We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hosts; amazing porch!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Heron Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Darien
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Heron Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Darien B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful hosts; amazing porch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Really enjoyed my overnight here. Very friendly, accommodating, comfortable, peaceful. Best part was just sitting out on a screened in porch watching birds (I'm not a birder; but I did see a painted bunting and an orchard oriole).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RalphJ24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    22
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
34
175
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pine Mountain, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We could have asked for a more relaxing and beautiful place to stay.Jan & Bill saw to our every need and more. Local flavor at it's best. We will stay again & again when we visit the area. Already recommended to our friends!! Breakfast's were 5 star++++ Sunrises & sunsets are breathtaking. Love it Love it! Well worth the $$$

Room Tip: Off the beaten path so you can unwind, unplug and relax
See more room tips
Green Features: Very eco-friendly loved their policies & practices
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RDameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Auburn, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our night stay with Jan and Bill - with B&B's you're never sure how "starchy" or uncomfortable you might feel (thinking of one UK experience!), but at the Blue Heron the laid back, friendly, "come as you are, do as you please" manner was great for creating a relaxing mood. Add the special location on the marsh with the sunset and sunrise, birds on the feeder, nice walking backroads, kayaking option, all were remarkable and memorable. We shall return!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobo967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockbridge, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

It really did feel as if we had gone to visit a close family member on our first trip to the Blue Heron Inn. The room was beautiful, well designed, and offered a broad view of the Georgia marsh. Bill and Jan made us feel very welcome and at ease. The layout of the large house invites exploration and in every room there are great views out windows and beautiful furnishings inside. Each room has its own access to a large deck from which you can relax and enjoy a great view of the marsh, It is a wonderful place to bird watch or simply enjoy the view. Breakfasts were artfully prepared and a joy to consume. I look forward to returning to this wonderful place.

Room Tip: Third floor room is a gem if you don't mind stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perry, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

My wife and I stayed two nights at the Blue Heron in April. What a treat! The hosts were amazing. Bill let us borrow his kayaks to paddle the marsh one day and we twisted Jan's arm for her recipes. The sun rose right over the marsh each morning and we watched it from our beautiful balcony. Bill has done an incredible job with the plants. We will be back!!

Ben Thompson

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sea Farer on the third floor. Private balcony was awesome
See more room tips
Green Features: Jan and Bill are very "eco-friendly". Loved Jan's bird pictures.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Blue Heron Inn for the second time this past weekend, and it was a very nice stay again. Bill has been keeping the grounds beautiful with all of the different kinds of foliage everywhere. Jan provides a delightful breakfast every morning. And by the way that they provide service, you can tell that they aren't just doing it for business' sake; they do it because they do really care about the folks who come.

Sassy the dog is great, too. We got in late on Saturday and wanted to go to the Saturday night bonfire that Bill builds, and when we walked to the back of the house, Sassy was there as if on cue to walk us through the brush and to the fire site.

Thanks, Bill and Jan. We definitely plan on being back sometime.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are cozy and private, but the Sea Farer room is perhaps more private than the rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjmcclendon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocklawaha, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Blue Heron so much! The Inn is a little piece of paradise. Quiet surroundings, beautiful rooms and delicious breakfast each morning. Jan and Bill were so sweet and helpful with suggestions about things to see and places to dine. We hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darcy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darien
6.9 mi away
Days Inn Darien
Days Inn Darien
#3 of 5 in Darien
3.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Darien-I-95
22.6 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#3 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Brunswick
22.8 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#6 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
7.0 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#1 of 5 in Darien
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Heron Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Inn

Property: Blue Heron Inn
Address: 1346 Blue Heron Ln SE, Darien, GA 31305-5438
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Darien
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Darien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Sapelo Island,Blue Heron Inn, a Georgia coast bed and breakfast, This water front property is ideal for bird watchers and nature lovers. The inn is about a mile and a half from the Sapelo Ferry Dock, eight miles from exit 58 on Interstate 95 and eight miles from Darien (exit 49). Guest rooms open to breath taking, panoramic views of marsh, estuaries and Georgia's barrier islands leading to the inter-coastal waterway and Sapelo Island. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing