We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty lodge and scenic view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amicalola Falls Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dawsonville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We booked this hotel for one night of our honeymoon and we stayed in the Hawthorn Suite. It was a huge room with a bedroom, living room and kitchen/dining room. There was also a nice deck off the kitchen. The bathroom was ok, it was clean but there isn't a shower only a jacuzzi tub so that is kind of a pain. Overall we enjoyed our stay and didn't have any issues. The restaurant is pricey so you may want to find food elsewhere. It was a fun splurge but we probably won't stay here again unless we try a cheaper room.

Room Tip: We stayed int he Hawthorn Suite, we haven't stayed in any of the other room. This room has a ni...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori V, General Manager at Amicalola Falls Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Thank you for letting us know about your visit, I would like to let you know that this winter when we have our renovations planned the shower issue will be resolved. We have many other types of rooms to choose from at different prices and would love to have you stay with us again. You can also keep an eye on our Facebook page to find monthly deals on our rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
There are newer reviews for Amicalola Falls Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

239 - 245 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

I just spent 2 nights in the lodge at Amicalola Falls and what a treat. A fabulous location atop a mountain with fabulous views. I was with a group and we met during the day and enjoyed 4 meals in the dining room. The buffets were good (food simple but tasty). We happened to be there for a local Chamber Function we were invited to attend, so we also saw what the chef could produce for a special event and that food was outstanding.

The rooms were clean and yes...could use a little updating...but this is a state park lodge not a five star resort.

Besides hiking (ouch but worth it) to the falls and along trails, we also had the most FABULOUS education session about raptors found in Georgia state parks. If you can be there when Loretta does this show, you should try. I recommend the hotel make it a special event for guests whenever they are full for a holiday weekend etc. Loretta used humor and drama to educate us about owls, hawks, kestrels, vultures and more. She brought along several of these wonderful birds that she has helped to rehab after injury. This was definitely one of the highlights of our group stay.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 4th floor facing the mountains if possible. Wow what a sunset. They also have s...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lainimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori V, Manager at Amicalola Falls Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Thank you for much for sharing your experience with us. Yes, we offer the Raptor program almost every Saturday at 1pm in the main lobby. We also have various special nights throughout the year that guests can have a longer more up close meeting with our amazing birds. You can follow us on Facebook to get the dates and times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed in one of the two bedroom cottages. It was a dump! There were ants in the kitchen! The place hadn't been refurbished or painted in at least 10 years or more. Only thing I can say is that it was better than sleeping in a tent! The restaurant dinner was i edible. I will say that they took it off the bill thanks to our very kind waiter who noticed it was barely touched. On the other hand lunch was pretty good but it was a sandwich.

The lodge is attractive in the common areas but I didn't see the lodge rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carmel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori V, General Manager at Amicalola Falls Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with you visit to Amicalola Falls. We strive to make sure that we offer the best experience that we can. If have not already heard we are going to have an extensive renovation this winter that will upgrade all the cabins. I will share your comments about the restaurant to the management team as we are always trying to improve our offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We almost cancelled my reservations at this property because of the awful & in my experience unwarranted reviews it had received in previous posts. So happy that we didn't.

While the hotel could use a little updating our room (408) was very comfortable, had an excellent view, the bed was comfortable & most important to me the room was spotless.

The staff at the reception desk was friendly and helpful. We arrived after 8:00 p.m and weren't aware that the only restaurant in the hotel would be closed. However the food was still out on the buffet table and the staff arranged for us to get some "to-go" boxes. That was really great as we weren't up for the 45 minute ride to the next town to get some dinner.

All in all would recommend the hotel for 1, maximum 2 nights. I wouldn't spend more time there because it's quite isolated and all the meals are served buffet style and that's not my thing.

Melinda, reception clerk was excellent during my conversations when making reservations. She did her best to accommodate our various requests.

Room Tip: We had room 408 and it was clean, appeared to have been updated and had an excellent view.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori V, General Manager at Amicalola Falls Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Thank you for your comments and letting us know about your stay. As always we are looking to keep improving and making sure our guests have an exceptional experience. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We just returned home from spending 2 nights at the Lodge and visiting the Falls twice. The first night we had a room with 2 double beds with a nice view of the mountains but wouldn't have stayed the 2nd night if we hadn't gotten one of the jr. suites. It was great! A great view, private balcony on the corner with rocking chairs that we thoroughly enjoyed. The breeze at night plus the "noisy night critters" made for a very pleasant evening on the balcony. We had dinner in the Lodge the first night but chose to eat elsewhere the 2nd night. Can't highly reccomend the food there for the price. We ate the breakfast buffet since it is pretty far to go somewhere else & the food was good but again, way overpriced. The Falls are spectacular & definitely made the trip worthwhile.

Room Tip: If I go back again I will definitely ask for a jr. suite on the corner.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori V, General Manager at Amicalola Falls Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

So glad that you enjoyed your time with us, yes the Jr. Suites are great to have just to relax. I will discuss your comments about the restaurant with our team. I sincerely hope that you visit us again and let us show you how we can improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed one night here on a groupon deal she found. We had never been here, but we knew that the Appalachian trail began here. What we found was a great out of the way spot to enjoy the mountains. The hike to the waterfall was on paved trails, very steep but accessible to everyone. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The restaurant seemed over priced at $17 a person for a meager buffet so we skipped it and drove to a much better place. Overall our stay was great and we would visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Everettehix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori V, General Manager at Amicalola Falls Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Thank you for sharing about your experience here at Amicalola Falls. The hiking is a big draw for our guests and we hope you visit again soon. I wanted to take the time to let you know that we also have a limited menu available for guests that do not wish to partake in the buffet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Great hiking paths for all levels and interests. Safe (yet challenging) stair climb along beautiful waterfalls. The State Park and trails at one end of the Appalachian Trail with park services, welcome center, supply store and more. The view from the the Amicalola Lodge is awe inspiring- complete with rocking chairs for relaxing and watching the mists over the mountains.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouiseZipsMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori V, General Manager at Amicalola Falls Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. There is nothing like watching the sunset on the veranda after a long day of hiking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawsonville
3.6 mi away
Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center
22.0 mi away
Reid Ridge Lodge
Reid Ridge Lodge
#1 of 5 in Blue Ridge
299 reviews
18.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Dawsonville
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Blue Ridge
15.7 mi away
Best Western Mountain View Inn
14.5 mi away
Quality Inn Dahlonega
Quality Inn Dahlonega
#7 of 9 in Dahlonega
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amicalola Falls Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amicalola Falls Lodge

Address: 418 Amicalola Falls Lodge Dr, Dawsonville, GA 30534-1009
Region: United States > Georgia > Dawsonville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dawsonville
Price Range: £99 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Amicalola Falls Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High in the North Georgia Mountains is Amicalola Falls State Park home of Amicalola Falls Lodge. Named after the Cherokee word for “tumbling waters” Amicalola Falls is one of the most popular state parks in Georgia. The park’s namesake is the 729-foot falls: the highest cascading waterfall east of the Mississippi River. The park is also the start of the 8-mile approach trail to Springer Mountain, the southern end of the 2,150-mile Appalachian Trail. The Lodge was built in 1990 by the State of Georgia, with 56 guestrooms in the main lodge and 14 cabins along with a gift shop, meeting space and a mountain view restaurant. The lodge rooms vary from standard hotel rooms with 2 double beds, loft suites that can sleep 6, to king bed suites with private balconies. The Lodge also is home to The Maple Restaurant that offers breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. The Lodge rests on 829 acres with on-site activities that include stream or pond fishing, as well as more than twelve miles of hiking trails, several centering on viewing the spectacular 729-foot waterfall. Amicalola Falls Lodge features more than 4,000 square feet of meeting space that can host groups and social events consisting of up to 150 people in traditional meeting spaces as well as a unique outdoor veranda setting. The Lodge’s spectacular view, peaceful setting, and exceptional service make it a destination not to be missed while in the North Georgia Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Amicalola Falls Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amicalola Falls State Park And Lodge
Amicalola Falls State Park Hotel Dawsonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing