We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low Country Oasis”
Review of Blue Heron Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Heron Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Darien B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My wife and I found the Blue Heron while searching online for a place to stay in Darien. We had planned a trip to tour Sapelo Island and this was the perfect place for us to stay. The Blue Heron in is only a few minutes from the Ferry and it is located on a beautiful marsh. We really enjoyed the hospitality and the breakfast we had during our stay was excellent, make sure to try the sweet potato pancakes, the best I ever had, just don't tell my wife!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
There are newer reviews for Blue Heron Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

We were warmly welcomed and felt "at home" during our stay at the Blue Heron Inn. The accommodations were excellent and the breakfasts were wonderful. We will stay again in the future. The view from the balcony of the deck of the marsh leads toward Sapelo Island. The host and hostess gave us plenty of space, but always made themselves available for questions (and knew the answers) about the area restaurants and things to do and see.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FJHSRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Let me say that the Blue Heron Inn is in a wonderful location, the interior was very nice, clean, and the hosts were MORE than accommodating in making us an early breakfast so we could catch our plane! We had to unexpectedly shorten our stay due to a death in the family. Jan and Bill were very understanding and worked with us and did not charge us for the additional nights we had planned to stay.
That being said, when my wife and I walked the grounds, we were rather disappointed. The porch needed much repair as did some of the outdoor furniture. The grounds needed some TLC, and we were surprised but what was lying around. I would certainly recommend the inn, but hope that the outdoor space will be improved upon.

Room Tip: Top floor room was very nice.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terri_Greg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This B & B is a cut above. My wife, 12-year-old son, and I spent several days here. The excellent hospitality began the moment we drove up and lasted until we received a sincere "farewell" from Bill, one of the gracious owners.

The accommodations in the "Shell Seeker" room were very comfortable. The view out of two large sliding glass doors was over the pristine marsh leading toward historic and beautiful Sapelo Island. An enormous deck, tastefully decorated in a variety of attractive potted plants and bird feeders, was just outside of these doors. Outdoor seating was abundant and comfortable. Three small docks overlooked the salt marsh. Our favorite featured a porch swing and plenty of shade from which to view water fowl and other wildlife.

Each morning we were greeted with an outstanding and truly beautiful breakfast, complete with fresh fruit, coffee, a selection of juices, and many types of tea. It was a real treat to see what we would be presented with each morning. Homemade buttermilk pancakes, French toast with a hint of lime, sweet potato pancakes, and an excellent breakfast quiche are examples, along with scrambled eggs and bacon.

The hosts gave us plenty of space, yet they were always there for our questions concerning local attractions, restaurants, and recommendations of things we might have otherwise missed. Also, their collection of books on local history, literature, and many other topics is expansive and useful.

This is an excellent place for a vacation, or just a quick getaway.

Room Tip: We did not see any other rooms, but the Shell Seeker room was very spacious and comfortable.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We are a family of five and stayed in the marchhouse. It was awesome. Huge house with a wonderful view, big poarch, quiet and just lovely. We hope to come back! We would for sure- it is just the very long trip from Switzerland that might hold us back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This is one of our all-time favorite places to stay! The location is great, the breakfast is amazing, and the rooms are so comfortable. Bill and Jan were so helpful with our questions about kayaking, places to eat, etc. We hope to make this at least an annual trip!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgiatrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Jan & Bill were great hosts. We were invited to their Saturday night bonfire and ended up taking the kayaks out (you can use their boats while your staying) on a moon-tide midnight adventure with their neighbors as our guides, this was a highlight on our trip. The day long trip to Sapelo Island was another highlight, Jan & Bill hooked us up w/ Ceasar & Betty Banks who gave us a personalized tour and then let us spend the afternoon on the almost vacant, pristine Sapelo Beach The Blue Heron room was spacious, the bedding wonderful, the breakfasts were great and we had an amazing view from our private deck. Don't wait, book a room now.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darien
6.9 mi away
Days Inn Darien
Days Inn Darien
#2 of 5 in Darien
622 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Darien-I-95
6.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 5 in Darien
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#2 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
622 reviews
22.6 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#5 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
590 reviews
7.8 mi away
Open Gates B&B
Open Gates B&B
#1 of 3 in Darien
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Heron Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Inn

Address: 1346 Blue Heron Ln SE, Darien, GA 31305-5438
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Darien
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Darien
Price Range: £85 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Sapelo Island,Blue Heron Inn, a Georgia coast bed and breakfast, This water front property is ideal for bird watchers and nature lovers. The inn is about a mile and a half from the Sapelo Ferry Dock, eight miles from exit 58 on Interstate 95 and eight miles from Darien (exit 49). Guest rooms open to breath taking, panoramic views of marsh, estuaries and Georgia's barrier islands leading to the inter-coastal waterway and Sapelo Island. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing