We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open Gates B&B
Nearby Hotels
US$67
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
US$137
Hampton.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Darien)(Great Value!)
US$66
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Darien)
US$87
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Brunswick(Brunswick)
US$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Brunswick)
US$75
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Brunswick)
US$85
QualityInn
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$58
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveller rating
168
21
2
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
168
21
2
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscrepesgarden roombed and breakfastbluebird roomeggs benedictold housefront porchwithin walking distancehouse is beautifulgreat chefdelicious breakfastfort king georgeneat placegreat linenssleepy townoutstanding foodowner chef
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
157 - 162 of 194 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We really loved this place - exactly what you want in a B&B. The owners were sweet, breakfast was great, bed was comfy and I loved the cool, refreshing pool waiting after a day trekking through Harris Neck refuge. We will definitely be back as it is a great location from which to explore the islands and refuges in the area. Highly recommend Indigo Coastal Shanty in Brunswick and Pams #1 near the B&B for food and great atmosphere/friendly service.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATLbaqtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Open Gates Bed and Breakfast and celebrated her birthday weekend in Darien. The weekend that we planned to stay was during the Blessing of the Fleet. We decided on staying here after visiting Darien in the Fall. Open Gates B&B had several rooms to choose from but we wanted to stay in the upper carriage house room which was secluded from the main home with it's own private entrance. This Bed and Breakfast also has an inground pool. Our hosts Jeff and Kelly were great as well as the other couples staying there as well. We enjoyed our homemade breakfast in the mornings and look forward to returning soon. A highly recommended place to stay!!

Room Tip: Carriage house room is secluded and private from main house.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stella O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

My husband and I stayed at Open Gates in March. Nice location on a pretty square within walking distance to a couple of good restaurants. Jeff was a gracious host - and the breakfasts were yummy. There are a lots of books and games in the library - and a private back yard. We particularly enjoyed breakfast with the other guests and were able to get ideas about sightseeing in the area. We'd stay there again. The rooms in the main house have all been updated. The Garden Room where we stayed was a bit more rustic - but very private. We'd stay there again!

Room Tip: There is a church in the square with bells that ring on the hour up until 10 p.m. If that's a concern - pick a room in the main house.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ADWestfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Just fabulous! Perfect location on the square in Darien surrounded by hundred year old live oak trees dripping with Spanish Moss. We've stayed in Darien before because it is convenient to I95 but far enough off the interstate for a night of restful tranquility. We hadn't seen this inn because it isn't on a main street and are grateful we found it on TA because it was such a nice experience. Stayed in the Island Room which was really gorgeous. Big beautiful king sized bed in an oasis of turquoise board and batten walls. The inn is within walking distance of a couple of very nice restaurants which is definitely a plus. Darien is low key and unpretentious, a lovely, sleepy little southern town. This is an excellent inn, good value for money, very friendly innkeepers and wonderful breakfast. We will definitely visit again and next time stay longer.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Salt Water Diva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

My wife and I are staying here as I type. We have stayed in both the Garden Room and the Island Room. This place is amazing! The staff and other guests have been top notch and the rooms are amazing. You are walking disance from some quality eats and some great photo opps such as waterfowl managment areas, shrimp boats galore and several old churches and other buildings. A short drive to Ft, King George and Howfyl Plantation to boot! One of the best stays I have experienced, we will be coming back!

Room Tip: From what I can tell, the island room seems to be the largest, 2 beds and a full bath. Garden room is seperate from the main house if you prefer a little more privacy.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garanger1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews