We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place just needs updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lodge on Lake Oconee
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Eatonton
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
89 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice place just needs updating”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very nice and quaint area and the lodge is right in the lake. . We have stayed a few times and each time it's the same friendly staff and free breakfast Its a few miles from the town of Eatonton but it's clean and I feel very safe here

Room Tip: Upstairs is nice and really quiet . Not sure if pets are allowed before you go might want to call
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunonme2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    41
    26
    15
    9
See reviews for
47
41
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

If your looking for a beautiful setting with lake access, this is the spot. The property is a lodge, not a 4 or 5 star hotel but offers good friendly folks working both at the front desk and on the floors. The breakfast is hot and pleantiful but again it is not Cracker Barrel. The pool and hot tub were a good place for the kids to unwind. The swing, benchs and boat dock are perfect for quite time. As long as you go knowing it is a lodge, on a beautiful lake with friendly helpful employees... you will have a great time as we did!

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side facing the lake should be your first request. Wake up to a beautiful veiw of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

On our recent stay we had booked a kids suite. Although the front lobby was very busy with people checking in we were quickly given our room keys and headed to room 310. Upon entering our room we noticed there were some things that housekeeping had missed. I dialed the front desk and Candy answered. She said she would be right up. Within 2 minutes she was in our room and offered to take care of the problem herself. Because of Candy's quick response and helpful attitude we will stay here in the future. Everyone can make mistakes but it's how you respond that matters. That made a huge impression on us. Thanks Candy for going above and beyond

Gaines Family

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLodgeonLakeOconee, General Manager at The Lodge on Lake Oconee, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your comments and so pleased to hear that Candace responded to your request so quickly. I am very proud of the new team here at the Lodge.We look forward to serving you again soon.
Peter. General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We are staying here for a wedding where rooms were reserved for a group rate. When I called to make a reservation, I was told that all of the 99.00 regular rooms were already booked. I could upgrade to a suite for 119.00. If this is a "suite", I would hate to see what a regular room looks like. The receptionist was pleasant, gave us some info about the area, and told us our room was ready early. We were pleased. Upon walking into the room, not a suite, it smelled bad, there was no soap for 2 of the sinks, no tub mat, and poop stuck in the toilet bowl. Obviously no one checks the rooms. I called and got service promptly. Was told they had new housekeeping staff. That is no excuse for not having the room checked. Also the stopper for the sink is stuck, so water doesn't drain from the sink. That stopper couldn't be repaired. A little later, I went to put some items in the little refrigerator, and it was running on the coolest setting, but hot and smelly. The freezer part had water and a piece of a plastic wrapper in it. I then turned on the bedside table lamp, and a bulb was missing. Again I called the guest services, and they came promptly. The lightbulb and refrigerator were replaced. Attention to details should be important to the owners of the property because it shouldn't be up to the guests to inspect a hotel room. The hotel is very tired and needs some renovation desperately. We would have stayed at the Ritz Carlton, as we are Marriott Rewards members, but it was over 600.00 per night, and this is in the country in the middle of no where. I wouldn't recommend The Lodge until they do some serious updating. I haven't stayed in a hotel with tube TV's in years. The beds have bedspreads on them, which we immediately removed. Hopefully the beds have clean sheets, but we haven't slept on them yet. The carpet is stained.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leroy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLodgeonLakeOconee, General Manager at The Lodge on Lake Oconee, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your comments. I did respond to your request immediately and your fridge and light bulb were replaced within five minutes of your request to the front desk. We have a new housekeeping team here at the Lodge and improvement is being made everyday. I hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you here on beautiful Lake Oconee.
Peter. General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Statesboro, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I stayed two nights at this lodging to attend my best friend's wedding. The hotel itself was average. The continental breakfast was poor. Worst of all, we were practically reprimanded for taking a few bags of luggage out to our cars before formally paying our bill. Despite the fact that they already had my credit card on-hand if I had ducked out, they asked me to pay before walking outside and then began uppity when I said that I would come right back to pay my bill after dropping my bags off.

I would hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLodgeonLakeOconee, General Manager at The Lodge on Lake Oconee, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
I am so sorry about your departure and I have spoken with the front desk agent that was working at the time .I do apologize for the inconvenience and I will make sure that it does not happen again .I do hope that you will return so that we may offer you better customer service.
Peter Curtis.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newnan, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2014

First off, the lake Oconee area is simply beautiful. The hotel was very nice. My boyfriend and I decided to take a quick get away, to get away from the city, to the country. We went on a Monday to have a little peace and quiet. We got lost and called the hotel there was young lady named Gabby who was more than helpful and gave us perfect directions, we found the place with no problem after speaking with her. She was also there when we checked in and welcomed us ever so nicely. We went up to our room it was nice but seemed a little dusty (I have terrible allergies), we notified Front-desk (Gabby) she came up to our room with keys to allow us to take a look at another room. The room she took us to, was an upgrade. It was very nice with an amazing view of the lake country . It was also spacious and clean. We decided to stay in that room. Later we called to see where a great place to eat would be, she told us a couple of different options that were very close by and said that Silver Moon was awesome so, that's where we went. It was absolutely one of the best places I've been and I live in Atlanta. Later that evening, after returning to the hotel, my husband decided to go downstairs to watch tv. He told front desk that the coffee was cold so Gab made some fresh just for him. It's the little things, that made our stay so amazing. The breakfast was a very nice layout as well. All in all we enjoyed our stay at the hotel in beautiful lake Oconee. I was amazed because of some of the past reviews. But I definitely will be going back.

Room Tip: Choose a room with the view to the left of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLodgeonLakeOconee, General Manager at The Lodge on Lake Oconee, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you so much for your warm comments.
Peter General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cartersville, Georgia
Level Contributor
299 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Purple of wisteria, yellow of carolina jasmine, white dogwood blooms welcome you to lake Oconee. The lodge sits at the docks and lake. Great outside views. Friendly desk. Room has microwave and fridge comfort room and bed . Great hot breakfast included. Offers rental on water crafts including kayaks. As void Augusta masters as price triples. Pet and family friendly

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rolsto314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLodgeonLakeOconee, General Manager at The Lodge on Lake Oconee, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you so much for your positive comments. The new team here looks forward to welcoming you both back in the very near future.
Peter. General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eatonton
5.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee
14.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Madison
10.2 mi away
Jameson Inn Greensboro
Jameson Inn Greensboro
#2 of 3 in Greensboro
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Madison
Hampton Inn Madison
#4 of 6 in Madison
297 reviews
19.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Milledgeville
21.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Milledgeville
Hampton Inn Milledgeville
#1 of 10 in Milledgeville
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge on Lake Oconee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge on Lake Oconee

Property: The Lodge on Lake Oconee
Address: 930 Lake Oconee Parkway, Eatonton, GA 31024
Region: United States > Georgia > Eatonton
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Eatonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lodge on Lake Oconee 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of Lake Oconee in Eatonton, Georgia, The Lodge on Lake Oconee is a beautiful lake front hotel featuring cozy rooms and suites and exceptional amenities. Views of Lake Oconee are abundant from the lake side rooms and the outdoor pool and hot tub. Relax and enjoy all that the Lake Oconee area has to offer including a moments drive to championship golf at Harbor Club & Reynolds Plantation; outstanding Boating, Bass & Crappie fishing; the historic towns of Madison, Greensboro, and Eatonton; the Antebellum Trail; and quaint Antique Galleries and unique local shops.Our guests find themselves centrally located between Augusta - with the Masters Golf Tournament, Athens - with the University of Georgia Bulldogs and Milledgeville - with the Georgia Military College and Georgia College & State University. It is a short drive to the Rock Eagle and Rock Hawk Effigies, Oconee National Forest, and Hard Labor Creek State Park and much, much more. Our lake front hotel is located just 90 miles from Atlanta & Hartsfield Airport. Perfect for Business Meetings, Vacation Getaways, Weddings and Family Reunions.Escape to Georgia's Lake Country at The Lodge On Lake Oconee...where Affordability and Luxury meet...why stay anywhere else! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lodge on Lake Oconee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge On Lake Oconee Hotel Eatonton
Hotel On Lake Oconee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing