We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great experience!”
Review of Len Foote Hike Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dawsonville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Len Foote Hike Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Dawsonville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We just completed our third stay at Hike Inn and it was great as usual. The weather was good for the hike up and a little windy on the hike down. We took the Appalachian Approach trail back down and it was about 5.5 miles. The food was plentiful and very well prepared. Our only complaint is they need new mattresses and better fitting sheets.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

The only way to get to the Len Foote Hike Inn is to hike in. You start at the top of Amicalola Falls and hike 4.9 miles over moderate terrain. It took our party of three about 2 hours and 20 minutes to hike the distance, stopping for lunch. Plan to arrive before 4 pm, so you can get a freshly baked cookie.

The Hike Inn has 20 small rooms, each having two bunk beds. The bathrooms are in a separate building. Linens are provided, so no need to bring a sleeping bag. The rooms are comfortable, but there is no mint on the pillow. If you have a bad case of claustrophobia, you may be bothered sleeping on the top bunk, but the top one is warmer in the fall and winter. The bath house has several compose toilets (a unique experience, I won’t say anything more), but there is no smell, and each side of the bath house (male & female) has two showers.

Meals are prepared and eaten in the Dining Room, family style. The Hike Inn wants to operate with no waste, so everyone is encouraged to clean their plate. The meals are prepared by the staff and volunteers, so no need to bring food (my pack was light; however, I did carry my wife’s extra change of clothes and toiletries). The meals are very good, and you will not leave the table hungry. Hot and cold drinks are available around the clock, and this is where you’ll find the cookies, if you arrive before 4 pm. The dinner bell is rung at 6:00 pm and for breakfast at 8:00 am.

The fourth room of the complex is the Sunrise Room, surrounded on all sides by glass and a porch with rocking chairs and benches. Hikers gather in the Sunrise room to socialize and play games. I played Scrabble with a couple, while my wife and a friend put together a puzzle. Games, puzzles, and a guitar are provided in the Sunrise Room.

A drum is beat about 15 minutes before sunrise, if the sunrise is worth getting up for.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ed0379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This was our second visit to Hike Inn. My husband and I have been there before, and we invited another couple to come along. It was their 1st time. The hike isn't bad, mostly moderate to get to the Inn. It's approximately 5 miles with a couple of steep inclines. The Inn is a bunkhouse with separate dining hall and game room. It has a wonderful wrap around porch to relax and see the vista. They offer supper and breakfast with unlimited beverages. The rooms are bunks with thin mattresses, but it's better than sleeping in a tent. The food is wonderful, but sometimes not plentiful. I would recommend taking snacks with you. At breakfast they were looking for "extras" from our table to give to another table. We were told they received the same amount as our table and they had 14 where we had only 8. The amount we were given was really just enough for 8 so I don't know how the other table fared. This is a pack in pack out facility, so you would need to take all trash out with you. They have evening entertainment or educational programs if you opt to participate. We had WONDERFUL storytellers on the night we stayed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcpeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This is our second trip up to the Hike Inn - a very doable hike for all ages and you get a great sense of accomplishment once you're finished. The staff was very informative (we took the short tour in the afternoon that highlights the "green" capabilities). The dinner and breakfast were hearty and good - and we got the bonus of watching the first ever wedding at the Inn. Keep doing what you're doing and we'll continue to run into others who have come multiple times just like us. We hit it just a little early for peak colors - and the weather forecast was wrong (surprise - not the Hike Inn's fault, all the local / national meteorologists that can't seem to get it right), but, we saw plenty of "fall" during our hike and enjoyed it all. Thanks

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gsjaxbch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Went with a friend of mine for a girls weekend. The hike was just the right length. The rooms were basic but clean. The hotel strives for 0 waste at dinner which I appreciate. The views are great at the end and beginning of the day. It would be nice to have one or two more games in the game room in the evening. My friend and I enjoyed talking over a puzzle. A different and enjoyable weekend.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank AZCatfan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Just had a memorable, energizing and rewarding 2 days at this unique venue. Nine of us spent 2 nights and 3 days hiking in the glorious N Georgia mountains. The Inn is Leeds Gold certified, the staff is incredibly accommodating and informative, the food is very good and in large quantities and the after dinner presentations on the AT were interesting and educational.

The accommodations are spartan, but beats sleeping in tents or hammocks :-) The rooms, linens and bathrooms are exceptionally clean; hot water is plentiful and bunk beds are the sleeping options. Just enough room to get a great night's sleep after a strenuous day of hiking.

The only access is a 5 mile hike in and for the uninformed or out of shape, it could be described as a strenuous hike. A couple of our group had challenges with the trail with several up and down hill climbs mixed with numerous rocks, some boulders and many above ground roots from the beautiful and abundant forest. We experienced constant rain in our 3 hr. 15 min walk up to the Inn but if in shape and properly outfitted, a manageable adventure.

The second day was a hike to Springer Mountain the southern most point of the AT and 4.4 miles each way over challenging terrain and numerous climbs and drops but it was a beautiful day and the scenery and camaraderie were exceptional. The Inn packed a wonderful lunch, I opted for hummus sandwich with swiss, tomato and lettuce on wheat it was filling, healthy and really good.
The trip took us about 7 hours and the final climb both to the peak at Springer and the return to the Inn was strenuous but manageable. 2/250 mg Aleves doesn't hurt. :-)

I'm in my sixties and really enjoyed the adventure but being in shape is a must for a safe and enjoyable day in the mountains.

The final day back, 5 miles to the parking area and lodge was a bit tiring after finishing 19 miles of being on the trail. Don't miss the falls and of the course the 450 steps to the bottom of this incredible sight.

One final note they discourage use of cell phones, understandable, and signal strength is poor any way. With a sick mother I needed access to family and texts were easily sent and received and there is electric outlets in the main community areas. Alcohol isn't allowed not sure what was in some of the water bottles though. Don't miss the sunrises, it is awesome.

Room Tip: They're all the same :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sib715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We decided to try this on our annual husband/wife trip and had a blast. It was a moderate 4.8 hike into the Inn. It was easier coming back than going but I didn't know that ahead of time. The food was excellent and the service at the inn was too. The rooms are very basic with bunk beds kind of like a summer camp but you are very comfortable and sleep well after the hike. The view at sunrise is great if it isn't too cloudy. The forest along the way is beautiful. Try to start hiking in before the deadline of 2pm so that you can enjoy the trip on the way in and not feel rushed along the hike in.

Room Tip: If you have to go to the bathroom in the night request a room on the side near the bath house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawsonville
2.7 mi away
Amicalola Falls Lodge
Amicalola Falls Lodge
#1 of 4 in Dawsonville
364 reviews
2.9 mi away
Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center
18.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Dawsonville
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Reid Ridge Lodge
Reid Ridge Lodge
#1 of 5 in Blue Ridge
317 reviews
13.3 mi away
Hall House Hotel
Hall House Hotel
#6 of 8 in Dahlonega
48 reviews
20.1 mi away
Blue Ridge Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Len Foote Hike Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Len Foote Hike Inn

Address: Amicalola Falls State Park, Dawsonville, GA 30534
Region: United States > Georgia > Dawsonville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Dawsonville
Price Range: £49 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Len Foote Hike Hotel Dawsonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing