We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area
Nearby Hotels
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Decatur)
US$68
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$54
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$223
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
38
60
30
6
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
38
60
30
6
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsemory universitypublix grocerynice optionthe manager's receptionking suitevisited this hotelsouthern hospitalitydesk clerkthree nightsindoor poollate checklocation is excellentatlantastansofaelevatorgraduation
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2013

sharing the experiences I used to pick this place. I really had no idead where to stay or what direction to go in so I cam on to TA and mapped out an ideal location for my search. I finally decided on this spot and this HIExpress came up with all its wonderful reviews. All true, true, true. To get there is involves some "backstreet'' maneuvering, but can be a nice drive during the day. The area around the hotel itslef is nice enough, not much night traffic which makes the place very quiet. Staff was quick to acknowledge and always on their toes if a customer came by the front desk.

YOu can walk up a slight hill to a Publix grocery store and a small selection of restaurants. I saw a subway, a sushi place and a couple other choices. I didn't venture out too much, but there was a CVS/Walgreens and other restaurants about 1 mile away. The rooms are comfy, large, high ceiling, spacious bathrooms and CLEAN. I will certainly return here if my travels bring me back this way. Great job HI. Keep up the good service.

Room Tip: There is hardly any night street traffic so no worries on steet side rooms. I saw 2 different rooms and both were just fine. I switched out of my first room cuz it was next to the elevator.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yumyumguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We recently spent six nights at the Holiday Inn Express Atlanta - Emory University Area and were very happy with the hotel.

The room was well appointed with a table and chairs, a desk and comforable desk chair, a lounge chair, two beds, a wet bar area (with microwave, coffee maker, medium sized refrigerator, and faucet), and a bathroom with separate vanity area. We found the room to be comfortable and set up well.

The room was very clean and the cleaning staff did a great job keeping us stocked up with towels and toiletries.

The breakfast was a little repetitive, but the food tasted good and there were still enough choices that it was fine. They always offer muffins, bagels, cereals, pancakes, biscuits and sausage gravy, yogurt, fruit, delicious hot cinnamon buns, as well as coffee, tea, and juices. Then they switch between having scrambled eggs and sausage, scrambled eggs and bacon, and cheese omelets with sausage/bacon. There are enough things to choose from and it's included for free, so it was fine. I was a little disappointed to be in GA and not be able to have grits for breakfast. They had packets of grits where you add hot water, but I had expected they would have the real thing and was a little bummed, but cheered myself up with one of the cinnamon buns instead.

On Monday to Thursday, they also have a happy hour with wine, beer, lemonade, and iced tea, along with snacks such as cocktail meatballs, Chinese veggies, chips and salsa, hot dogs, and fruit salad. It was a nice bonus. We were there dealing with some tough family issues, so it was nice to be able to come back in the evening and settle down with a drink and some snacks. Every night they also have cookies out for the taking, as well as a bowl of apples.

The fitness center is small, but seemed to have good quality equipment. The pool is also small, but heated to a perfect temperature so we spent a lot of extra time swimming. It's also opened until 10 p.m., so we often managed to get in a swim in the morning and then a swim at night before we settled in for the evening.

The staff at the hotel was great. Everyone was friendly and helpful. We were always greeted with a smile whenever we saw any staff members. They really made us feel welcomed.

They also have a small laundry room with a washer and dryer. The detergent costs $1, and each of the machines is $1 to run. We washed a couple loads of laundry and each time had to run the dryer twice to dry our clothes. The front desk can provide quarters, so count on $4 to wash and dry a load and buy detergent.

We were also happy with the hotel's location, close enough to just about everything from downtown to Buckhead. Everywhere we went ended up being about a half hour drive, so we never felt too far away from anything.

There is a Publix grocery story about a block away. Across the street and down the road there are also a variety of restaurants from McDonalds to sushi to mediterranean cuisine. We highly recommend the Mediterranean Grill across the street. We loved the food there so much that we actually got several meals from there. The Community BBQ restaurant on nearby Clairmont Road was also great, everything we tried there was fantastic.

The only criticism of the hotel would be the super slow elevator. There is only one elevator for the whole hotel and it seems to run slowly regardless of how many people are using it. You wait even if no one else is using it. If stairs had been nearby we would have just used them instead, but they were at the ends of the halls, so we ended up waiting for the elevator. Not that big of a deal, but it was a little bit of an annoyance during an otherwise near perfect stay at a hotel.

I did a lot of hotel searching throughout the Atlanta area for this trip. There are other hotels around that are fancier or offer more amenities, but the rates they charge are outrageous. If you are looking for a clean hotel with easy access to everything, as well as having free breakfast, free happy hour, a fitness center, laundry room, friendly staff, and wonderfully warm indoor pool, all for an affordable price, then you can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PDESK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

This is a nice clean hotel. The breakfast buffet was mediocre, could definitely add some more fresh fruit. The pool was not warm. But the manager bent over backwards to make up for the cold pool. It's a good place to stay if you are in the Atlanta area for a few days.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agm2mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

It has everything you want with no frills. The price is right, the hotel is clean and tidy and the rooms are just fine. The staff seems to actually enjoy what they're doing and go out of their way to be helpful. What more do you want? If you're looking for a comfortable place to lay your head for the night, it's perfect. If you're looking for a place to hold a fancy wedding with 300 guests in formal wear, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Even the room on the 2nd floor overlooking the lobby was quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Dear Ron D,

We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Clean and quiet hotel, convenient location, friendly and efficient staff, relaxed but professional atmosphere -- all in all, a great hotel experience. Our room was clean, comfortable, and well-appointed (a King room with sofa bed, fridge, microwave, and wet bar sink); the bed was just right with decent pillows. We asked for a late check-out (1:00 pm) and had no problems getting it. The front desk folks were knowledgeable about the area and helpful with travel planning. The cleaning crew were friendly and accommodating.

The area puts one close to many nice places to eat, too! The Mediterranean Grill just up the hill is fabulous (get the lentil soup). And Bhojanic Indian restaurant has excellent food for a great price, with fun waitstaff and cute T-shirts. Rainbow Natural Foods grocery, also just up the hill, has a great selection of healthy foods for stocking up while on a long trip.

We highly recommend this hotel if you're anywhere in Atlanta!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 311.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews