We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chalet 12”
Review of Dillard House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dillard
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dillard House
Ranked #2 of 2 Dillard B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We stayed 4 nights in Chalet #12. It was a nice cottage, VERY quite and peaceful. It had some old building charms. The floors were a bit uneven in places and the windows were a bit drafty. The heat worked amazingly well and kept out the cold. The porch extended to three sides of the cabin and there were some great mountain views through the trees (if you go in the summer you may have lots of leaves in the way). The stairs to the loft were extremely steep almost like climbing a ladder. Our Kitchen was very well stocked and even had a wine bottle opener (some reviewers mentioned this a a problem in the past). The firewood provided was a bit green but we were able to get it going. If you are willing to move lots of logs and use the ones on the bottom of the stack they are much more aged and dry and work very well. Bring a few news papers and a lighter for the fire they do not provide either. They do charge an annoying fee each day for cable $1.50 a day even if you do not turn on the TV. Overall it was a great visit, I would highly recommend it for those looking for a quiet mountain retreat. Do not expect the "Ritz-Carlton" these are old cabins. I would guess they were build it the '50's or 60's.

Room Tip: Chalets are GREAT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank localconfusion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 598 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2012

My husband and I were going to visit Charleston, and stopped at the Dillard house for a weekend. While there we planned to visit Biltmore Estate on Saturday and visit Tallulah Falls on Sunday. Unfortunately, I took a spill while at Biltmore and needed medical attention after returning to the Dillard House. The person working the desk suggested going to the local clinic instead of going to the hospital located in next county over the mountains. I received wonderful care and was treated and released. We were able go to the falls the following day. The people at Dillard House were wonderful and caring. We chose to stay on the Rock House rather than the chalets because I loved the old house feel of the rooms. I felt like I was visiting my grandparents' farm house. The deep clawfoot tub could have persuaded me to stay for several more days!

Room Tip: Loved the clawfoot tubs at the Rock House, and the antique bed was pretty and comfortable. The rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

My family has been going to the Dillard House for over 20 years. Recently 3 generations of our family were going to meet up there for the weekend, but had to cancel due to a death in the immediate family. The Dillard House refused to refund our money despite offering to provide proof of the death and funeral. I hope they enjoyed my money because that is the last dime they will ever get from me.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012 via mobile

We have been coming to the Dillard House for over ten years. We use to stay in their lodge rooms, but have moved up to their chalets. We have stayed in five different chalets, but the one we got this time realy needed some updating #23, although clean. We ate dinner at the Dillard House on Saturday and the food was great as usual. The cabbage casserole and prime rib is always may favorite!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimmomoffour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

This was our third stay at this motel in the last five months, we have stayed in the "Oaklawn" rooms twice and once in the "Blue Ridge" once. The first time at "Oaklawn" we stay in room 102 and it was very small, the second time we stayed in "Oaklawn" we stayed in room 101 which was twice the size. These rooms have the lowest prices and are also the oldest. The "Blue Ridge" was a bigger room and more modern, the price was about twenty per cent more. We ate dinner ($22.99 per person) in the restaurant the first trip but have skipped it the past two times, the food is good and they serve way too much food. We have passed on eating breakfast as we don't eat a big meal in the morning, the price for breakfast was $16.99 per person.

Room Tip: In the "Oaklawn" ask for rooms on either end as they are the biggest rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BUD1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

As others have noted, this is not a grand hotel, nor does it pretend to be. It's basically a lodge with the rooms spread among several buildings. The rooms are good-sized, clean and comfortable, although the decor is dated - which I suspect is intentional. Likewise, the bathrooms are 80s vintage and best described as functional. The staff are pleasant and the location in the hills of north Georgia very pretty. Most people come for the quiet and the food. As to the latter, it is plentiful and served family style. I've been coming here every October for the same meeting for the past 15 years, three or four days at a time, so I can advise going into training for two weeks prior to arriving and pacing yourself so as to survive the sheer quantity of food you will be served. Dillard is the fried food capital of the south - perhaps the planet - and if they ever find a way to fry coffee it will be done here with great verve, so be sure to bring much Nexium and take a double dose. The food itself is good but not great; menus are irrelevant: sit down and they will bring food; eat one bite and they will bring more food. Don't worry about it; don't complain. Eat. Carefully and slowly. Then take a long walk and admire the scenery. Don't forget your pill. When you get home, diet for a week.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank Oberst06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Look, let's face it. If you're looking for a 5 star hotel, go somewhere else. However, if you're looking for an affordable family night or two away this is a great deal. We stayed in the Old Dillard House which is the original inn on the property. They have several buildings. Some brand spanking new and some older. It's definitely not a quaint, secluded get away. There's animals on the property and horses so a great family place especially for small kids. The restaurant has been featured on some TV show so folks line up to get a meal there. I'm not much into quantity over quality so we skipped the restaurant. It's typical Southern fare and if you're not from the South you should give it a try. We did buy the local cider (blackberry and cherry) and loved it!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MicheleCLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dillard
0.5 mi away
Knights Inn Dillard
Knights Inn Dillard
#3 of 3 in Dillard
107 reviews
7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Mt. Chalet
0.9 mi away
Mountain Valley Inn
Mountain Valley Inn
#2 of 3 in Dillard
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Gateway Inn & Suites
Gateway Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Dillard
120 reviews
13.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Franklin
6.1 mi away
Days Inn Clayton
Days Inn Clayton
#3 of 3 in Clayton
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dillard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dillard House

Address: 768 Franklin St, Dillard, GA 30537-2319
Region: United States > Georgia > Rabun County > Dillard
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Dillard
Price Range: £44 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll find lots to do right on the property. Walking is a favorite. No matter the season, there are incredible views all around the grounds. When people think of The Dillard House property, they remember the beautiful landscaping that features an abundance of flowers including geraniums, impatiences and roses. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dillard House Hotel Dillard
Dillard House Inn
Dillard Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing