We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Open Gates B&B stands for: B=Best Bed I ever slept in & B=Best Breakfast Ever”
Review of Open Gates B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Open Gates B&B
Ranked #1 of 3 Darien B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Open Gates B&B stands for: B=Best Bed I ever slept in & B=Best Breakfast Ever”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My wife and I spend the weekend at this fabulous Bed & Breakfast. We stayed in the upper level room in the back, the bed was so comfortable we did not want to get up in the morning and spend our days looking forward to retiring at night, then we had breakfast one our first morning' oh my god shrimp crab cakes with eggs Benedict on top and home made cinnamon buns, to die for. Breakfast day two home made French toast stuffed with cream cheese, like wow man. Best Bed and Breakfast EVER

Room Tip: They are all better then good, they are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    20
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
28
106
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eagle, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Staying at Open Gates B&B in Darien, GA is like stepping back 200 yrs in time. You are in a place where history and good taste intersect. We stayed here because we didn't want to be in the midst of a big city and wanted to slow down and relax for a few days. This was the perfect place. Darien has so much interesting history from the Tabby Ruins of the pre-Civil War era preserved in its downtown area to it's place as a main timber shipping port. The waterfront and location in the extensive and fertile marshlands of coastal Georgia make it a scenic oasis away from metropolitan madness.
Zach and Carrie are so personable, helpful and welcoming they are like old friends you've known forever. Zach's wonderful and original breakfasts are delicious and decadent and fuel you for a good portion of the day. There are excellent options for dinner also. We ate at the Darien Riverhouse (unbelievably good cuisine for such a small town) and Skipper's Fish Camp (a comfortable neat place with good food and a great river view). This was not the end of the dining opportunities.
We had a great time exploring the Harris Neck NWR and the old city of Savannah, but will need another trip to see St. Simons and Jekyll Islands. We'll definitely stay at Open Gates with Zach and Carrie again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abcallahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Gilead, North Carolina, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I had never been to Darien and the website for Darien got my attention. When looking for a B&B, the website for Open Gates came up. I love grand old houses and this B&B offered the services of a chef. That really got my attention. I was not disappointed with the accommodations, the service or the breakfasts. The location was peaceful, beautiful square, and walking distance to the waterfront area. There was a wine bar and excellent waterfront restaurant within easy walking distance. The owners of the B&B are delightful. I was fortunate to find such a treasure. Jekyll Island is less than an hour south and it is one of the most beautiful beaches you will ever see.This area of Georgia is full of history and there's lots to see.

Room Tip: the Island room downstairs is large, and brightly furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

The owners are very nice, vibrant and helpful! They are also updating some of the rooms and they will be amazing once try are done. If you are looking for a small town with a lot of charm and within walking distance to everything this is the place. There are also a couple of great bars and restaraunts in the area including a fantastic wine bar. The locals are also amazing people and love to join you for a drink or to tell you about their history. Can't wait to visit again soon!! It's southern hospitality at its best!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cmschenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We loved staying here. Breakfast was good and the people are very nice and helpful. We stayed in the room detached from the house. Next time we will stay in the house in the Isand Room down stairs. It is lovely. We are at tne Darien River House which is a 5 minute walk. I felt like I was back in the days. I loved it. We went bike riding too. It was fun.Pool was great too.

Room Tip: Up stairs rooms are nice. I would stay there or in the down stairs room, The Island room...lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KATHALEENA6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We really loved this place - exactly what you want in a B&B. The owners were sweet, breakfast was great, bed was comfy and I loved the cool, refreshing pool waiting after a day trekking through Harris Neck refuge. We will definitely be back as it is a great location from which to explore the islands and refuges in the area. Highly recommend Indigo Coastal Shanty in Brunswick and Pams #1 near the B&B for food and great atmosphere/friendly service.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATLbaqtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orange
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Open Gates Bed and Breakfast and celebrated her birthday weekend in Darien. The weekend that we planned to stay was during the Blessing of the Fleet. We decided on staying here after visiting Darien in the Fall. Open Gates B&B had several rooms to choose from but we wanted to stay in the upper carriage house room which was secluded from the main home with it's own private entrance. This Bed and Breakfast also has an inground pool. Our hosts Jeff and Kelly were great as well as the other couples staying there as well. We enjoyed our homemade breakfast in the mornings and look forward to returning soon. A highly recommended place to stay!!

Room Tip: Carriage house room is secluded and private from main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stella O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darien
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Darien
Comfort Inn Darien
#2 of 5 in Darien
159 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Darien-I-95
2.4 mi away
Days Inn Darien
Days Inn Darien
#4 of 5 in Darien
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#2 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
597 reviews
16.4 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#7 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
509 reviews
9.4 mi away
Courtyard Brunswick
Courtyard Brunswick
#3 of 36 in Brunswick
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Open Gates B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Open Gates B&B

Property: Open Gates B&B
Address: 301 Franklin St, Historic Vernon Square, Darien, GA 31305-9068
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Darien
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Darien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Open Gates B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open Gates Bed and Breakfast, built in 1876 by a wealthy timber baron, is uniquely situated for nature-lovers, history buffs, birders, boaters, and outdoor enthusiasts wanting to experience one of the richest natural ecosystems in the world. We are a family run, nature-based business located in the small coastal village of Darien, Georgia. Located on historic Vernon Square, just one block from the shrimp boats on the Darien waterfront, Open Gates is surrounded by giant live oak and magnolia trees providing a private, relaxed atmosphere for your vacation getaway retreat, business trip or special event ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Open Gates B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing