We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great local place, menu with variety” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wahoo! A Decatur Grill

Wahoo! A Decatur Grill
Ranked #9 of 359 Restaurants in Decatur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Iowa
Level Contributor
112 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great local place, menu with variety”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Everyone in our party of 4 had a different dish and gave each a great review. Of note were the Monkfish and Charleston shrimp. Service was average, waiter was personable and gave good recommendations but did not bring the wine pairings until late in the meal. Food was excellent, would have no problem visiting again.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank bigosfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    67
    19
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta USA
Level Contributor
551 reviews
317 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Not that good but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Tip? They will give you a $10 voucher off your next visit if its your first time visiting.... Nice ambience, went for the Sunday brunch but not that good... Luke warm food and all very heavy... No healthy options. Server friendly. it's a bit out of the way.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Expattraveler100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
103 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent Service in a non-traditional setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

My wife and I travelled down from Charlotte for my 40th high school reunion this weekend and met some old friends at Wahoo for brunch the morning before the reunion. It is a little difficult to spot from road and not a place you might stop if you were just driving by, but the staff and the food were excellent. On the recommendation of our server, we had the calamari, pimento cheese fritters and a side of hashbrown casserole as our appetizers and all three were very good. I had the pimento cheese burger on an wonderful roll served with fries which was great. One of our friends had an avocado wrap which was so huge she took more than half of it home with her. My wife and another friend had the crab cake benedict which my wife said was good but she would have preferred a traditional egg benedict rather than the crab cakes for breakfast. Our last friend had the shrimp and grits which she said were outstanding. I could see that the shrimp were much larger than I would normally have expected and she said the dish was spicy and flavorful without being over the top with seasoning. We are all too full to order dessert so I cannot comment on that option. This was a unique place, staffed with a very friendly and professional staff, serving above average food. I would definitely recommend Wahoo to anyone looking for an excellent meal just a few blocks off the square in trendy downtown Decatur.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NCDawgFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cute place, great fried chicken!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Lovely restaurant with garden seating. Decent size bar. Servers were friendly and quick with recommendations. Fried chicken was perfect! Cocktails were tasty and not light on liquor. Overall a great experience, will be back :)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jsmithyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
1 review
“Don't miss the brunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Wahoo!'s great for dinner but its brunch (try the hashbrown casserole) is fantastic too & w/o a wait

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wahoo! A Decatur Grill also viewed

 

Been to Wahoo! A Decatur Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing