We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A true Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Darien Waterfront Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Darien
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Darien Waterfront Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Darien B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A true Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

While driving from the florida keys to Massachusetts, very sought out a few nice areas to stop a little out of the oridinary. If you have already stopped In Savannah and Charlston, give this little town of Darien a chance. Instead of staying in the typical Days inn or similar we choose to stay at at The Darien Waterfront Inn. It was a little bit more $ but defiantly worth it. Joanne was a great hostess and Made a yummy breakfast, even accommodating my gluten free palate at the last minute. My husband loved the sweet potato pancakes!

The inn has several cute rooms and it has a very homey open feel.
Nearby there are good restaurants and the waterfront area boasted nice southern charm .
A great area to walk around and explore the history of Darien.
We look forward to coming back !!!

Tory and Donny Fait

Room Tip: I did not mean to check the fitness center
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Torypf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    36
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
91
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Darien Waterfront Inn during a recent long weekend in the area. The inn is in a great location, right next to a pretty good restaurant (Skipper's), a wine bar and some small local shops. JoAnn was a fantastic hostess, very friendly. Breakfast was different each morning and delicious. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The only thing about the room that we didn't like was the TV. It's an old TV and not really visible from the bed. Since the weather was so bad we ended up spending more time in the room and a flat screen TV that we could see from the bed would have been really nice. Of course, that's a minor thing and just our opinion. Also, the walls are pretty thin between rooms and it's easy to hear the people in the rooms next to you.

I'd definitely recommend the Darien Waterfront Inn if you're looking for a B & B in the area.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ColeH77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Love this fabulous inn tucked off I 95 between Savannah and Jacksonville. Joann, the owner, pays attention to details. All rooms are updated, fresh, and super clean. Great wine and gourmet food store next door along with Skippers Fish Camp restaurant. Will ALWAYS return to Darien Waterfront Inn!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie60845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

A pleasant 2 night stay, Joanne was pleasant and helpful, Her breakfasts were just right! Home cooked blueberry pancakes, great mini quiche and fresh fruit each morning. We enjoyed supper at the local seafood restaurant just out the back door.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank justme4844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed the night here on our way home. Our room was decorated in Gone with the wind theme. Water jug with Tervis cups awaited us. Joanne served us french toast , bacon and fruit cups for breakfast. We ate with her dad who was delightful! The town had a sidewalk sale going on. Crafts and goodies from the locals can be purchased here. This is a great little Inn and I would recommend it to all!!

Room Tip: Be sure to check out the Purple Pickle.....Great food and people!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morganton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

On recent trip to GA coast birding, the inn was a pleasant place to stay. The long deck by the water was a good place to watch sunsets and birds. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Good restaurants are a short walk away. The owner was helpful with local info.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Julia353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newnan, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

The Darian Waterfront Inn is a great place to stay for seafood and quiet times. Service was the best. Perfect place to stay while visiting the Islands where you can leave the crowds and traffic behind you for a quiet retreat. I highly recomend it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Tara room. It was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jeff g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darien
2.3 mi away
Days Inn Darien
Days Inn Darien
#2 of 5 in Darien
3.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Darien-I-95
16.4 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#5 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
#1 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
20.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
2.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#1 of 5 in Darien
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darien Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darien Waterfront Inn

Property: Darien Waterfront Inn
Address: 201 Broad St, Darien, GA 31305-8805
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Darien
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Darien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are not your ordinary inn. Sitting at the end of historic Broad Street, we are situated in a 75-year-old warehouse that boast a riverfront porch spanning our establishment from end-to-end. A few feet from the Darien Development Authority boat docks, you can launch your kayak or take a rest on your journey up-or-down the Intracoastal Waterway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Darien Waterfront Hotel Darien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing