We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New and clean near I-85”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Atlanta NE/Duluth Sugarloaf
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my wife. Super clean and well designed suites that have everything you need for a convenient weekend stay. Outdoor pool is great for relaxing and the complimentary breakfast was well put together and the coffee was fresh. Very close to Gwinnett Arena.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank digitaltomATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin H, General Manager at Residence Inn Atlanta NE/Duluth Sugarloaf, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear digitaltomATL,

Thank you for writing a review of our hotel! We appreciate the feedback and appreciate you taking the time to let others know of your experience with us! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our new suite design, breakfast, coffee, and pool area!

Thank you again for sharing your overall great experience with us and we look forward to your next visit! We appreciate your business.

Sincerely,
Kevin Hill
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

I spent 4 nights here on business. Some of my colleagues would be staying for over 6 weeks. I think that the lodging will suit them just fine. My suite was spotless and well-appointed. The small kitchen had a refrigerator--not the dorm-style, but top freezer, bottom fridge--a dishwasher, two-ring glass-top stove, microwave, toaster, coffee-maker, sink, utensils, and ample counter space.

The bed was very comfortable and sported quality linens.

The bathroom featured a walk-in shower, no tub. The countertop around the sink was spacious. Shelves and a cabinet beneath provided plenty of room for toiletries.

I give high marks for the lighting in the suite, no corners were cut here. The kitchen had sleek pendants over the main counter as well as undercabinet lighting. The bed was flanked by broad sconces and punchy little LED reading fixtures. The living room area had a table lamp (with a cunningly hidden switch) and a task light for desk work. In the bathroom, I was impressed by the recessed lights running the around the edges of the raised mirror which provided a lovely soft, even source.

The TV was a bit of a disappointment. Around half the channels were standard definition. HBO and Showtime were provided in HD. I didn't pony up for the bigger wifi bandwidth, settling for the free wifi. Like those in (too) many other hotels, the system there required frequent re-registration. The suite had a snazzy clock radio that not only had the iPhone dock but also a USB port that enabled charging and tune-pulling for all. All those with the USB cable, anyway.

The staff downstairs were very friendly.

The hotel provides free breakfast daily and dinner offerings some nights. I enjoyed the oatmeal with assorted fixin's, as well as muffins. One could also hit the make-your-own waffle station or other hot breakfast items, which changed each morning. I didn't try food in the evening but did take advantage of the beer and wine social hour after work. Snobs will be saddened by the choices, I'm afraid, but, hey, it's free. Be advised: the Yuengling goes faster than the Bud LIght.

The lobby can be a bit cacophonous,even when not real crowded with travelers. There are many TVs spread throughout, with remotes, which is cool in a way. The drawback is hearing the audio from multiple sources, plus the pop music playing on the overhead PA. Those with processing issues could bug out.

As is typical, this Residence Inn has no bar or restaurant. There are places nearby, one an easy walk down the hill. The immediate area is mostly office park but there are good restaurants within a short drive.

Room Tip: Depending on your temperament, you may want to avoid a room facing the outdoor pool. Folks are free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keymcgrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin H, General Manager at Residence Inn Atlanta NE/Duluth Sugarloaf, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Keymcgrip,

Thank you for writing a review of our hotel! We appreciate the feedback and appreciate you taking the time to let others know of your experience with us! We really appreciate how detailed you were in reviewing our property! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Thank you again for sharing your overall great experience with us and we look forward to your next visit! We appreciate your business.

Sincerely,
Kevin Hill
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We've stayed here several times in the last two years. It is very convenient to many places we like to visit, especially the Gwinnett Center. The rooms we have stayed in have all been very clean and modern relatively new. The only negative is a few of the electrical outlets have not worked although there are others nearby that do so it wasn't a big problem.. The breakfast is good with the usual food. Plenty of good parking and generally a quiet place despite being close to a very busy area. The staff is very friendly and accommodating when we've needed something. We will definitely book here again.

Room Tip: I haven't had a bad room but one close to three of the exterior exits, two sides and back, or n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bebann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin H, General Manager at Residence Inn Atlanta NE/Duluth Sugarloaf, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Bebann,

Thank you for writing a review of our hotel! We appreciate the feedback and appreciate you taking the time to let others know of your experience with us! We are very proud of our new Residence Inn by Marriott and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Thank you again for sharing your overall great experience with us and we look forward to your next visit! We appreciate your business.

Sincerely,
Kevin Hill
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel is new and I love the new layout for the Residence Inn. The suites are comfortable and very stylish. Breakfast was much better than expected. In fact, the cook was so accommodating it was unreal. The staff were especially nice and remembered our names. I love the new concept for this hotel. I usually stayed away from the Residence Inn brand because they felt so outdated. Now, I'll be looking to stay in another one very soon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ksmiley28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hillk1025, General Manager at Residence Inn Atlanta NE/Duluth Sugarloaf, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear ksmiley28,

Thank you for writing a review of our hotel! We appreciate the feedback and appreciate you taking the time to let others know of your experience with us! We are very proud of our new Residence Inn by Marriott and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much!

Thank you again for sharing your overall great experience with us and we look forward to your next visit! We appreciate your business.

Sincerely,
Kevin Hill
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My family traveled to Deluth with me for a NPC fitness competition and this was the perfect place to stay considering it was a minute away from the Performing Arts Center-Gwinnett Centre. The Hotel is very clean and new. The staff was very nice and accommodating and the breakfast was perfect for what we needed. Our trip was just a short weekend trip so it was nice to be able to relax in a comfy hotel and get good sleep before we had to drive back to michigan. I would stay here ten times over, when im in the area.... its near everything!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 30tripsto30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hillk1025, General Manager at Residence Inn Atlanta NE/Duluth Sugarloaf, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear 30tripsto30,

Thank you for being our guest! We are so happy that we were able to exceed your expectations and that you shared your experience on Tripadvisor! It is great to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast, beds, and location! We love hearing when we make a guest stay memorable! If there is ever anything we can do for you in the future, please do not hesitate to ask us!

Sincerely,

Kevin Hill
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating from arrival to departure. The facilities are in excellent condition, and the rooms were of excellent quality. The workout room was superior to facilities of a similar level business hotel. The nightly manager receptions are a nice touch, with the morning breakfast buffet being also superior to similar competitor business hotels. Overall...a great experience!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VacationReady330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt C, General Manager at Residence Inn Atlanta NE/Duluth Sugarloaf, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience. We are very proud of our new Residence Inn by Marriott and do believe we have the best property in our market. Always happy to hear that you were welcomed by a extremely friendly staff as we are all dedicated to exceeding our guests expectations.

Thank you again for sharing your overall great experience with us and we look forward to your next visit! We appreciate your business.

Hospitably,
Matt Crall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My family had to leave our home for about 10 days due to some construction being done. We stayed at the Residence Inn and the entire experience was wonderful. The room was modern, clean, large enough for my family and our small dog. Everyone on staff was so accommodating, we were greeted as though we were family members. We had to change our check out dates a few times and they made everything so easy for us. The food for breakfast and in the evenings was good. The location for anyone traveling to the area is great, there are plenty of restaurants and shopping near by. We will be sure to recommend this hotel to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LouAnn91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt C, General Manager at Residence Inn Atlanta NE/Duluth Sugarloaf, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Lou Ann,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at our new Residence Inn with our future guest! It sounds like we exceeded your expectations. Please continue with the referrals and thank you for choosing us as your destination hotel for the Duluth, GA area.

Hospitably,
Matt Crall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0 mi away
Courtyard Atlanta NE/Duluth Sugarloaf
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Atlanta NE Gwinnett Sugarloaf
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta NE/Gwinnett Sugarloaf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta
4.2 mi away
Residence Inn Atlanta Duluth/Gwinnett Place
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Duluth/Gwinnett Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Atlanta NE/Duluth Sugarloaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Atlanta NE/Duluth Sugarloaf

Address: 1940 Satellite Blvd, Duluth, GA 30097-4117
Region: United States > Georgia > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range: £94 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Atlanta NE/Duluth Sugarloaf 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at the newest hotel in Gwinnett County! The Residence Inn by Marriott® Atlanta NE / Duluth Sugarloaf GA off I-85 is one of the most conveniently located hotels near numerous businesses, Sugarloaf Mills Mall, and Gwinnett Center & Arena. While visiting Duluth, GA you’ll find the Sugarloaf Country Club, home of the PGA Greater Gwinnett Championship, as well as the Hudgens Center for the Arts and the esteemed Red Clay Theatre –– all within minutes of your hotel. This hotel is within 26 miles from downtown Atlanta and 18 miles from Stone Mountain. With easy access to I-85 you'll love our new Marriott hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residence Inn Atlanta NE/Duluth Sugarloaf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing