We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jawdropping lobby, warm reception, amazing room, but....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Atlanta Decatur Downtown/Emory
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Decatur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Our experience with this spacious architectural wonder was delightful, overall.

The lobby was mind-blowing, with halogens strung to emphasize the lofty ceilings and the grand largesse of the remodeled structure. Breathtaking! The staff was finely tuned, well-trained and exceptionally gracious. Our corner room, #327, was spacious, well-appointed and had a stunning view. This was a GREAT treat, after a week in a small NYC room.

Our only issue was the inability to print from our Mac laptop, and the spottiness of the Wi-Fi. We were preparing a eulogy and wanted to print a clean draft. We wound up re-typing it and printing it on the PC in the lobby, as the Tech crew didn't arrive until 8 am, too late for our event.

This is a GRAND, warm and wonderful hotel, centrally located in the Decatur area. We will highly recommend, but ONLY for family and social....not geared for intense business needs!

Best, and glowing about this hotel,
Rita Mitchell-Waldoff

Room Tip: Our corner room 327 was divine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed here the week of New Years Eve and had such a nice time. The staff was so friendly and accommodating. We had a minor issue with the ceiling leaking one day and we were immediately moved to another room and given credit for our troubles. There is a nice little indoor pool if you want to relax, a lobby bar and plenty of TV's and computers to keep you entertained while waiting. Very clean and modern.

Room Tip: I like the hotel lobby view room. It was pretty cool to look out the window and see the inside of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeachFest6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

"I was in Decatur for a weekend seminar the last weekend of January. I found the hotel to be very spacious and clean and pleasant. I asked for a room on a high floor away from the elevators, and Roger at check-in honored my request and gave me a room on the 4th floor with a street view. The room was VERY quiet, spacious, and extremely clean. The bathroom was well-sized and clean. Every employee that I interacted with was friendly, cheerful and helpful, including the bartender at the restaurant and all front desk staff, especially Roger, who went above and beyond to make my stay most comfortable and pleasant. Knowing I was a solo traveler for the weekend, he made sure I had transportation to my seminar, restaurant advice, parking assistance and arranged a late check out for me without a problem. I felt the staff really worked hard to meet the needs of their guests. The hotel is really perfect for a business traveler with all of amenities, its huge lobby and workstations with plenty of outlets, and its fitness center looked spacious and had a good number of machines. Since it is so convenient (walking distance) to great restaurants and shops, I didn't eat many meals there but the one salad I had was decent. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would definitely go back solo or with my family."

Room Tip: Rooms facing outside, not inside lobby, are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I was in Decatur for a weekend seminar the last weekend of January. I found the hotel to be very spacious and clean and pleasant. I asked for a room on a high floor away from the elevators, and Roger at check-in honored my request and gave me a room on the 4th floor with a street view. The room was VERY quiet, spacious, and extremely clean. The bathroom was well-sized and clean. Every employee that I interacted with was friendly, cheerful and helpful, including the bartender at the restaurant and all front desk staff, especially Roger, who went above and beyond to make my stay most comfortable and pleasant. Knowing I was a solo traveler for the weekend, he made sure I had transportation to my seminar, restaurant advice, parking assistance and arranged a late check out for me without a problem. I felt the staff really worked hard to meet the needs of their guests. The hotel is really perfect for a business traveler with all of amenities, its huge lobby and workstations with plenty of outlets, and its fitness center looked spacious and had a good number of machines. Since it is so convenient (walking distance) to great restaurants and shops, I didn't eat many meals there but the one salad I had was decent. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would definitely go back solo or with my family.

Room Tip: Some rooms face inward to the lobby; if there's an event it would probably be a bit noisy, so if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed in this hotel recently and used their parking garage and unfortunately we had our car broken into. Unknown to us was that the garage is not owned by the hotel but the city of Decatur. As to where else you could park is a good question. The hotel management was very nice to us and comped our next night while we investigated having our glass fixed in the vehicle and dealing with police reports. The hotel on it's own it very nice but just be aware of the parking situation and take everything that you own to your room. The parking garage does not have anyone on duty after 6:30 to watch the comings and goings of people.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCadwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We had a last minute need (only 3 days notice) for a block of rooms and catered dinner for 50. This was due to a death in the family and the Marriott Courtyard team in Decatur immediately stepped up to work out all of the details - in less than an hour we had the block of rooms set up and all aspects of the dinner planned (menu, room, tablecloths, etc etc). Winston and Darius were particularly helpful in pulling it all together with a sense of urgency, empathy and sensitivity to what we were going through. The food was excellent and the service outstanding! Thank you so much!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CABOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Went to Atlanta for my birthday with wife and 4-month-old baby. Came back after being out for my birthday dinner and drinks at around 11PM. The lobby was packed with the after-party from a wedding that had taken place there. Our room overlooked the central lobby. When I got to the room, you could easily hear all the noise, and my wife had already called down twice (at 9 and 1030) because it was keeping her and the baby up. The front desk said security had been called to usher them out. Nothing was done. We then quickly discovered some of the wedding party was staying in our hall when we heard drunken yelling right outside our door from 11-12. I physically went down to the front desk and again, Security was going to handle it. By 1:30 they had finally all left or passed out. I never once saw security. It was horrible. Otherwise, nice hotel, good location.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jasonbagua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike R, General Manager at Courtyard Atlanta Decatur Downtown/Emory, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

jasonbagua - Thank you for taking the opportunity to post a review of your experience on line. I appreciate your feedback about the noise concerns in the atrium lobby and your hallway from the wedding guests. I apologize that our staff was unable to maintain an appropriate level of noise to allow your family to enjoy your stay. The basic expectation on any hotel should be they provide a quality night's sleep and we failed to deliver this. Please call me at 678-244-9300 so we are able to discuss in detail and come to a resolution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Decatur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Loews Atlanta Hotel
Loews Atlanta Hotel
#4 of 173 in Atlanta
2,314 reviews
Affordable Hotel
#5 of 18 in Decatur
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Atlanta Decatur Downtown/Emory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Atlanta Decatur Downtown/Emory

Address: 130 Clairemont Ave, Decatur, GA 30030-2501 (Formerly Holiday Inn Decatur Conference Center)
Region: United States > Georgia > Decatur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Decatur
Price Range: £101 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Atlanta Decatur Downtown/Emory 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of historic downtown Decatur with over 50 restaurants and shops within a 3 mile radius of the hotel.The new state-of-the-art lobby at Courtyard Decatur Downtown/Emory provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests. At the center of it all is The Bistro, your destination for a great breakfast, or drinks and dinner during the evening. You'll also enjoy inviting, flexible spaces where you can work or relax, free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard technology. Plus, our well-equipped fitness center and indoor pool will help you stay refreshed and energized. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, your stay is sure to be more comfortable, more productive and more enjoyable than ever before! We offers spacious meeting rooms, breakouts,pre-function and event space. Our new facilities offer flexible space and our experienced staff is dedicated to making your event a success. From corporate meetings to joyous celebrations, we’ll bring your visions to reality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard Atlanta Decatur Downtown/Emory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Atlanta Decatur Downtown/Emory Hotel Decatur
Holiday Inn Decatur Hotel
Decatur Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing