We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Great hotel that became my home away from home for several weeks while on business. The lounge had enough to get me by most weekends without needing to go out to dinner. And if I was so inclined, the bar downstairs could keep me in the hotel. Location was pretty easy to get to as well. My only compliant would be the bath towels. Management could really do well by purchasing some fabric softener. Otherwise it was an awesome hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wunderlusting01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    198
    70
    28
    24
See reviews for
161
134
38
379
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Yesterday, I had to park a Hertz rental car at the Gwinnett Mariott, as the Hertz location I rented the car from was closed and unable to accept the returned car. There is a Hertz satellite office at this Marriott.

Unfortunately, I left my wallet in the car, and didn't realize until I was already at the airport for a flight that took off in an hour.

I immediately called the Marriot, and spoke with Rhianne, who listened to me while I freaked out, and then put me on hold to see what she could do. As it turns out, the Hertz employees on duty had already left for the day, and she was unsure how we could access the car.

Rhianne spoke with Daisy, her manager, and Daisy was able to find the keys to the car after a short search. Skip went to the car and found my wallet. When Rhianne called me back, knowing I was at the airport, she offered to provide a secure taxi service in order to get me the wallet. I was astounded not only that these people had put the effort in to find my wallet, but that they would go so above and beyond as to think of a way to get it to me.

I was not a guest at this hotel, and there was no reason for anyone to help me. My mom and dad went to get my wallet a short while later, and my mom took the attached picture of Daisy, Robert (another helpful person!) and Skip. She said it best when she sent me the picture: "You had angels on your side today!"

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CRM8656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcyAdams, General Manager at Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
What a great story! I am the General Manager and had not even heard this yet. I think that this shows that actions such as this are second nature to our staff and they will do whatever they can to take care of anyone that walks through our doors. Thank you for taking the time to write this review and to share this story. I will certainly pass it on to all of our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed it
Daisy at the front desk gave outstanding customer service
Friendly staff
Nice room
Good restaurant - try the filet
I didn't workout but my buddy did and he said it was well equipped
Great location. Very convenient to lots of our clients in the Atlanta area.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenMarx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcyAdams, General Manager at Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. We appreciate your feedback and we too think Daisy is great! I will share your comments with Daisy and all of our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Benning, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I've been to Marriott Hotels in other states, but this one out of the ones I've been to is so far the best. The staff, waiters/waitresses, and even the coordinator Mr. Kevin were polite and catered to the needs of their guests. I was in the group(Strong Bonds Retreat) alongside my husband and the weekend we were there is definately well worth it. This hotel is a 5 star and if the rating were higher I'd give it a 7. Pleasant people, pleasant food, pleasant place thank you for making my experience a memorable one. :)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcyAdams, General Manager at Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay and our staff. We appreciate your comments and I will share them with everyone. We really enjoy working with Strong Bonds and know how important these get aways are. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed it. Thank you for all you and your husband do for our country as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
158 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I spent 5 nights here, on a business trip and must say that it was a very nice, and clean hotel. My room on the 3rd flood felt a little dated, but was still nice. I would, and probably will state here again on future trips to Duluth.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The hotel wasn't all bad, and they really do a good job of trying to make up for the inadequacies. The hotel is conveniently located just off I-85 and very close to a variety of restaurants. The front desk offered us a list of the surrounding restaurants upon arrival. There is a TGI Friday just across the street within walking distance.

The lobby is very nicely done, and the staff was exceptional. The rooms were nicely appointed and extremely clean. The bed was firm, but I sleep on a Tempurpedic, so I'm used to a firm mattress. The pillows were rock hard!! BYOP! They were terribly uncomfortable. The bathroom area was small, but the sink was separate from the toilet and shower making it much easier for 2 people to get ready at the same time.

The walls are super, super thin. The man in the room next to us started having screaming nightmares around 2 am and kept us up until 4. And he dropped the "F" bomb numerous times and thank God my 9 year old was so sleepy he didn't hear it. That was the worst thing about the whole experience and the biggest reason I only gave it 3 stars.

They offer a buffet style breakfast in the Vineyard, but it was just okay as well. The eggs are not real - some sort of powdered things I suspect and not very tasty. They did offer a selection of pancakes, bagels and oatmeal and a pretty large selection of fruit. That certainly made up for the nasty eggs.

For the value, I'd say it was just okay. If not for the thin walls and the luck of the draw with the nightmare screaming maniac next door, it honestly wouldn't have been too bad.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelalee511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcyAdams, General Manager at Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. I always hate to hear when someone had a less than perfect experience, particularly because of another guest! I have also passed on your comments to the Executive Chef and kitchen staff regarding the eggs. I am not sure what might have happened that day, but I can assure you that we do use real eggs, so we will certainly look into it as we take quality issues very seriously. I do hope that if you are in the area again, you will give us another opportunity to show you what a great hotel we have.

Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainville, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

I stayed at the hotel for three nights and had meetings in the hotel. I travel a lot and have high expectations and the hotel exceeded my expectations. From check in at almost midnight to checkout the staff was engaging and friendly. The front desk and bell staff staff remembered my name and they smiled and greeted me when I walked by. The food and the service was excellent in both restaurants and room service was great as well. My meetings went very smoothly with a very attentive staff. The hotel arranged transportation to and from the airport easing the travel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DCH07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duluth
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta/Duluth/Gwinnett County
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Duluth/Gwinnett Mall
13.4 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Atlanta
Sonesta ES Suites Atlanta
#66 of 173 in Atlanta
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Atlanta NE Gwinnett Sugarloaf
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta NE/Gwinnett Sugarloaf
0.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Duluth/Atlanta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta

Property: Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta
Address: 1775 Pleasant Hill Road, Duluth, GA 30096-4621
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Duluth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#4 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Sonesta Gwinnett Place, you'll be within easy reach of the history and vibrancy of downtown Atlanta and a short drive from some of the most captivating and fun spots north and east of the city. And right outside your door, you will find ample options for shopping, dining, and entertainment. It's all thanks to our convenient and central location off I-86, northeast of Atlanta in Duluth, at the heart of vibrant Gwinnett Place. Relax at our unique indoor/outdoor swimming pool, with wading area suitable for kids. Enjoy a leisurely breakfast or long lunch at our casual restaurant - Grapevine Restaurant - where you'll find plenty of menu items infused with a southern flair. Visit ArtBar for local fare and libations. No matter the venue, our southern hospitality is always on the menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Gwinnett Place Atlanta Hotel Duluth
Marriott Duluth
Marriott Hotel Duluth
Duluth Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing