We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a wonderful find!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Len Foote Hike Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dawsonville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Len Foote Hike Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Dawsonville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What a wonderful find!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

Just got back from an overnight at the Hike Inn. Easy 5 mile hike, wonderful people, comfy, sustainable lodgings. And the food---amazing! My husband and went with our 13 year old son and a group of about 28 others. So easy to get to from Atlanta, scenery was lovely and the sunrise not to be missed. Will definitely go back!

Room Tip: These are very basic accommodations, but cozy and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KSnave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    26
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
57
76
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucker
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012 via mobile

just Amazing. This place is heaven. The adventure to hike in , the amazing atmosphere one you arrive, the fantastic food and programming all make this place so special. The hike is not too difficult , just long enough to make the arrival feel like an accomplishment. You feel like you really get away from the stress of the city. What a nice break from electronics. You learn about conservation, you see the most beautiful sky at night and the most beautiful sunrise in the morning. The bed and blanket are so comfortable. I hope to be a regular for years to come and cannot wait to share with friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coverbye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
119 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012 via mobile

My grandson, who is eleven, and I hiked the five mile trail to the hike inn. The hike is moderate with lots of up and down climbs. The inn is basic, the rooms all have a bunk bed for two people. The staff is wonderful! The food very good. If you like the outdoors, I think you will like the experience. My only disappointment was on the hike in and out, you are in thick cover, with no overlooks or views of the mountains.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripsaroundtheglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

I can not thank the staff enough for making my visit to The Hike Inn so very memorable and special. The entire place was extremely clean, the food was incredibly delicious. I found the evening presentation by Bill and Wade to be a special perk and made the experience even more special. THANK YOU to everyone!

If anyone is wondering if this is a place to visit, do not hesitate. The hike is worth it, the staff is fantastic and the experience will last forever...
Dixie

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dixievet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012 via mobile

My wife and I visited hike inn on a recent section hike of the AT. We started at the falls and hiked to woody gap, hike inn was our first night on the trail and a most welcome one. We hike the approach trail to the inn and made it I time for the tour and dinner. Both were out of this world! The staff was very knowledgeable and courteous and attended to our every need. Breakfast and sunrise at star base is not to be missed. There is nothing like enjoying a cup of coffee and watching the sun break over the blue ridge mountains illuminating the valley below. If you haven't been,GO!!!!

We WILL be back!!!!

Jeremy and Jennifer Peyton
Fleming Island Florida

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

This inn is beautiful, the staff are wonderful, and the facility is ultra-sustainable! It's a wonderful place to take a hike-acation or spend a few relaxing days. I never pass up the chance to go here, and it's definitely a place that all should go to. If you love the outdoors, you'll love the Hike Inn. And if you don't yet love the outdoors, the Hike Inn just might be the place to change your mind. I've been here with friends and family and all who have gone have love it too.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JessPri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
320 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

Hard to put this under the "hotel" category in TripAdvisor because it was so much more than just a hotel! The 5 mile hike was great - beautiful trees and good trail. The rooms were small and plain, and we made our bunks with the linens they gave us - it was like summer camp! The attention to detail and conservation were excellent. We packed everything in and out (no trash cans in the rooms or bathrooms). Composting toilets. Timers on the lights in the bathhouse. In the cafeteria everyone put names on their drinking glasses & mugs so they would be reused. The food we left on our plates was weighed after the meal to encourage folks to take only as much as they would eat. And the food was delicious! It was served family style and it was fun to get to know the other folks at the table. The staff gave a tour of the Hike Inn before dinner and explained a little history of the place, plus the solar panels, composting system, etc. Don't miss the morning sunrise - it is beautiful. Do this trip if you can! We only stayed one night, but if we did it again I would want to stay 2 nights.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Njoytravl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawsonville
0.0 mi away
Amicalola Falls Lodge
Amicalola Falls Lodge
#1 of 4 in Dawsonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.0 mi away
Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Dawsonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountain View Inn
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn Dahlonega
Quality Inn Dahlonega
#7 of 8 in Dahlonega
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Jasper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Len Foote Hike Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Len Foote Hike Inn

Property: Len Foote Hike Inn
Address: Amicalola Falls State Park, Dawsonville, GA 30534
Region: United States > Georgia > Dawsonville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Dawsonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Len Foote Hike Hotel Dawsonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing