We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the view, not the food”

Amicalola Falls State Park Lodge Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 73 Restaurants in Dawsonville
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Buffet, Reservations
Jensen Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
112 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“For the view, not the food”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Amicalola Falls and the State Park are beautiful, the Lodge restaurant has magnificent long range mountain views. The buffet is the quality equivalent of a Golden Corral. Enjoy the views from the restaurant, have the buffet because its there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Manager at Amicalola Falls State Park Lodge Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your review and we appreciate your business. We will look at our buffet options and continue to make improvements on selections. Suggestions and request are welcome, we also have comment cards available, for returning diners suggestions/request.

Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    92
    83
    42
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clarksville, Maryland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I was part of 35-person group, so that is a particular challenge and so my experience may not be representative. I found the food to be mediocre...adequate, but nothing to write home about. Generally, the food was overcooked and under-spiced. The salmon was particularly disappointing. The spanicopita was particularly good. Vegetarian choices were very limited. The views are world class. The dinning room was a bit dark and dated given the breathtaking view. This place deserves to have 5 star food. I hope they improve the food when they do the upcoming renovations. Modernize your food. It needs to be special, fresh, and beautiful in presentation.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SamiSay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Manager at Amicalola Falls State Park Lodge Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we apologize that your experience was not exceptional. We will continue to improve the buffet service for small meetings and events. Moving forward, we will add more vegetarian options to the buffet selections.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice place with a great view ”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

This is a very nice lodge with a nice restaurant.

The restaurant has a fantastic view of the mountains. The service was friendly and the food was good. The lunch buffet was $12.95.

They also had a nice selection of sandwiches and salads on the menu.

Helpful?
2 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Manager at Amicalola Falls State Park Lodge Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for joining us at the Maple Restuarant and we are happy that you had a good experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumming, Georgia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food Not Good”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We had the misfortune of eating the buffet at the place yesterday. I really did not want to pay that horrible price of $16.95, drink nor included, but we went ahead. The buffet was very small and not much choses. The red potatoes were so over done they were like mush, the so called prime rib waas like think slices of tasteless meat covered with some kind of white sauce. My husband tried the salmon and only took one bit. The desserts looked kind of good but was dissappointed in them also. We ask for a cup of coffee afterwards and they even charged for that when most places give it free. This was my first time eating there and it will be my last. Do not waste your hard earned money on this stuff. Sure wish I had our $55.00 back.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GERI P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Manager at Amicalola Falls State Park Lodge Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
We appreciate your feedback about your experience at the Maple Restuarant. We will continue to review all guest comments to implement improvements in our food and beverage services, at Amicalola Falls State Park and Lodge. Our goal is to deliver consistent and exceptional customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
126 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Stopped here for a late lunch after climbing the stairs to the top of the falls. The setting is nice, and the view from the restaurant is beautiful.

However, the food is just okay (very marginal), and staff varied from disengaged to gruff. On Sunday there is a buffet until 3:00pm, and menu service afterwards. We got there about 2:45 and our waiter seemed to be angry that we decided to wait for menu service rather than eat from a buffet that had been out for 4 hours.

My mom had a spinach salad and each piece of spinach had a stem 2 or 3 inches long. It was like they just dumped it out of a bag into the bowl without any prep. My three cheese turkey club was soggy, and the fries very under cooked.

Go if you're really hungry, but you'd be better off with a picnic lunch or grabbing fast food on the drive home.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AFL95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Manager at Amicalola Falls State Park Lodge Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your valuable service feedback and we have addressed the service concerns. The menu is offered everyday and we apologize for your experience. We hope that you will try us again.

Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amicalola Falls State Park Lodge Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Amicalola Falls State Park Lodge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing