We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Getaway”
Review of The Martyn House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ellijay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Martyn House
Ranked #1 of 3 Ellijay B&B and Inns
Roswell, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Perfect Getaway”
Reviewed 1 November 2011

The Martyn House was a perfect weekend getaway for celebrating our anniversary. It's just a delightful place with wonderful hosts who have set up the most charming place in the woods of North GA. We loved our glamour tent with king-size bed and feather quilt, bathroom and front porch. There was a nice campfire at night where we sat and got to know the other couples staying there. A good homemade breakfast and a really great farm to table dinner on Saturday. It was a perfect weekend and one that I highly recommend.

Room Tip: All four tents are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank benadetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    5
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
4
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Unique and relaxing weekend to remember! My husband and I stayed here to celebrate our 10 year anniversary. Ms. JoAnn was awesome and the food was unbelievable! Definitely a weekend to remember : )

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRWoodside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swainsboro, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

This was our 41st wedding anniversary, we'll never forget it, it was great! Our hosts were warm and personable, and great cooks, to boot. Our fellow glampers were equally friendly, resulting in amiable social interaction. I would recommend the Martyn House to thinks out of the box.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowdon, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2010

There's no other way to describe our stay at the Martyn House other than magical! It was almost hypnotizing...the atmosphere, music, lighting, food, and company. I could've stayed for weeks on end! It was renewing, calming, and just what we needed on a quiet weekend away together! Wonderful experience...we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allison315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2010

Truly a unique experience...the "tent rooms" are as comfortable as any hotel...with bathrooms, sitting area, comfortable beds...run by two wonderful, warm, fun hosts who are also working artists. The tents have their own porch and are decorated in fun fabrics.
The food was wonderful. The setting is open, peaceful and beautiful. And the tents were cool with just a fan in spite of the high temps. The whole experience was wonderful...

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pilgrim5068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2010

What a wonderful retreat to celebrate ANYTHING ... especially our 45th Wedding Anniversary. Between all the fabulous art, photography, tents, food, etc. etc. etc., plus such wonderful creativity and love abounds with Jo Ann and Rick superior hostess/host. Massage therapist Sukoshi is incredible and an outstanding therapist. Besides being quite the lady, she plays a mean guitar and sings like an angel. What a treat!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annetteKramer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumming, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2010

The Martyn House provided us with a weekend of rest, relaxation and a little adventure! We had a great time!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lwilliamson01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellijay
4.1 mi away
Best Western Mountain View Inn
14.8 mi away
Reid Ridge Lodge
Reid Ridge Lodge
#1 of 5 in Blue Ridge
284 reviews
17.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Jasper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center
13.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Blue Ridge
18.3 mi away
Seventy-four Ranch
Seventy-four Ranch
#2 of 4 in Jasper
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Martyn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Martyn House

Property: The Martyn House
Address: 912 Flat Branch Rd, Ellijay, GA 30540-1716
Region: United States > Georgia > Ellijay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ellijay
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Martyn House is a unique B&B where camping is glamorous and luxury in the wild means fine linens and gourmet meals. We have four luxury sleeping tents each with their own complete bathroom. Each tent is secluded on our 18 acres of woods.In addition to renting the individual tents, you can reserve the entire property. We can accommodate four couples or eight individuals for a truly unique weekend experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Martyn House Hotel Ellijay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing