We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super comfortable bed, excellent library, beautiful house”
Review of Open Gates B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Open Gates B&B
Ranked #1 of 3 Darien B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Miami
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Super comfortable bed, excellent library, beautiful house”
Reviewed 13 January 2011

My husband had business nearby so we stayed for 2 nights at Open Gates. I only wish we had more time to do all the interesting things nearby. We'll definitely return for pleasure.

We stayed in the room on the ground floor of the main house. The bed was so unbelievably comfortable and lush. The sheets were soft as can be. The pillows were fluffy and luxurious. A heavenly sleep.

The house itself is beautiful. It is very spacious and tastefully decorated. An amazing library stocked with all kinds of interesting books - books about local history, books about birds, novels, guidebooks, etc. I was there while my husband worked and, unfortunately it rained the whole day and it was pretty cold outside. But I spent a wonderful, relaxing day reading their books in the library.

In addition to the library, which has a tv, there is a lovely living room which is nice to sit in and have a chat with friends or just sit and listen to music. And then there is the elegant dining room, where delicious breakfasts are served. And also tea and yummy cake available pretty much all day. Oh, and don't forget the wine in the decanter in the library - a really nice touch.

The house is centrally located in that you are a 5 minute walk away from several restaurants and a wine bar. And you are also a 5 minute walk away from the waterfront with a nice view of the marsh and the shrimp boats.

I learned that there are several interesting things to do in the area. If we had the time we could have taken a trip to Sapelo Island or gone kayaking in the Altamaha river. As it was, we did make it to Fort King George, which is interesting historically and right in Darien.

All in all we had an excellent stay at Open Gates and we highly recommend the house for anybody considering a trip to the Georgia coast. And if you are a birder, you'll fit right in!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    20
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
28
106
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2010

We recently stayed at this bed and breakfast for a short break along the Georgia Coast. The hosts were so pleasant and saw to our every need. The house is gorgeous, built in 1876, and was decorated for the holiday season which only added to its charm. Our bedroom was spacious, clean and the bed was SO comfortable. Breakfast was a full meal that lasted us way into the afternoon. We'll definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wordsmith55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, GA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2010

Open Gates is on a beautiful square, walking distance from the waterfront and good restaurants. The bed was one of the most comfortable we've slept in, with soft sheets. We enjoyed a glass of wine in the library while perusing books about the history of the GA coast. Breakfast was delicious. The innkeepers are delightful and made us feel at home. The saltwater pool was a treat for us. We look forward to another visit.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WileyDogSavannah_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2010

It's difficult to tell what is more charming, the small village of Darien or Open Gates B&B. They both won our hearts. We had looked for a place just off the Interstate, planning to spend just one night. But this was so special that we lingered on for an extra day, the highlight of a recent 12-day roadtrip. Gracious hosts, comfortable accomodations, gorgeous property. In the evening before walking to a nearby excellent restaurant (River House), sit on the front porch swing and sip a glass of wine, while looking at the village square with its fountain and azaleas and oaks covered with Spanish Moss, and listening to the church-bells chime. There's a timeless peace about this place that will make you want to return again and again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbchrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2010

My Wife and I have visited Open Gates many times and we will keep coming back !. We love Darien and Open Gates. We were just there this April (we live in Atlanta) with our Son, his wife and our youngest son and as usual had a great time. We have stayed at B&B's in the US Canada and Europe and Kelly and Jeff are the best. They are always warm and friendly, Jeff's breakfasts excellent, beds super comfortable (only my own bed is better :) and the old late 1800 house is beautiful. We love the Library and to stay in the Blue Bird Room when and if it's available. Both Kelly and Jeff are trained Naturalists and Biologists and will always go the extra mile in giving you information and pointing you to the best experience on Sapelo, St Simons or Jekyll Islands. BTW: That earlier negative review about showing up and not having a room - It's his own fault for not giving his credit card number to hold it - Those are the rules everywhere you stay. A small businessperson can't afford to hold a room and then have a no show. It's his own fault !

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inkling51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2010

The owner was friendly enough, but the accommodations did not appear to be well-kept. The breakfast, was average, at best. The swimming pool, which we didn't use, did, in fact, look welcoming. Certainly, it was overpriced.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank all1rac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Open Gates B&B, responded to this review, 5 June 2010
Jeff and I love our business and pour our heart and soul into it every single day. I am extremely sorry that you did not have a positive experience at our B&B and wish you had brought any short-comings to our attention immediately. Our guests entertain us, educate us, and bring their unique worlds into our own. We treasure our time with each of them and look forward to getting to know them all. Those who have been staying with us regularly for the past 10 years have watched our children grow, encouraged me in my political campaigns, and become like family. Although it is impossible to please everyone and discouraging when we get a negative review, it only makes us work harder. Darien and Open Gates are not for everyone. But for those willing to get to know us and our town, we offer a unique experience that can't be found anywhere else in the world. We hope that you will give us another try again in the future.
--Kelly Spratt, Owner Open Gates B&B and Mayor of Darien, GA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonaire, GA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2010

My husband and I traveled to Darien and it was the perfect getaway! Open Gates is a beautiful historic Bed and Breakfast set on a square surrounded by live oaks and other historic homes. the innkeepers, Jeff and Kelly, are unbelievably friendly and helpful. Upon making our reservations I mentioned that I was interested in touring Sapelo Island. Kelly made reservations for my husband and I to go on a private tour with a woman from the island. the tour was so informative and fun. We preferred the oneo n one attention we received from our tour guide compared to the Island's other tour ran by the state. Open Gates has a fantastic library filled with books about the local area. My husband I I enjoyed sitting in the library reading while enjoying a glass of complimentary wine. We stayed in the Bluebird Room which was very comfortable and spacious with it's own private bath. the bed was very comfortable. the breakfasts Jeff made for us were delicious! Jeff and Kelly recommended a local restuarant, Darien River House Restuarant, which was out of this world delicious and within walking distance from the B&B. Another place where we enjoyed eating was the Purple Pickle, also within walking distance. If you are in the area looking for a place to stay, you HAVe to stay at Open Gates! :)

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alc9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darien
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Darien-I-95
14.2 mi away
Best Western Plus St. Simons
Best Western Plus St. Simons
#6 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
109 reviews
16.4 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#7 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 5 in Darien
159 reviews
22.3 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#4 of 9 in Jekyll Island
721 reviews
13.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simons Island
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simon...
#1 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Open Gates B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Open Gates B&B

Property: Open Gates B&B
Address: 301 Franklin St, Historic Vernon Square, Darien, GA 31305-9068
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Darien
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Darien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Open Gates B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open Gates Bed and Breakfast, built in 1876 by a wealthy timber baron, is uniquely situated for nature-lovers, history buffs, birders, boaters, and outdoor enthusiasts wanting to experience one of the richest natural ecosystems in the world. We are a family run, nature-based business located in the small coastal village of Darien, Georgia. Located on historic Vernon Square, just one block from the shrimp boats on the Darien waterfront, Open Gates is surrounded by giant live oak and magnolia trees providing a private, relaxed atmosphere for your vacation getaway retreat, business trip or special event ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Open Gates B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing