We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and beauty”
Review of Arley Arboretum

Arley Arboretum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: These beautiful historic gardens and arboretum dating back to the late 1700's are surrounded by over 1600 acres of countryside within the picturesque village of Upper Arley beside the river Severn. In addition to providing wonderful walks through the grounds there are walks along the banks of the river, all set in the beautiful Worcestershire countryside with far reaching views. Go back in time and watch the Severn Valley Railway trains steam across the hill from one of the magnificent signposted walks. It is a garden that provides the ideal day out for you and your family, a dream escape from the bustle of everyday life. Our proximity to Birmingham, Kidderminster, Wolverhampton, Worcester, the Malverns and Cotswolds makes us the ideal attraction for individuals and groups alike. The estate offers plenty to do for all ages from the Italian garden with its fountain for the adults, to the dinosaur and fairy trails and maze for the young ones. Arley Estate and Arboretum also provides a unique venue for your wedding reception, civil ceremony, or partnership. There is more to Arley Estate and Arboretum than just a garden. It can also be used for corporate hospitality, promotional and photographic shoots and filming. Furthermore, there is a wonderful tea room, where you can buy a light lunch or full, traditional afternoon tea. We hope you enjoy your visit to Arley Arboretum and Garden and thank you for taking time to look at our Trip Advisor page.
Reviewed 5 July 2015 via mobile

We have been to the arboretum several times now and even though there was the added attraction of half price entry and a plant sale we still found room for a quiet picnic. The trees are magnificent and the views likewise. Our one disappointment was that the project to build the model of Arley village seems to have been abandoned. This was an inspiration and it is a real shame if it is not to be finished.

1  Thank Jmlwrugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArleyArboretum, Manager at Arley Arboretum, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2015

Hi Jmlwrugger,
Thank you so much for your lovely review! Glad to hear you had such a good time and we hope to see you again very soon!
Unfortunately the site that was allocated for the model village was surveyed and it has shown that it is an unsuitable site for this type of venture. Therefore we are now creating a new sensory garden that can be enjoyed by all!
By the way, did you know we've got a production of Shakespeare's a midsummers nights dream coming up in a couple of weeks? go to our website for more information.
Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"tea room"
in 26 reviews
"severn valley"
in 34 reviews
"beautiful trees"
in 7 reviews
"play area"
in 18 reviews
"dinosaur trail"
in 9 reviews
"steam train"
in 15 reviews
"walled garden"
in 9 reviews
"half term"
in 7 reviews
"water features"
in 3 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 12 reviews
"few hours"
in 10 reviews
"per adult"
in 6 reviews
"easter egg hunt"
in 4 reviews
"cake"
in 9 reviews
"italian garden"
in 26 reviews
"be visiting again"
in 5 reviews
"bank holiday"
in 6 reviews
Filter

154 - 158 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2015 via mobile

We visited this wonderful Arboretum today, taking advantage of the half price admission, including a plant fair. It is definately worth the Full Admission price, if you like peace tranquility and stunning trees and gardens.

1  Thank Tim U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArleyArboretum, Manager at Arley Arboretum, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2015

Hi Tim U,
It's great to hear how much of a good time you had! We hope to see you again very soon.
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We really do take pride in receiving them!
If you haven't already, make sure you follow us on facebook and twitter for updates on up coming events.
Did you know we have a production on Shakespeare's a midsummers nights dream coming up in a couple of weeks? Go to our website for more information.
Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2015 via mobile

Visited Arley Arboretum with our grandson - what a hidden little gem only £5 for adults admission and a really stunning garden with play area for children. Lovely tea room and Italian Garden with an impressive fountain and a Koi Carp pool - lots of walks and a really good maze for children - will definitely return ☺☺☺☺

Thank chilledtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArleyArboretum, Manager at Arley Arboretum, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2015

Hi chilledtraveller, Thank you so much for your lovely review, we love hearing from our wonderful customers!
It sounds like you had a fantastic time! We hope to see you again soon! Make sure to keep in touch through Facebook and Twitter.
Also, don't forget to keep an eye on our website for new events coming up. There will be so much to do in the summer holidays for little ones!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2015

had a lovely few hours out with family, lunch in the cafe, followed by a lazy stroll through the gardens + woods. beautiful setting overlooking the Severn Valley Railway. well tended gardens. ideal for families as well.

Thank pauline p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArleyArboretum, Manager at Arley Arboretum, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2015

Hi pauline p, it sounds like you had a fantastic visit! Hope you come to visit us again soon!
Did you know there is a plant fair coming up in July? There's loads more information on our website, go take a look.
We really do take pride in receiving reviews as lovely as your's. Thank you so much for your kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2015

Lovely arboretum, with views across the valley, and an interesting garden. Bit disappointed with the planting though. The beds in the Italian garden had only a few plants plunged into the soil in their pots. Perhaps they were just in the process of transforming them at the beginning of the new season. Cafe good and accessible without paying to enter the gardens. Reasonably priced, so would be a good place for families to visit for picnics and exploration.

Thank LichenMoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArleyArboretum, Manager at Arley Arboretum, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2015

Hi LichenMoss, Thank you for your lovely review, we do take pride in receiving them!
We must admit, when you visited we were in the middle of changing over displays within the italian gardens, so that is why you saw the plants in their pots.
We hope to see you again very soon, don't forget to keep up to date with our events on our website.
Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arley Arboretum also viewed

Great Witley, Malvern Hills
Bewdley, Worcestershire
 
Harvington, Worcestershire
 

Been to Arley Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing