We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's not to love?”
Review of Decatur's Square

Decatur's Square
Ranked #2 of 31 things to do in Decatur
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“What's not to love?”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Eclectic food, performance venues, shopping. Cheap parking. Minutes from the Emory campus. We thoroughly enjoyed the Decatur Arts festival which sprawled all over the square. Browsing the artists' stalls helped us find new places to eat and shop. All kinds of people enjoying a lovely afternoon.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mel427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    88
    16
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“It's Happening on the Square!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

The Decatur Square has an eclectic & interesting array of shops, restaurants and businesses! There's everything from galleries, trendy boutiques, to great restaurants. You can even have a picnic on the lawn, while attending a concert. The area has a great vibe!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mitdit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Love the evolution of this area!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I grew up about 4 miles from the square. Went to DeKalb County schools in the 1960's. I walk around the area CONFUSED. I still call the courthouse that was built in the 1960's the "NEW" courthouse. Is that where the movie theatre was where I saw "the Beatles, HARD DAYS NIGHT"? Is that where the Belk Gallant Store was? WHO CARES!!!
I am now retired and live at the beach. I love coming back to Decatur as it has evolved today! Go when there is an art show...or a "Fringe Festival"....to see what Decatur has become. If you are stodgy, love Fox news, ....don't appreciate GREAT FOOD....interesting stores....interesting people....go somewhere else. I love what Decatur has become...and for me....my children appreciate it as well and now live there.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conyers, Georgia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Surrounded by Good things”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Many great Restaurants and Shops around the Square. Something for everyone, variety of restaurants and stores. Parking is pay and situated all around Square. Marta Station is right in middle ( this can bring undesirables to hang around) very convenant.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 87vette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
188 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Nice to walk around.”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

A lovely little area to stroll around with plenty of coffee shops, restaurants, bars and places to relax. When I was there there were 2 people with a couple of parrots entertaining passersby and they let me hold an african grey parrot. Which was a plus!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank JGilleese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Decatur's Square also viewed

 

Been to Decatur's Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing