We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went for book festival got great reads and hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Atlanta Decatur Downtown/Emory
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Decatur
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Went for book festival got great reads and hotel.”
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

We wanted to go for the book festival so found this hotel had rooms. Pleasantly surprised easy check in, very good front desk staff, nice room right off the city square. Overall great experience and was a fair price for such a busy time. Always amazed by people that whine about hand soap etc bring your own!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hockeybo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    144
    50
    14
    8
See reviews for
109
54
12
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a week on business. This hotel is fairly new and the lobby is very well-kept and has ample seating. It is connected to the convention center. Free wi-fi, HD flat screens and refrigerators in every room. This hotel is in walking distance to many eateries, independently owned businesses, cvs, Kroger, McDonald's and the MARTA subway system that can take you Downtown Atlanta, King Memorial, Airport and shopping malls for $2.50(one way). The hotel shuttle is complimentary with a 3-mile radius which is nice. On location is a bistro,bar and several grab-n-go options. There is complimentary coffee and assortment of teas every morning. No free breakfast though. There is a charge for parking per day. If your room is facing the atrium there is no window to the outdoors(just the lobby). **Please. Note: I heard from several hotel guest that lobby noise can be heard if your room faces the atrium.I left a personal belonging and it was mailed to my home in a very timely manner. Would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the atrium (lobby) do not have outdoor views. If you appreciate natural light than the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I want to mention that this Courtyard is independently run from Marriott hotels, and while you can make reservations and view the hotel from the Marriott website, you may encounter some glitches in the process. I have made reservations to this hotel several times, and almost every time there is something wrong with my reservation (duplicates, different room than requested, and no reservation showing). In one incident, I was on the phone with Marriott reservations who were telling me that I have a confirmed reservation, at the same time the person at the front desk was telling me that I didn't have a reservation and that they were totally full. No explanation, no apologies, no 'let's see what we can do' just a "we're full, there's the door" approach.

Now, once you are in, this is a great and newly-renovated courtyard. The rooms are very comfortable, and the facilities modern, welcoming, and very clean. The rooms are the current Courtyard standard, so if you've seen one, it's exactly the same. The location is great, and the front desk staff make great efforts to help you, the shuttle and drivers are wonderful. Indoor pool is great for both older and younger kids (toddlers who can't swim yet). For getting around Atlanta it's right on a Marta stop, and central to most attractions to Atlanta.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leighjohnwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike R, General Manager at Courtyard Atlanta Decatur Downtown/Emory, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Leighjohnwi –Thank you for taking the time to complete the trip advisor review. I appreciate the great feedback on our front desk staff and the shuttle drivers. It’s wonderful to hear that you enjoy the hotel and the local area. I do want to express my apologies about the reservation issues you have experienced and that our staff did not do more to accommodate you. Although you are correct in that we are not run by Marriott International, our systems still link together and the process should be seamless. I will work with our IT department to determine why these glitches are occurring. Please feel free to contact me at 678-244-9300 if you would be willing to provide a few more details such as the dates of your stays, if reservations where made through the internet, etc. In addition, I will ensure our front office manager does additional training with the staff on problem resolution. Thank you for providing me the opportunity to address these. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Location: The hotel is approx. 30 minutes from the airport and 20 minutes from downtown; the neighbourhood in Decatur is very nice - great restaurants, bars and cafes; MARTA station (Atlanta Metro) is closeby
Check in: Smooth and professional; lobby seems to be new refurbished; staff could be more motivated sometimes when it comes to explaining the surrounding etc.
Room: The bed was very comfortable - nice mattress, good pillows and sheets; free wifi; no shower gel available; spacious room; but it was very loud and noisy because of window towards the lobby and thin walls
Cafe in the lobby: They offer Starbucks cafe, but are only open for some hours every day
Gym: Well equipped; not enough equipment during "rush hours" for all guests

Room Tip: Room should not face the lobby area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mitzideluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I was impressed with everything that the hotel had to offer. The only downside was I requested for Hand Soap twice but never received it. Other than that everything from Parking lot to Check in process was excellent experience. I was there for a conference in May and was a quick short stay. Although I have never stayed with Marriott and was super impressed with this hotel and its staff. Hopefully I will be back soon. Thank you once again for excellent stay.

Room Tip: Corner room with street view is very Quiet and Peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vidhi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike R, General Manager at Courtyard Atlanta Decatur Downtown/Emory, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
I'm delighted to hear about your great visit to our hotel for your conference. Our conference center has become a popular venue for corporate events, fundraisers and wedding receptions. I do want to apologize that we failed to deliver the extra soap that was requested. We will do some additional training with our housekeeping staff to ensure we respond to all guest requests in a timely manner. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington dc
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Was in Decatur for a long weekend to visit family. i have never stayed in a Courtyard property. Room was nice, modern and very clean. i was grateful for the mini fridge and in-room coffee. Also had a nice late-night glass of wine at the lobby bar just before they closed up. There were a few downsides, however. Checking in was inconvenient because i had to enter the underground parking garage at the rear of the building with my car, park, unload, and then make my way thru the convention center to the lobby. They need a curb side check in option. Otherwise, check in staff was friendly. Also, the garage did not seem safe late at night. Seemingly anyone could enter the garage, then access the hotel elevators to rooms via the conference center without being seen by anyone at the front desk. Overall, parking underground was inconvenient and possibly unsafe. Also my room was on the 2nd floor overlooking the atrium and it was very loud. Both hallway and atrium were loud. Finally, upon checkout i was not asked about my stay. I think that is a mistake. Not sure i will stay again given the cumbersome parking situation.

Room Tip: Atrium rooms are loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TroyDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike R, General Manager at Courtyard Atlanta Decatur Downtown/Emory, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write a TripAdvisor review. I appreciate the feedback concerning your recent stay. Our guest safety is very important to us and I apologize that we did not provide you a feeling of security. We do have several measures in place which includes the use of a security company, assistance from the local police department and the need to use a room key when entering the hotel late at night. However, we will work with our security company to review ways in which to make improvements in this area. In regards to the check-out process, I agree that it is a mistake not to ask about a guest’s stay. This interaction is a great opportunity to get feedback while it is still fresh in the guest’s mind. This is something that I will ask our front office manager to reinforce with his team. Thanks again for the review and for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Layout is somewhat similar to an Embassy Suites Hotel. Rooms and lobby area have been recently renovated. Rooms (which are not suites) are a bit larger than average. Everything was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. Parking was extremely inexpensive ($4 day). Room price seemed fine to me ~$120/night. Small breakfast diner around the corner was convenient for breakfast (hotel shuts down breakfast service and coffee at 10am). Plenty of other wonderful (non chain) drink and food options within 3 blocks of the hotel. I don't see the need to stay anywhere else if you are in Decatur.

Someone, in a recent review, said that the hotel was in a so-so neighborhood. Please note that this is completely UNTRUE. The wife and I went for a run one morning, the city is full of amazing historic homes and lush tree lined streets. The listings posted in a local realtor storefront indicated $500,000 price ranges. Doesn't sound so-so to me.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank RyleyinSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Decatur
Poncey-Highland
The Highland Inn
The Highland Inn
#99 of 171 in Atlanta
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
#79 of 171 in Atlanta
436 reviews
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
#45 of 171 in Atlanta
784 reviews
Midtown
Artmore Hotel
Artmore Hotel
#14 of 171 in Atlanta
1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Atlanta Decatur Downtown/Emory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Atlanta Decatur Downtown/Emory

Property: Courtyard Atlanta Decatur Downtown/Emory
Address: 130 Clairemont Ave, Decatur, GA 30030-2501 (Formerly Holiday Inn Decatur Conference Center)
Region: United States > Georgia > Decatur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Decatur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Atlanta Decatur Downtown/Emory 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of historic downtown Decatur with over 50 restaurants and shops within a 3 mile radius of the hotel.The new state-of-the-art lobby at Courtyard Decatur Downtown/Emory provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests. At the center of it all is The Bistro, your destination for a great breakfast, or drinks and dinner during the evening. You'll also enjoy inviting, flexible spaces where you can work or relax, free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard technology. Plus, our well-equipped fitness center and indoor pool will help you stay refreshed and energized. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, your stay is sure to be more comfortable, more productive and more enjoyable than ever before! We offers spacious meeting rooms, breakouts,pre-function and event space. Our new facilities offer flexible space and our experienced staff is dedicated to making your event a success. From corporate meetings to joyous celebrations, we’ll bring your visions to reality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Atlanta Decatur Downtown/Emory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Atlanta Decatur Downtown/Emory Hotel Decatur
Holiday Inn Decatur Hotel
Decatur Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing