We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed longer than we planned!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dillard House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dillard
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dillard House
Ranked #2 of 2 Dillard B&B and Inns
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stayed longer than we planned!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We had our 2 Golden Retrievers with us and stayed in room 134 Blue Ridge, where they took dogs. The room was exceptionally clean, with a king bed and sliding glass door out to a patio overlooking a beautiful grassy area, then a horse pasture. The patio had rocking chairs and we could feel our blood pressure lower immediately! The following day, we took a horseback ride through the beautiful changing leaves and into the river. Not across the river, IN the river! How cool! We were having so much fun, we asked to stay a couple more days. Since it was October, leaf-looking time, they were booked and we had to move to their last remaining room, 171 in the Valley-View section. WOW! This room was wonderful! It was 35'X18', with a huge 2 person Traver-tine shower, a wet bar in the main room, 2 queen beds, flat screen, table and chairs, AND sliding glass doors out to a large deck overlooking a treed valley, used in the trail rides. You could sit in the rockers and watch the horse-back riders go by, down below!
Then there's the Restaurant!!! You sit down, and out comes platter after platter of some of the best country meat and vegetables around! And they'll keep bringing it until you're full!
After over-eating, you'll have to work it off by walking down to the petting zoo and barn. They have everything from a long-horn steer, to Pigmy goats, chickens, mules, you name it!
The town of Dillard is famous for it's antique shops. Besides being a home base for day trips to Highlands,NC, Helen,GA, The Smoky Mountains, and white water rafting, Dillard House is a great place to just relax in the pool or Jacuzzi and gaze at the scenery!

Room Tip: Rooms 173 and 174 in the Vally View section overlook a treed valley and horseback riders from your d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sewsew24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    122
    69
    75
    103
See reviews for
197
197
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Marianna, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

October 17, 2013 we spent the night at the Dillard House in one of their "Blue Ridge" motel rooms. Everything was very clean. The two queen beds were so very comfortable...the bedding was very plush. The room included a coffee pot, microwave and refrigerator. A sliding glass door opened to rocking chairs that overlooked a rail fence and a meadow. We ate dinner at the Dillard House Restaurant, which serves family style...it was terrific. It was a little pricey at $50.00 for two, but we got to take the leftovers with us. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We book a jacuzzi suite for two consecutive Fridays. One on the way up to the Smokies and one on the way back to Florida. We have stayed here before so this was not our first time. When we checked in there was no a/c in our room. Since this room has a jacuzzi it was very warm inside. I called the front desk and they sent maint up to check. Maint man looked at the thermostat and disappeared. After an hour we called the front desk and they didn't not hear from maint either but would call me back. 30 mins later we went to dinner but stopped at the front desk on the way out and they still knew nothing. After dinner we stopped again and were told they could not reach the a/c repairman. Their solution was to offer us a fan for the room.

They did not offer to move us to a room with a/c. Were in the world is 24hr a/c service not available? When I mentioned all this at checkout I was told a mgr would call. I did receive a message the next day saying a 10% credit would be given. When you pay over $200 a night for a suite you expect the a/c to work. Things happen but this was handled poorly from the start all the way thru to the 10% offer.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Signal Mountain, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

This was my second visit to Dillard House. My first visit was 10 years ago. My husband and I went to Dillard to go to the Highlands. The trip was a spur of the moment. The fall colors were wonderful!! The room was in the Rabun Bald and was okay but just okay. The bed had a broken spring in the box springs. The toilet kept filling up all night. The linens on the bed had some type of odor that made my eyes burn and itch,. We took it off the bed and got blankets out of the closet and things were fine. None of this was so major that it effected our trip. All I can say is a little updating after 10 years would be helpful., The small coffee maker in the room was a waste of time....coffee was so strong we dumped it in the sink. I wish the room was scenic as the setting. I will go back but may check out something else in the area. Or a different room at Dillard house. Maybe a cottage!!

Room Tip: Try a newer room. Maybe a cottage not Rabun Bald...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarkesville
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

My wife and I celebrated our wedding anniversary yesterday at the Dillard House and immensely enjoyed the overall experience. There is always room for improvement, of course, and the Dillard House is no exception.

Our luncheon at the restaurant was somewhat disappointing compared to past dining experiences there. Our service was as always excellent, and we especially enjoyed the collards, sweet corn and fried chicken. A dish new to us, cabbage casserole (I don't know what else to call it), was to die for, and the blackberry cobbler was fabulous.

On the other hand, the green beans were tasteless, the fried okra didn't seem to be fresh okra and was too heavily breaded, and most disappointing of all...the baby-back ribs, while "done," were so tough that they were practically inedible. I ate a single rib and had to use a knife to cut it. The chefs at the Dillard House can do better than this. About two more hours in the smoker, guys!

We spent the night in room 174 in the "Highlands." Our suite was spacious, gorgeously furnished and sparkling clean. The only problem is that the firewood furnished to us was "green" and wouldn't burn without a LOT of help. We called for additional firewood and "starter sticks' and received them; fortunately, I had an axe in my car and split up a few chunks into smaller pieces and thereby finally had a decent fire in our fireplace. Next time, and there WILL BE a next time, I'll take my own firewood.

That's it. Thank you, Dillard House, for making our wedding anniversary a very special occasion.

Kim

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
142 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

The Dillard House is one of the most amazing properties we have ever experienced. They offer suites and hotel/inn style rooms as well as 9 rental homes/chalets on a mountainside 2 miles from the main property, which is where we stayed. The family style dining offered at the Dillard House restaurant was amazing and all you can eat. The chalet was clean and stocked with linens/towels, firewood for fireplace, private driveway, rocking chairs and bbq grill on a wrap around porch offered spectacular views, A/C and heating, full kitchen w/appliances, 2 queen bedrooms + pullout sofa slept 4-6 people. There was no coffee or breakfast provided. Great place to bring the whole family for a week of horseback riding and hiking and relaxation. Extremely affordable at $189 per night. Only negative: the mattresses must have been cheap or very old cuz we were rolling in towards each other the entire night and both woke up pretty sore.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Ridge, GA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

A great experience at the Dillard House. Rooms were very clean and country atmosphere right outside your room doors. A misty mountain morning was also enjoyed along with in-room coffee. Family style dinning - breakfast, lunch & dinner. Food was plentiful. Only thing was the use of MSG in the food. Plenty of parking.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blogger21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dillard
1.3 mi away
Gateway Inn & Suites
Gateway Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Dillard
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mountain Valley Inn
Mountain Valley Inn
#2 of 3 in Dillard
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
12.0 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Knights Inn Dillard
Knights Inn Dillard
#3 of 3 in Dillard
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
13.8 mi away
Lake Rabun Hotel & Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Rabun Manor
Rabun Manor
#1 of 2 in Dillard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dillard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dillard House

Property: Dillard House
Address: 768 Franklin Street, Dillard, GA 30537-2319
Region: United States > Georgia > Dillard
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Dillard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll find lots to do right on the property. Walking is a favorite. No matter the season, there are incredible views all around the grounds. When people think of The Dillard House property, they remember the beautiful landscaping that features an abundance of flowers including geraniums, impatiences and roses. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dillard House Hotel Dillard
Dillard House Inn
Dillard Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing