We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK. But won't return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn - Gwinnett Center
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Duluth
Warner Robins, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“OK. But won't return”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The hotel is modern. Has a bar, and light foods. They claim to have a fitness center. It is very small and has a few cardio machines. There is a rack of dumbbells in lighter weights, but no bench, so pretty much useless except for curls. If you want to run outside, you pretty much are stuck with running around the Gwinnett Center parking lots, which is ok if there are no events. If you stick to the outside of the lots and go around the entire complex it is 2 miles exactly.

The room was modern with a decent tv that gets hd channels. One of the beds had a bunch of hair on the sheets, so I just used the other one. I am here in Duluth for 12 weeks of training, but will choose a different hotel because the internet is so slow it is painstaking to get any web-based work done. I suppose if all you need to do is check email, it is ok. Judging by the not nearly full parking lot, too many users can't be the issue. I can't understand how a property in this day and age of computing can't get that right.

Other than the internet issues and the housekeeping, it is decent. If you are attending an event or concert, you can walk to the arena. That's pretty much the only reason to stay, there are a bunch of better hotels in Duluth. Oh, and the hallways seem to amplify every noise out there!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steverunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TracyJohnsonGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn - Gwinnett Center, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Steverunner,
We appreciate you taking the time to complete a review of our property. We are in the process of upgrading many of our amenities. We understand the importance of being competitive and accommodating our guests. If you would like to discuss further, please contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    65
    36
    16
    12
See reviews for
48
18
10
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Florence, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

I accidentally left my bathroom bag in the hotel after I checked out and when I came back the next day they said they never found anything. Basically I lost $70 in toiletries and the staff was not helpful. Do not stay at this hotel there are lots of better options in the area.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TracyJohnsonGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn - Gwinnett Center, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Jenings,
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review; it is much appreciated. This matter has been addressed with our front desk staff, as well as our Director of Housekeeping. Please don't hesitate to contact me if you would like to discuss this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
327 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We drove into Duluth to visit with a car dealer who recommended this hotel because several of his clients had recommended it to him. The hotel was constructed in 2003 and renovated about three years ago. They did a nice job, the room was spacious, the HVAC system: tricky.

We had a king size bed, a large bathroom and a refrigerator. The hotel provided free Wi-Fi and breakfast if you paid the breakfast rate. The downstairs restaurant and bar not only serves the breakfast (buffet) but also handles menu orders for lunch and dinner. We ate dinner in the hotel because we were just too tired to go out, but it was acceptable food.

We usually find ourselves at a Holiday Inn Express when staying in an IHG property. This was our first visit to an actual Holiday Inn in several years and we were impressed. It was large enough to support an in-house restaurant with plenty of free parking and a convenient location.

Room Tip: Breakfast buffet runs about $11 - check out the room rates with breakfast included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raudetra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TracyJohnsonGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn - Gwinnett Center, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear raudetra,
Thank you for submitting your review of our hotel! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that we lived up to the recommendations you received! It's wonderful that you got the chance to visit our in-house restaurant and bar, The HUB. It is a great place to relax for breakfast, dinner, coffee, and/or cocktails. We hope you get the chance to visit us again the next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorsey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

hotel could use a good cleaning and updating. starting with the toilet paper, it was horrible. then update all of the rooms with the proper menu. Breakfast is not included in the price and it was average but hot and ready. Our hosts Luseni & Sam were the best. Very attentive and friendly.
You both deserve a raise because you two would be the only reason to return to this hotel.
The staff at the desk were also very friendly. The air conditioner could also use some repair it did not cool well at all.
The beds were clean and comfortable

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DlLyerla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TracyJohnsonGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn - Gwinnett Center, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Hi DlLyerla,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property! We're so pleased that you gave such high commendations to our staff- we're very proud! We hope that you come and visit us again if you visit in the Gwinnett area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muncie
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Pros: Hotel property is nice, modern, and very clean. Breakfast buffet was very nice.

Cons: Several coworkers who had reservations for non-smoking rooms were disappointed at check-in because hotel placed them in smoking rooms. Seems to be a trend at this hotel, as I overheard other guests complaining about it in the lobby.
Internet speeds were slow, no matter what time of day or night, so it was difficult to do any remote work or general web browsing. Simple news and weather sites took forever to load. All my coworkers agreed, as they all experienced terribly slow page loads, like in the dial-up days. It works, but it is like watching paint dry.

Room Tip: Bring your own internet. Call to guarantee a non-smoking room before you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TracyJohnsonGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn - Gwinnett Center, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear JD,
We appreciate you taking the time to submit your review! We are currently in the process of upgrading our internet service to accommodate our guest's needs. Thanks again for your feedback, as that is how we continue to improve our service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron, Georgia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

This was a great visit. When you first walk in, you feel like you are somewhere different. It is incredibly nicer than most other hotels. The staff was very nice and they show a genuine interest in helping you have a good stay. The restaurant has a good dessert selection and you can get coffee until the restaurant closes for the night. My room was fantastic. I enjoyed the comfortable bed. The desk, couches, and chairs were all comfortable and suited my needs. I did not notice any noise that was unbearable or caused me to lose sleep. The breakfast in the restaurant is set up buffet style. It is a great breakfast. You can have eggs, bacon, biscuits, fruit and much more. You will be fueled up and ready to take the day head on when you have yourself an enjoyable night here.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TracyJohnsonGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn - Gwinnett Center, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Jimmy P,
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to submit your review! We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We're so proud of our property and our staff. If you find yourself in need of accommodations in Gwinnett in the future, please come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inman, South Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I booked this room for a show at the Gwinnett Center. Initially, I looked at other hotels in the area which had rooms blocked for the event, but the prices of the other rooms were not as promised once I went to book. So, the Holiday Inn Express earned my appreciation for standing by the great price they initially promised.

Check in was wonderfully efficient; I think the young man's name was Alex. He was there the next day and a lady in front of me was telling him about her sick relative and he stopped to listen sympathetically. Everyone went above and beyond to make sure I had a comfortable stay. You can get dinner on the premises as well as breakfast, which was free with my voucher and very good. I was tucked away in a very clean corner room (501) that was quiet, had coffee, and everything I needed. Checkout the next day went smooth and the place was great!

Highly recommend. I really like the Holiday Inn Express for many reasons, and a clean, comfortable, affordable, safe stay is always an option here.

Room Tip: I liked the corner room - 501 quiet and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank airport_brat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TracyJohnsonGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn - Gwinnett Center, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear airport_brat,
We thank you greatly for your kind review of our property as well as our staff. Total guest satisfaction is our number one priority. We're delighted to hear that you were satisfied with your stay, and that we earned your recommendation. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Atlanta NE Gwinnett Sugarloaf
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta NE/Gwinnett Sugarloaf
3.7 mi away
Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Atlanta NE/Duluth Sugarloaf
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Atlanta NE/Duluth Sugarloaf
3.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Duluth/Gwinnett Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn - Gwinnett Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn - Gwinnett Center

Property: Holiday Inn - Gwinnett Center
Address: 6310 Sugarloaf Pkwy, Duluth, GA 30097-4334
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn - Gwinnett Center 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Gwinnett Center Hotel, located adjacent to the Gwinnett Center and the Arena at Gwinnett Center, home of the Gwinnett Gladiators, Forward Conference (Jun 09), Watchtower Conventions, Joyce Meyer Event (Oct 09) and other Gwinnett Arena Events. The new Gwinnett Braves Baseball Team plays just a few miles north The Holiday Inn Gwinnett Center, a Duluth GA hotel is located NE of Downtown Atlanta via I-85, less the mile from Discover Mills Mall, close to the Mall of Georgia, Gwinnett Civic Center, Gwinnett Convention Center and 3 miles from the Gwinnett Place Mall. Gwinnett County offers a wide variety of recreational activities such as golf and tennis, which are located within 2 miles of the Holiday Inn Gwinnett Center, a Lawrenceville GA hotel. The hotel is also close to the University of Georgia ( UGA )Bulldogs Stadium. Each one of our 143 beautifully appointed guest rooms was designed to make your stay comfortable and productive. We offer complimentary high-speed Internet access. During your stay at the Holiday Inn Gwinnett Center you can relax by our indoor pool or work out in our poolside fitness center. Perhaps you will want to unwind with a cocktail in our lounge or dine at Kem s restaurant (named for the founder of Holiday Inn, Kemmons Wilson.) We hope you will choose the Holiday Inn Gwinnett Center Hotel for your next visit to Duluth GA, Lawrenceville GA or Gwinnett GA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn - Gwinnett Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn - Gwinnett Hotel Duluth
Holiday Inn Gwinnett Center
Holiday Inn Duluth
Duluth Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing