We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love me some sushi”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sushie Avenue Square
Ranked #174 of 371 Restaurants in Decatur
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Restaurant details
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Love me some sushi”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Great staff! Great value! Great sushi! What more do you want? I had a few special requests that were filled without question. That's the kind of sushi place I especially like.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Another Maki Role, Please!”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Sushi Avenue consistently has delicious sushi, sashimi and other Japanese dishes. Of the two Decatur locations, the one located on the square has a better ambiance. The staff are always exceptionally friendly. It's one of our favorite restaurants to visit as a family.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank rsstoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snellville, GA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Terrible service & Sushi is NOT fresh”
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Sushi is one of my favorite foods. I'm not your typical california-roll kind of person. I go for the Uni topped with a quail egg yolk, Hotate, Mirugai, etc. I'm a connoisseur of making my own sushi and have been for over 30 years.

My two girlfriends and I met there for our 'once-a-month' get-together. We had never been to this restaurant and wanted to turn our friend on to sushi for the first time. Normally, we do dinner, but this time we met for lunch. Our total check was $137 (for lunch ~ three women!). You would think after spending that kind of money that our service would have been better. We got our first order of sushi and a bottle of wine very quickly. But, after ordering another round, we waited over 35 minutes. Parking sucked. We had to pay for parking and I was freaking because I had only paid for two hours. When the sushi finally arrived, I had 10 minutes to scarf down (worried about getting a parking ticket). We questioned the waitress twice about our food and was told the sushi chef was still working on it. Hah! We only ordered a dozen pieces. I counted 4 other people in the restaurant ... not busy at all!

My Yellowtail was the trim of the bottom piece of fish with a bit of skin attached. The Unagi was mushy (not fresh at all!).

Prices are a bit high as well.

ONE star for parking
ONE star for price-point
ONE star for service
ONE star for quality of food

We will never go back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnestwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“My go-to sushi restaurant”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

I LOVE Sushi Avenue! The service is great, the sushi is authentic and beautifully prepared, and you get a great value for what you pay. After moving from New York City, I wasn't sure if I'd find a neighborhood go-to sushi restaurant, but I did. I eat here probably twice a month. Great for take-out as well!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ZenMama11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Reliably good, often packed”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

High quality, reliably good sushi, bento, soups, noodles. Great place for family dinners, especially if you have people in your group who don't want sushi or don't want raw sushi. Often packed on the weekends. There's another location in walking distance, off Ponce behind Cafe Lily, but it will also be packed on a Friday night!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bijoux404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sushie Avenue Square also viewed

 

Been to Sushie Avenue Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing