We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding, delicious food, especially the clam chowder!”
Review of Spondivits

Spondivits
Ranked #3 of 56 Restaurants in East Point
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
275 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Outstanding, delicious food, especially the clam chowder!”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

There are 2 names listed for this restaurant, Spondivits and Spoondivits on Trip Advisor. It is the same restaurant.

I would have never tried this place, let alone noticed it, were it not for TripAdvisor reviews. It is a hole in the wall, with limited parking, and limited curb appeal. Once inside, it is loud and congested. All is forgiven once the food arrives!

I like to sample clam chowder whenever I go somewhere new; always looking for that elusive best ever clam chowder. Spondivits came VERY close to being the best I've had. It was simply outstanding. A little pricey for a cup of soup, but worth it!

They are known for their own breading recipe, so I had breaded fish and it was superb. My guest had a shrimp dish and was equally impressed. The portions are HUGE, but it is so good you hate to stop eating.

This restaurant is quite close to the airport and the Hilton Garden Inn on Bobby Brown Parkway if you happen to need a good hotel to stay at.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Flyinlow427vette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    169
    89
    41
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
275 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“WOW, delicious clam chowder, outstanding food!”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I would have never tried this place, let alone noticed it, were it not for TripAdvisor reviews. It is a hole in the wall, with limited parking, and limited curb appeal. Once inside, it is loud and congested. All is forgiven once the food arrives!

I like to sample clam chowder whenever I go somewhere new; always looking for that elusive best ever clam chowder. Spondivits came VERY close to being the best I've had. It was simply outstanding. A little pricey for a cup of soup, but worth it!

They are known for their own breading recipe, so I had breaded fish and it was superb. My guest had a shrimp dish and was equally impressed. The portions are HUGE, but it is so good you hate to stop eating.

This restaurant is quite close to the airport and the Hilton Garden Inn on Bobby Brown Parkway if you happen to need a good hotel to stay at.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Flyinlow427vette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Extremely Poor Service”
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

While visiting from Missouri we stumbled upon this restaurant. Lets just say southern hospitality did NOT exist here. I'm not sure which was worse, the poor serivce from our waitress and staff leaning on the back of my booth having extremely inappropriate conversations practicality the whole meal. When my meal arrived I was low on water. The waitress leaned against the wall talking to other staff members about their personal lives instead of filling up my glass. Finally after having an empty glass pretty much my whole meal I asked another waitress if she could find our waitress since I was out of water. She took it upon herself to bring me a refill. Lets just say the waitress who brought me the water got the tip.

Helpful?
2 Thank Kayla T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
603 reviews
334 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Fresh, overflowing seafood and drinks in a casual atmosphere”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Spondivits is an Atlanta tradition. The atmosphere is casual wood high-tops with a hole cut out to hold a tin bucket for crab shells and stuff you want off the table. It has a Indian Rocks beach, Crabby Bills feeling. They have a full bar and it is appreciated by customers. The seafood is overflowing. I saw platter of snow crab legs overflowing the plate. The Gumbo was huge and outstanding - filled with a variety of seafood $11. This place is known for very fresh seafood. Landlubbers might like the steak au poivre $30. Very tasty, but with a hint of mustard. Unusual, but still tasty. All appetizers start around $8 and go up to $12. Entree salads $10-13. Steamed seafood buckets $15-28. It often is very crowded with lines out the door and around the corner. Parking is extremely limited so cram in so you only have 1 car for the valet. Memorably fresh seafood for an inland location!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TampaTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“ehhh”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

pretty good food but pretty pricey. paid a little over $70 for two lunches, water and one mediocre long island.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank mhailey20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spondivits also viewed

 

Been to Spondivits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing