia trees providing a private, relaxed atmosphere for your vacation getaway retreat, business trip or special event ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing