We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Trough Ivy House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Trough Ivy House
Ranked #1 of 1 Farley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Stopped here for one night while we visited alton towers, left the car there saves the parking fees at alton towers. Lovely room very clean beautiful shortbread!!! Had a drink in there garden so peaceful and the owners are very welcoming : ) .

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jojo198529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    17
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
112
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Potters Bar, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

I stayed here last year with my boyfriend as we wanted somewhere to stay before going to Alton Towers.

The main big plus point about the Trough Ivy House is that is is only a stones throw away from the Theme park itself, closer than the actual Alton Towers Hotel!

We paid for a room that had a little living room attached as we wanted somewhere we could chill out and watch a film after our long drive.

The room was cosy, bed comfy and a nice little touch of some homemade shortbread in the room was lovely.

Breakfast was good quality, locally sourced produce and was all cooked to order.

Would seriously recommend this to people wanting somewhere to stay after/before visiting the theme park. They even let you park there for free whilst you go to the park.

10/10 :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirsty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

The wife and i stayed here for a weekend away as we were visiting Alton Towers. We live in Uttoxeter so it would have been easier to go home but we are glad we didn't as the Trough Ivy House is an excellent place to stay. The owners Carol and Terry were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. The full english breakfast was well worth it, a perfect start to our short drive home, and Alton Towers is only a 2 minute walk away.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

This lovely b&b is located right by the entrance to Alton Towers the room was beautiful also breakfast,excellent hosts,very friendly,I thoroughly recommend this place,also only a mile or two from the village of Alton where there are some lovely pubs,recommend The Blackfriars Arms.

Room Tip: We didnt see the other rooms but I haven't seen a bad review yet,there is also a self contained...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kris r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

This place is lovely and ideal for anyone visiting Alton Towers and staying overnight. It is only a 2 min walk to the main gates and the owners allowed us to leave our car in their grounds so that we could avoid car parking fees in the park.

The owners are lovely and the rooms are very nice, with some lovely little touches (tea/coffee, bottled water etc.). The only thing they do not do is evening meals which was quite disappointing, but not a big downfall. I felt as though the car park was quite small and hard to get into, but again, not a big issue!

All in all I would thoroughly recommend this lovely little place and will be returning on my next visit to Alton Towers.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Me and my wife just stayed for the weekend to go to alton towers and you can walk into alton towers within a couple minutes. Very comfortable room and we choose a room with a living room aswell which was very handy. Lovely breakfast and friendly service would highly recommend.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ogarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

We are a couple who go to Alton Towers at least twice a year. We chose to stay here as is less than a 5 minute walk to the main entrance and is way cheaper than staying else where. Quality and value go hand in hand at this B&B. The full english is well worth the extra £6pp per day. And the rooms are spacious, clean and cosy. Carol and Terry are marvellous people and we love their hospitality. Look forward to returning next year and staying here is a definite 'to do' for those visiting.

Michelle & Colin x

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farley
1.3 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
1.3 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery and Friends Restaurant
6.4 mi away
Premier Inn Uttoxeter Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Laurels B & B
The Laurels B & B
#1 of 5 in Oakamoor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Warren B&B
The Warren B&B
#1 of 12 in Alton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trough Ivy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trough Ivy House

Property: Trough Ivy House
Address: Trough Ivy House Farley | Alton, Farley ST10 3BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Farley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Farley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated by Alton Towers main gates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Trough Ivy House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing