We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Decatur
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

Great room, amenities, and service. The hotel was nice, clean, and located centrally for our needs. The rooms were not perfect, some small maintenance issues did exist like lose shower curtain rod, small repair jobs not quite finished, and other little things that someone could nit-pick about. Everything was functional, clean, and accommodating. Nice sized rooms with good features. Located out of the way just enough to be a good quiet place. This hotel was a trip saver for us as the last hotel was a disaster. So, this review could be skewed by the terrible experience at another local hotel. However this is a very nice place to stay and the rates are reasonable compared to what you get at the other price point in the area.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet, king suites are very roomy and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bignick51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    56
    26
    6
    18
See reviews for
59
12
14
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

Stayed one night, room was clean and quiet. We were on the top floor, but I doubt there'd be much noise even on other floors since they mostly face the small parking lot. Front desk staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Wife asked for some extra makeup cleaning wipes and he went out of his way to grab a bunch for her. Great location near Emory (~5min drive).

Breakfast was good, had a decent selection of bread, bagels, etc. as well as biscuits and sausage patties :)
Wifi stood out as being exceptionally fast for a hotel, and perhaps even more so because the Panera and Starbucks nearby had issues with their wireless.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

Overall, a good hotel, not fancy, but very workable for travel. Nice "refreshments" provided in the afternoon. I did have a problem with express checkout as the room rate charged with $10.00 more per night than the confirmed price when reserved. Pointed this out directly to desk clerk and it was corrected. If I had not checked by bill closely prior to leaving, there might have been a problem.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sohohe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
429 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

This was my final of seven straight nights on the road. I was hoping for a quiet place to crash and recharge for my final day of work before flying back home. Success! I checked into my room and debated where I was going to go in the area for food since there were a number of options. On my way through the lobby, I noticed the pantry and options that would make for a modest but tasty meal without having to head out to forage for food. Success again! I was able to eat in my room and settle in for a wonderful night of rest. The location is outstanding for Emory and anything in the Decatur area. I would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: My room was on the entry side of the hotel and was absolutely quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnjoyTravelAlways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

This hotel is not obvious, being on a lesser-known road near Atlanta, but it's a very good location for being near Emory or Agnes Scott College. Rooms are large and ours had a real, granite-topped cabinet with bar sink holding the fridge and microwave. It's an easy walk to shopping and restaurants.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back (North) side. like ours, face a construction/junk yard so not very scenic, but qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthernFamilyOf3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
71 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012 via mobile

Nice, newly renovated hotel about 10-15 minutes from Emory med center (hopefully there won't be wrecks that prevent you from getting somewhere on time). The surrounding area seems kind of shady at nighttime, but we felt perfectly safe and had a good stay. Rooms are large, clean, and updated. Had a nice reception in the evening with beers, wine, snacks. Very tasty full buffet breakfast in AM. Nice locale where you don't have to fight downtown traffic. No fee for parking, fortunately. Nice value and pretty good rates given the proximity to Virginia Highlands, Emory, and downtown. Unfortunately, the window-unit A/C is incredibly loud at night, but definitely works to keep the room cool -- you just can't sleep because of the noise. Also, could not get the front desk to answer the phones all night (busy-signal the ENTIRE night), so no wake-up calls -- bring your cell phone or alarm clock! Regardless, enjoyed our stay here and would recommend.

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Location is perfect if you don't mind a short drive on city streets rather than clogged interstate. We got downtown in 15 minutes or so. Exceptionally clean and service was impeccable. We had a king suite and even the pullout sofa bed was comfortable enough to sleep on.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMFAULKNER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-EMORY, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Dear Pmfaulkner,

I love your choice of headline: “Escape the traffic!” Although we aren’t located in the heart of Atlanta you can definitely get to a metro destination point within a few minutes while avoiding the headaches of interstate traffic and hefty overnight parking fees.

All of your comments are greatly appreciated and I cannot wait to share your glowing words with the staff.

Thank you so much for choosing us and I’m glad we did not disappoint. We can’t wait to see you again.

Warm regards,

Renee Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Decatur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Poncey-Highland
The Highland Inn
The Highland Inn
#96 of 172 in Atlanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Midtown
Artmore Hotel
Artmore Hotel
#17 of 172 in Atlanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area
Address: 2183 North Decatur Road, Decatur, GA 30033
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Decatur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Decatur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Emory Hotel in Decatur, Georgia, offers you a truly Southern hospitality experience. Enjoy our warm surroundings that truly make you feel at home away from home. The staff of the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Decatur, GA, is looking forward to being of service for all of your hospitality needs in the upcoming years. We are conveniently located in the heart of the Emory Hospital & Emory University area and Dekalb Medical Hospital & Children's Healthcare of Atlanta hospital and only minutes from downtown Atlanta. One mile from Emory Hospital and near the Centers for Disease Control, the CDC.We are now proudly offering our complimentary Express Start breakfast featuring two hot items daily - omelets w/cheese, sausage or bacon, biscuits and gravy.Free local calls, mini-kitchens w/ microwave and refrigerator are available in all our newly renovated rooms. Meeting and banquet facilities available. Relax in our year round indoor heated pool or in our on-site fitness center. Restaurants and shopping plaza within walking distance. Visit Decatur, GA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Emory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, IHG, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area Hotel Decatur
Holiday Inn Express Decatur
Holiday Inn Decatur
Decatur Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing