We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Dawsonville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Had a nice stay in a comfortable room! The front desk assisted always with a smile! The only drawback is that there are 2 floors and no elevator! I will definitely ask for a room on the 1st floor next time!!Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the first floor if you don't want to haul luggage up the stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank youbutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shelbyda, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Thank you for the great review! Our staff loves to hear when we've done a good job.

And you are correct about the 2nd floor. If you'll request a 1st floor room during your reservation, we'll do everything we can to make sure it happens.

At the very least our front desk staff is always willing to help carry luggage up and down the stairs!

Sincerely,

Shelby Harris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2013

John & Kathy were helpful. These room were not cheap even with AAA rates. Decent place to stay. They are pet friendly. Slight issue with keys & phone but readily fixed by management. Shared hotel with construction crews. Breakfast not exceptional I would stick with cereal or coffee & a bagel. This Inn is close to Amicalola falls which is a must do & see.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shelbyda, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Thank you, Valerie, for the review. It seems that you found our hotel merely adequate, and we want to be exceptional, so we certainly appreciate your feedback.

You aren't the only recent guest who found our breakfast mediocre, and we're working on some improvements, so hopefully it'll be delicious when you come back!

We are very glad to hear that our staff was helpful. We like to think of our guests not as customers, but as friends. We hope you feel right at home and comfortable here.

We look forward to serving you again! See you soon.

Sincerely,

Shelby Harris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The rooms are not clean and the desk workers are usually found outside smoking.
The bathtub, whirlpool type, was so nasty I would not even bathe in it.
The motel is conveniently located just off GA 400 near the outlet mall and convenient to downtown Dawsonville. However, there are better, cleaner motels just down the road. This one is really below standard.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shelbyda, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

June 9, 2013

Please accept my personal apology for the condition of the bathtub in your room. I inspected it myself after reading this review, and you are correct that it was unacceptable. It has since been cleaned correctly, and I hope you will give us another opportunity to impress you.

I know first impressions are powerful, but your room was an exception. It was truly below our standards.

I have spoken with our housekeeping staff about this particular style of bathtub, so that this will not be an issue again.

Also, as a manager, I try to accommodate both our guests and our staff, so I allow them generous "smoke breaks." However, we have discussed it and reiterated that our first priority is always the guest.

We all hope that when you come back this way, you'll give us another try, because we believe we are the best hotel in the area, regardless of price. We take pride in ourselves, our work, and our hotel. When we fail, we like to make it right.

Sincerely,

Shelby Harris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We were in the area & picked this hotel because of of the location and it was listed as a Choice Privileges location to build my points. I am also AAA so I was looking for the best deal. I had also researched my choice with TripAdvisor & ChoicePrivileges web. I needed something close to Amicalola Falls area. The location of this property is good. Around 20-25 miles from Amicalola Falls. There is also a Tanger Outlets across the street. Restaurants are near by for a lunch or evening meal. Not much for breakfast. This is an average place to stay. There was a few issues.
Shower stall & bath tub did not look clean and sanitary to take a bath-Just took shower. The inroom refrigerator ran all nite long with loud noises coming from it all nite long. Paperthin walls with no insulation. Could hear noise from other rooms all nite long. Could hear doors slamming and could hear conversations thru walls. No elevator. Not good when you are carring lugage from bottom floor to second. All rooms are inside entrance. Makes long haul when carring everthing upstairs including cooler. Breakfast was terrible. They only had one waffle machine & it was not matienced properly. No spray for the waffle iron so everyones waffles were sticking. The eggs were terrible. I have had egg powdered eggs at other hotels that were at least edible. These were not edible. There were round things that did not even taste like an egg. The breakfast at this hotel needs to be updated. These room were not cheap even with AAA rates & being a Choice privleges member. I stayed here because trying to build up my choice privileges points. And as one of the previous reviews stated, if you do not need the inroom safe, you need to tell them this when you check in. It is hidden cost that will be added to your Choice Priliges price quote. Your reservation does not include that cost. It is not much, but it is the principle of a hidden amount. Also, you are paying more for a cont. breakfast included in your stay. Someplaces that is a good deal. As for this one, not so much. There was not much other choices to stay in Dawsonville. This one is ok. I do not know if I would stay here again if in area. May look at another nearby city.

Room Tip: if you have alot to carry up-ask for 1st floor room. Tell them when you check in if you do not need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JHutchens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shelbyda, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

On behalf of our entire team, please accept my apology. We are very sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations.

Choice Privileges and AAA members routinely get some of the best discounts we offer, but that night specifically we were near capacity, which caused rates to rise, although you did receive 10% off the rate for that evening.

Our front desk staff are always willing to help guests with their luggage, especially to the 2nd floor. We know it can be difficult carrying heavy items up and down our stairs. Please just mention it and we'll gladly help.

Our housekeeping staff takes pride in their work, so we were surprised to hear that the shower in your room was less than clean. Our front desk staff on duty would have been happy to clean it, if they had known it wasn’t right.

Usually our breakfast is a highlight of our guests’ experience, so we take your comments to heart. On our busy days, you are absolutely correct that we could use a second waffle maker! They are very popular, with guests often standing in line for one (or two). We agree with you that the egg patties are fairly bland, but we haven’t found a better brand, yet. Any suggestions would be appreciated. With over seven different kinds of hot and cold cereal, five flavors of yogurt and fruit cups, three types of fresh fruit, and 6 different bakery items, we hope our guests will find something that they will enjoy every time they visit with us.

As for the noise that night, as I mentioned earlier we were at capacity, so the hotel was completely full. Combined with being a Friday night, it isn’t too surprising that you were able to hear other guests. After speaking with our overnight staff for that day, they said it was a reasonably quiet night with no complaints from any guests about noise issues. Please feel free to contact our front desk with any problems, because often we just don’t know about them until a guest alerts us.

Sorry for such a long reply, but we felt like you deserved answers. While we can’t go back and fix your previous stay, we certainly hope that you’ll give us another chance.

Sincerely,

Shelby Harris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

That said, it was only $1.50 per day. Apparently you agree to the charge when you sign the room rental agreement. I did not notice this when I signed it, but when I questioned it at check out, the desk clerk was very gracious and removed it, since we did not use the room safe. There is a guest laundry. The complimentary breakfast was quite acceptable to us. The staff was very nice and accommodating. The rooms were clean. Even though they charge for it, I thought a room safe in a Comfort Inn was amazing. We stayed here beause it is close to the North GEORGIA Premium Outlets. The only downside is that you can only turn right leaving the property and the outlets are to the left. This requires a u-turn at the first intersection or a long round about way into the back of the outlets. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drj999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shelbyda, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Thanks for the review! We appreciate your compliments and your question about the "safe charge."

Charging for a room safe is an industry standard, so you'll probably find it in most hotels similar to us, but your point is still valid. Unless you specifically need it, you'd never even consider that there is a safe in the room, or that you'd be charged for it!

It's funny how often guests are surprised at the charge, ask about it, then see that they signed off on it at check-in. It's just not something most guests think about, which is why we are always willing to remove the charge for guests that don't use it.

Please feel free to mention at check-in that you won't be using the safe and we'll omit the charge ahead of time.

Other than that, it sounds like you enjoyed your stay with us, and we're glad to hear it! We are very proud of our staff, their hard work and friendliness. Thank you for reminding us that it makes a difference.

We hope to see you again soon!

Shelby Harris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We are always delighted when a hotel will take dogs in non-smoking rooms. However this room was a dump. Sink did not drain, shower stall had nasty stains, walls looked like someone had done target practice and then spackled over without painting. This building was supposed to be non-smoking but smoke could be smelled in the room and hallways. Beds were too soft and worn out. The only redeeming feature was the breakfast. Don't be fooled by the nice looking lounge when you walk in.

Room Tip: Check your room carefully before you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NABCBearsinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shelbyda, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Thanks for taking the time to send us this review. Sometimes we don't realize there's a problem until someone lets us know.

As you could probably tell from the updated lobby, we're in the midst of an extensive renovation, which is unfortunately a slow process. That's no excuse for the condition of your room, but it is a promise that we will be better!

We're very sorry we didn't live up to your expectations, but we're confident you'll find us much improved the next time you're in the area.

Shelby Harris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

The lobby and the restaurant (just a complimentary breakfast) were new looking and the breakfast was really great. I eat eggs, so I was so glad they had them.
It was terrific to have a frig and microwave. The location across from the outlet mall and next door to lots of other big box stores and restaurants was terrific! It wasn't noisy at all. They allow dogs and there was a dog barking in a room. The staff called the people right away and it stopped. I'd stay here again with no qualms.

Room Tip: I was pleased with room 106 on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jujubee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shelbyda, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Thanks for the glowing review! We're very glad to hear you liked our renovations to the lobby and breakfast areas. We like them quite a bit, ourselves!

When you make your next reservation, please mention that you prefer Room 106, and we'll do our best to make sure you get it.

Shelby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawsonville
18.4 mi away
Amicalola Falls Lodge
Amicalola Falls Lodge
#1 of 4 in Dawsonville
364 reviews
15.8 mi away
Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center
12.9 mi away
Quality Inn Dahlonega
Quality Inn Dahlonega
#7 of 8 in Dahlonega
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Days Inn Dahlonega
Days Inn Dahlonega
#3 of 8 in Dahlonega
502 reviews
12.9 mi away
The Guest Lodge Gainesville
The Guest Lodge Gainesville
#3 of 12 in Gainesville
184 reviews
13.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Cumming
Hampton Inn Cumming
#1 of 5 in Cumming
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 127 Beartooth Pkwy, Dawsonville, GA 30534-8013 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Dawsonville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Dawsonville
Price Range: £71 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Dawsonville
Dawsonville Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing