We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly What You Should Expect, Nothing More or Less”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gateway Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dillard
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The Holiday Inn Express in Dillard, GA is a fine choice if you need a place to rest your head for a night while in the North Georgia Mountains. There is nothing exceptional about this property, and there was nothing wrong with it during our stay.

Reception went smoothly and the staff was friendly. The room was standard for a Holiday Inn Express. The bed was comfortable, and we did not notice any significant outside noises.
I would not stay here for more than one evening, and yet it works fine for one evening.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtlantaRes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eve B, Front Office Manager at Gateway Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

We thank you for your stay with us and reviewing our property.
We welcome feedback as it assists us in our never-ending task to better improve things for our guests. I am sorry to read that your experience was not what you expected.
We value you as our guest and our apologies for the shortcomings.
Sincerely, Eve B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
There are newer reviews for Gateway Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

First I thought the rate was kind of high $139. plus a night, but ok every where else was booked . First the carpets really needed to be renewed the were dirty and smelly, the room was a what shall I say in need of a make over, we had a jetted tube , turned the water on to fill, well the smell that came out of the faucet was gross , then the color started the tub was a brown as watery milk chocolate, went to the desk and they told my wife the water is ok it's well water, it's tested every month and you can drink it. I wouldn't let my dog drink that stuff. We used baby wipes for a bird bath and bottled water to brush our teeth , we planned and PAID for 3 nights but could only stand 2 we left.

Room Tip: Do not request Rm 222
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kellygrandpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eve B, Front Office Manager at Gateway Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I am diappointed to read that your experience was not what you expected. I sincerely apologize for the dissatisfaction you had with the hot tub and for the inconvenitence and discomfort it caused during your stay. We deeply regret the negative experience and impressions you had during your stay. I assure you, your feedback of our hotel will reviewed and most certainely forwarded to appropriate departments.
Sincerely Eve B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed overnight on our way elsewhere. Okay motel, exactly what one expects from a Holiday Inn Express in a small town, but nothing more. But, we left an item in our room. The front desk called and left a message about it before we even knew that the item was forgotten. Since it could not be mailed, we took that same route coming home, and the item was waiting for us, looking exactly as it did when we left home. We can't thank Melodie enough!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nannybug17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This is an average hotel. Nothing to write home about. The breakfast was okay but lacked in many ways. The rooms are very old looking and worn. The air conditioning needs to be replaced. Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Gateway Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear Stephen S,

Thank your taking the time to write a review regarding your stay. I am pleased that you found our staff to be friendly.

On the other hand, I sincerely apologize for we fell below your expectations on the room condition and breakfast choices. Kindly be assured that we take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable accommodations.

Your feedback is indeed of utmost importance to us and rest assured that actions will be taken to ensure our guests continue to enjoy superlative levels of service, comfort & security that they expect when staying at our hotel. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Stayed here and had a pleasant time. The staff is very friendly and goes above and beyond to make your stay enjoyable. We stayed over the weekend and the hotel was packed. The woman at the front desk was always smiling and ready to help people no matter what time they came down. Our room was clean and the bed was great. Was a little worried due to negative reviews on here, but we did not experience any yellow water or smoke smell and we were on the first floor. Would definantly stay here again when we come through.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoyt l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The bad reviews seemed to come in after I made my reservation at this hotel. From the pervasive cigarette smell that overwhelms you upon entering the hotel, to the raggedy towels, and the brownish water in all the bathroom fixtures, this place was disgusting. It should in no way bill itself as nonsmoking. The staff and many guests congregate right under the front portico and smoke. The first floor room we were given was so stinky with the odors of smokers past, that we had our asthmatic child stay on the second floor with my mother where it wasn't so bad. We were given 2 towels for 4 people, and one was full of holes. The water in the bathroom ran brown for our entire visit. The bathroom tiles were full of dirt and mold. The walls were dirty where things had been spilled and thrown against them and not cleaned. The wall paper was cut and pasted in strange pieces. The staff wouldn't move us, and the manager is dodging my calls. If it were possible to give it a lower rating, I would. Holiday Inn should remove their name from such a place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tarheelsathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Gateway Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear Tarheelsathome,

Thank you for your review. All our guest comments are valuable and we consider them seriously in the consistent endeavor to improve the quality of our products and service.

We are saddened to hear of your encounters in our hotel and would like to extend our sincere apologies for the dissatisfaction you had with our level of cleanliness and sorry that we fell below your expectations with regard to the room condition. We regret that your experience with us was not ideal and for the lapse in service during your stay.

We appreciate your feedback as this allows us to assess where we have opportunities to make improvements. Rest assured we will make necessary improvements accordingly. We hope that you will give us another chance in the future so we can restore your faith in us.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The first floor still smells like smoke. Shower would not drain. Staff was nice though! Location was great. Pool was nice. Breakfast was not that wonderful. Staff did give me a can of disinfectant spray for the smoke smell. Must have been an older smoking motel. Other friends on the second floor said there were no odor.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Gateway Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Dear Kim E,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. I am pleased you found our location to be convenient and our staff delivered at par customer service. However, I sincerely regret that the room you were given was a disappointment. Your comments will be used to consider for upgrades needed.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dillard
0.4 mi away
Mountain Valley Inn
Mountain Valley Inn
#2 of 3 in Dillard
96 reviews
0.8 mi away
Knights Inn Dillard
Knights Inn Dillard
#3 of 3 in Dillard
106 reviews
8.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Mt. Chalet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
7.5 mi away
Days Inn Clayton
Days Inn Clayton
#3 of 3 in Clayton
228 reviews
12.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Franklin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Inn & Suites

Address: 64 White Oak Ln, US Hwy 441 & GA Hwy 246, Dillard, GA 30537-2110 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Dillard)
Region: United States > Georgia > Rabun County > Dillard
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dillard
Price Range: £67 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gateway Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Gateway Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dillard Hotel Dillard
Holiday Inn Dillard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing