We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Farley, Staffordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
chickndip...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing for Alton Towers”
Reviewed 24 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

This house was a perfect base for visiting Alton Towers; closer to the gates than the resort hotels! It's spacious and great for large groups!

The description makes this house sound very grand and upmarket, but is in need of a deep clean, maintenance and attention to detail to live up to those expectations. For example there is no breakfast bar, no hairdryer or full length mirrors. The bathrooms were mouldy, one of the showers was stuck on scolding hot and a number of light bulbs were blown.

Being able to come home from Alton Towers for lunch and a little rest in the middle of the day is a revelation. The WiFi was decent and the kitchen well equipped.

I would stay here again next time a group of us want to visit AT.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anjum7000
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor Quality”
Reviewed 5 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this cottage as it is close to Alton Towers. The cottage looks nice but it lacks any quality given the high cost of rental. We stayed there for the week of 28th July to 4th August 2017.

The first thing you notice is that the entrance to the drive is hidden and poorly signposted, actually the overgrown hedge covers most of it. The drive needs repair as it may damage your car underside when driving out due to uneven private road/drive, which is part of the cottage grounds.

The rooms look great in the pictures but the beds are squeeky and mattresses are very poor, with no comfort. The bedrooms are not spacious.

The dining table was too small for everyone to eat together, and a mismatch of plastic chairs and a few wood chairs. The kitchen was not high standard and definitely not clean. There are no quality cuttlery,plates or dishes, and all mismatched.

The living room was spacious but again on closer inspection needed cleaning. The cottage is advertised with WiFi but there is none!

Only one shower (from two) worked and a bath tub. The general hot water was not working after 4 days and it was not repaired within the time we were there. So, no hot water for two days.

For the cost, definitely one to miss. The location is great for Alton Towers and that is the only positive thing.

Definitely would not go again and would not recommend for the cost.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusieBarb
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 3 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Booked for a week to celebrate Mums 80th birthday. Was perfect for all the family. Loved the big table in kitchen. Lounge was fantastic. Had a couple of problems when we arrived but they were sorted straight away. Would have liked more fridge space rather than lots of freezer space. Bit tired but suited us. Great location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful location for visiting Alton Towers with children”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at The Old Barn for a weekend to celebrate a very important birthday as a family, stretching over three generations, and it worked very well. The property is located nearly at the entrance of Alton Towers and you really would not know it. The bedrooms worked really well between the adults and children, clean and very comfortable. Everyone had good nights sleep and had more than enough room for 9 of us. We enjoyed the comfortable living room with space for all of us to enjoy, even the children on a very wet afternoon. A highlight for them was watching a tractor come out of the drive opposite!

However, the kitchen was a disappointment. I had to give it a clean before using the surfaces, the table was very wobbly and the fridges had seen better days, one of them barely chilling the food, the other freezing the salad. With limited time there it wasn't practicable to work out the nuances of the apparatus. I know it was the height of the season, but for the amount we paid I would have expected superior equipment.

Overall, we had a lovely time and would have loved longer to enjoy the rest of the area which looked lovely. On that basis I would recommend it to a friend, but warn about the kitchen.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn N
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay when going to Alton towers.”
Reviewed 21 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We first chose this house because of it's closeness to Alton Towers, but it was so much more than that. It is a home from home. It has everything you could possible need for a 3 night stay or longer.
All the rooms are a good size and plenty big enough for the 3 generations that were in our party.
The kitchen is fully equipped, The pots and pans are big enough to be able to cook for a large number of people. A big farmhouse style table that was great for all to sit round and enjoy meals and chats. Plenty of crockery and glasses, (bit like being at home and made up with a couple of different sets),
The lounge was large with loads of seating. The brown leather sofa's and chair were not only welcoming at the end of a day in the park, but when you sat in them they gave you a big hug,
5 roomy bedroom and 3 bathrooms made life so easy.
Would and have recommended this home to friends and family, and have already made enquiries about going for longer next year.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley546
Hull
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Definately not 'luxury' basic at best!”
Reviewed 30 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at The Old Barn from 14th to 21st June 2013, I completed the feedack form and emailed Sykes Cottages with our complaints, although they acknowledged reciept, the advertising remains the same, I would hate others to be as disappointed as we were, so here goes. The Old Barn was advertised as being 'luxury' and 'stylish' and '4 Star' I would describe this as BASIC - VERY!
Here are just SOME of the issues we had with The Old Barn:-
First impressions, drive and garden overgrown and neglected.
Doors and entrances filthy, walls, paintwork etc in need painting and a good clean.
Had to vacuum through, kitchen table 'sticky' all surfaces had to be washed
down, all crockery and glasses needed washing, the roasting pans had to be
scrubbed.
Basic, cheap mattresses and old bedding, all well worn and washed out, old,
worn and bleach stained towels and only ONE each for a full weeks stay.
Bathroom and shower room both just filthy and grotty! Note no photo's on web site of bathroom and shower room.
Kitchen bin discusting and stank.
Tablemats made us feel sick, couldn't face washing or using them.
Highchair discusting! had to wash and bleach it before use, the second one
was as bad, we did not use that one.
No matching dinner plates, in fact all crockery mismatched.
BBQ was a rusty chiminea which had been used as an ashtray, unusable.
No 'welcome pack' !
We did complain to the owner on arrival as for a weeks stay we had been left
4 dishwasher tablets and 2 loo rolls - for 11 of us and about the BBQ area,
the owner did bring another garden table and benches and more loo rolls and dishwasher tabs, she said she didn't leave more as 'people steal things'! As I had had to provide a returnable £100 for good housekeeping I had felt
reassured that the property would have been of a very high standard, how
wrong was I!
Despite there being no cleaning materials we purchased some and we left the property much cleaner than when we arrived. We have taken many photo's as proof- both the bad and how we left it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: bathrooms
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camrose alberta canada
Reviewed 18 July 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing