We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stop”
Review of Open Gates B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Open Gates B&B
Ranked #1 of 3 Darien B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place to stop”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

and recharge. Cool and quiet. Love that there are no TVs. Great brekky and company. Nice dinner at River House. Island room lovely and spacious. Ridiculous that Trip Advisor won't post until I have written 200 characters. No, really, it's stupid.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank llcherington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    20
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
27
104
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

There are three requirements for a great B&B. A great bed, obviously, a great breakfast, obviously, and a great host. Open Gates has all three! Conveniently located in a quaint old square, the house is just what a B&B should be - a little rustic for authenticity but very clean, well furnished, and comfortable. The host Zach, was flawless. Always there when we needed info or suggestions, but totally non-intrusive. So, the first two requirements were met. Now to breakfast. Zach, our host, is also a chef. Breakfasts were absolutely awesome! Eggs Benedict, crepes (I discovered that real men can eat crepes!) fresh fruit plates, banana bread - and more!

An absolutely wonderful experience and we heartily recommend this great B&B.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room with a separate entrance. It was perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N. C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The pictures on the website do not portray the current lodgings. Perhaps they were taken at a previous time and with prior ownership. Unfortunately it would appear that the new ownership has not had the time (or money?) to invest to bring the facilities up to standards seasoned travelers expect. Unpatched and unpainted holes in the walls ( albeit smallish), rusted fixtures, sloppy paint jobs, unkept landscapes, all negate the experience of staying here.

It's going to require much more $$ and man hours to bring the house and grounds up to levels most people expect. We won't be coming back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zachariah R, Owner at Open Gates B&B, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
We are so sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We have constantly been redoing the property since we have taken over and did not have time to update the pictures on the website before your arrival, as it was the day before. We bought the property 9 months ago and yes it does take time to update this 138 year old home and we are working overtime to get it done. As for the landscape we have spent months in the yard cleaning it up and redoing the grounds but unfortunately this time of year it is hard to keep up with the fallen leaves from our beautiful Magnolia trees especially after the rain storm we had before your visit. Again we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and wish you would have let us known so we could have moved you to a room we renovated fully. We will continue to strive to improve this beautiful historic home as we are new owners and have a fresh new love for the property. Kindest Regards,
Zach & Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYork City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This is a wonderful place. I loved the house and the people. Big airy rooms with floor to ceiling windows! We had a room on the main floor just off the wooden "day" room so a nice suite. People were lovely too and very dedicated. Enjoy.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluffton, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My wife and I traveled by boat with another couple from Bluffton, SC to Darien , Ga to stay at the Open Gate. We arrived at the public docks on the beautiful Darien River to a Sean of picturesque shrimp boats and old tabby ruins as a back drop. Zack the owner met us at the docks and took our bags so that we could walk the two blocks through the historic missed draped southern riverside town to the inn. Zack never seemed rushed in showing us around and giving tips on sites to see and places to eat. The breakfast was excellent and we met a nice family from Germany. Sacked helped me get gas before boarding the boat and returning home. He and his wife were great host.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayriver2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Anyone who gives an Englishman a cup of tea at 4 o'clock makes a friend and this is what Zac did for us when we stayed at his lovely house in gorgeous Vernon Square in Darien, Georgia.
Along with the tea came some freshly made cookies - made by a master. Zac has just won the best B&B breakfast award. From the welcoming bottle of beer to the final farewell, nothing was too much trouble for him. We had a great time, thanks.

Room Tip: Go for the Island Room on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Garden, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

We are so glad we picked Open Gates for my wife's birthday weekend. Zach and Carrie were excellent hosts and made our stay so easy and comfortable that we will definitely be back soon. To top it all off Zach made us his award winning breakfast, the sweet stuffed crepe cigars, on our last day there. You can find the recipe and photos on their web page. We highly recommend Open Gates for a peaceful retreat or maybe just a haven off I - 95 for travelers with a day or two to unwind and decompress!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Barnett W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darien
2.4 mi away
Days Inn Darien
Days Inn Darien
#2 of 5 in Darien
3.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Darien-I-95
16.4 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#6 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#4 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
11.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Brunswick
2.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#1 of 5 in Darien
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Open Gates B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Open Gates B&B

Property: Open Gates B&B
Address: 301 Franklin St, Historic Vernon Square, Darien, GA 31305-9068
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Darien
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Darien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open Gates Bed and Breakfast, built in 1876 by a wealthy timber baron, is uniquely situated for nature-lovers, history buffs, birders, boaters, and outdoor enthusiasts wanting to experience one of the richest natural ecosystems in the world. We are a family run, nature-based business located in the small coastal village of Darien, Georgia. Located on historic Vernon Square, just one block from the shrimp boats on the Darien waterfront, Open Gates is surrounded by giant live oak and magnolia trees providing a private, relaxed atmosphere for your vacation getaway retreat, business trip or special event ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Open Gates B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing