We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday Inn Express hotels are all not the same”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Douglas
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Douglas
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Holiday Inn Express hotels are all not the same”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stay at a hotel and getting a clean room is a good thing. But this time we had two different rooms between our group and one room was clean while another needed repair.

Breakfast was a waste of time. As someone said, the heated pool was not heated at all. The sauna does not work and the hot tub has been removed and cemented over sometime ago.

No WIFI in our room. Had to sit in the lobby to get on the Internet. We overheard other guests have not so good things to say about their stay here.

Sometimes you get a clean room and then, this time, our friends did not.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank RedTraveler23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Douglas, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear RedTraveler23,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. We are sincerely sorry to read about your negative experience over some of the hotel facilities. Rest assured that your comments will be looked into and take actions accordingly. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    27
    9
    9
    11
See reviews for
20
10
6
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I was traveling for business and ended up here for 2 nights. I had stayed here a couple of years back and it was great....this time just ok. I am not sure what has happened to the property but it is still fairly knew but not impressive. The check-in was ok, breakfast ok, room ok....not one of those "I am not ready to leave" places on my list. The hallways smelled of smoke, room musty. No place I would want to stay again unless I had too. Will check out other properties in the area for the next stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LSanders810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Douglas, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
DearLSanders810,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. We take all feedback from our guests seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on. It is regrettable we fell short of your expectations this particular day. We appreciate you bringing your concern to our attention and rest assured, your input will be shared with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvement to this identified weakness and rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mims, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

After my experiences at this hotel, I will not be staying here in the near future. Not even if they paid me. And as a frequent traveler, I have or had a complimentary room I had earned at this hotel and I cancelled it and booked another room, at another hotel and gladly paid full price.

A few things we found were a hot tub, that the hotel still shows in their pictures, was removed at least six months ago. The front desk said the hot tub never got hot. The “indoor heated” pool they advertise was ice cold. Seems they were having heater problems. The sauna was not working. No one seemed to know how to turn it on. At 7PM at night, they even could not turn on the lights in the pool area.

How would you feel if you opened the dresser drawer to unpack and found two empty soda bottles and a pair of soiled men’s boxers?

The WI-FI was not working. Kept getting limited access or no internet connectivity warning. The hotel next door did allow me to sit in my car and use their WIFI access on my laptop.

Reading reports about the poor breakfast at this hotel. Breakfast hours are 6:30 to 9:30. By 7, there were shortages of food. And the dining area was almost empty. The food and service was so bad, we were grateful for the nearby restaurants, where we went to finish our breakfast.

As I said, when you travel often, you sometimes earn points you can use to get free rooms in the future. We had a free room reserved a few months later and disliked the experience at this hotel so much that we cancelled a free room and paid full price to stay at another chain all together.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Bruce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Douglas, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear weekend_traveler_9,

Thank you for your review about your stay. It is truly unfortunate to see that you did not fully enjoy your time at the hotel. We take comments such as these very seriously and would like to follow up with you. We have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information.

I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I was briefly in Douglas on visit, walked in to this property and received a great rate on the spot. This hotel is in line with most of the Holiday Inn Express's. It was clean, the staff was super nice and the cookies in the lobby were actually good. Came with the standard free breakfast they offer, for the price you can't beat it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minnow1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smyrna, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We had two rooms reserved for a chess tournament. Our reservation came through perfectly and they honored our request for adjoining rooms. A plus!

The suite rooms are very spacious and kept well. One minor point - the shampoo bottles are difficult to tell if full or not and my shampoo bottle was almost completely empty. I was already in the shower when I made this discovery and did not ask for another bottle, although I'm sure they would have been more than happy to provide. Internet was free and easy to access.

Breakfast was fairly basic. They were out of pre-made omelets by the time I arrived and they were not replenished during the time I was there. I've seen these breakfast areas kept better at other hotels, but it was not bad.

Employees were courteous and kind. We had a pleasant stay and I would not mind staying again. I would look for cheaper rates, or cheaper options, however.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fun F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen, Quintana Roo, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This hotel was a pleasant surprise for such a small town hotel. The room was very spacious and the bathroom was a good size as well. The staff for check in and out made the process go quick and painless. Their breakfast was good and enough to get me on the move. The air and the wifi worked good as well since I need it for work. All and all it was a good price for your money stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, SC
Level Contributor
126 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I have stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Douglas on several occasions and have always been pleases. Fast and friendly check-in each time and the rooms have always be in good shape. Always fresh and clean. Bed was very comfortable and had a great air conditioner which was nice in that HOT Georgia heat ! Wi-Fi was usually pretty fast. Breakfast seemed to be lacking in taste in comparison to most Holiday Inn Express that I frequently stay at. Overall I would say this location is probably the best hotel in Douglas. I would surely stay here again if in town on business.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikesTikibar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Douglas
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn - Douglas
Hampton Inn - Douglas
#3 of 8 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Western Inn and Suites Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Douglas
Econo Lodge Douglas
#6 of 8 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Douglas
Super 8 Douglas
#2 of 8 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jameson Inn Douglas
Jameson Inn Douglas
#5 of 8 in Douglas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Douglas

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Douglas
Address: 1636 Peterson Ave S, Douglas, GA 31535-5012
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Douglas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Douglas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Douglas Hotel. Hotel features include free local phone calls and a complimentary Express Start continental breakfast. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, and even hardboiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Douglas, GA and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Douglas
Holiday Inn Douglas
Douglas Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing